We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic value, great service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Queensberry Arms Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Annan
rotherham
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“fantastic value, great service”
Reviewed April 7, 2010

In todays world of being just a number it was great to actually be treated like a human being. The staff here go the extra mile in customer awareness and make you feel at home, where nothing is too much trouble. The food was excellent, prepared fresh and at a fantastic price. The rooms are clean, tidy and well decorated. we had room 24 which had a four poster bed, jacuzzi, shower, bidet, tv, tea making facilities and a trouser press for £48 per room per night. This is without doubt the best hotel both my wife and i have stayed in, in Scotland, over the last 20 years and will definitely go back. THANK YOU....... Jim (photographer) and Chris

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smithyRotherham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    48
    19
    8
    13
See reviews for
24
51
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
wales
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2010

Was looking forward to staying here after reading reviews but was very disappointed. The front of house was fine but our supposed double room was very disappointing. It appeared to be a single room with a double bed squeezed in. If we hada cat we would not have been able to swing it. There was no room to move and was very claustrophobic for a stay of 3 nights.
Also the shower had no hot water, even though we ran it for ages...a builder who was staying long term sad there was hardly ever any warm water. Then at the end of our stay we were charged a higher rate than quoted on the phone a week before....another customer was charged more than it said on the web page......

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WalesEnfys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire, UK
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2010

The Queensberry Arms Hotel, slap bang in the middle of Annan, looks as if it needs a bit of TLC - but don't be put off, it's amazing value at £49.50 B&B double room - and we got a room with a jacuzzi and a four poster bed.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2010

after mislaying my keys on new years eve, i was unable to gain access to the hotel. tried ringing the buzzer and phoning on numerous occasions (god knows what the supposed nightporter was doing) I lucky enough to find refuge from the sub-zero temperatures at a friends house (i have been ill ever since). i was later told he was in the shower? very hard to believe. this must be a health and safety risk, so stay here at your own peril. After calling to complain, i was treated with hostility and offered feeble excuses by the manageress and very clean nightporter. Stay at the other hotels in Annan and not here

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haymeg10, Owner at Queensberry Arms Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2015
So drunk, lost our key, lost our passcode, lost your coat. I'm afraid we're not responsible for the amount you drink.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Annan hotels

Derbyshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 11, 2010

The staff couldn't do enough for our group, they where friendly and helpful. the rooms are clean, tidy, very nice and warm, The food is very good. They also took our dog in at very short notice, in fact us staying there was very short notice (as our 1st hotel fell very short of expectations), Good off road parking, All in all a very nice hotel with good staff.

  • Stayed January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank werethefoxhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.K.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 14, 2009

We stayed at this hotel in Annan, a charming little town near to the border with England and surrounded by beautiful countryside, especially the river Annan with its renowned fishing and the adjacent coastline. Annan is, and has always been, a working town and so is not a tourist trap, but I am assured Robert Burns was a regular visitor - probably to meet a woman and check in with the local whisky producers. Anyway there's lots to see and do in the surrounding areas.

The hotel is in a classic old building in the centre of town, with plenty of parking. The room we stayed in and the hotel in general could do with some refurbishment. This is reflected in the price you will pay. However, we found the hotel to be clean and well run and these are our prime concerns. Our room was large, comfortable and warm. The bed was comfortable and the bedding was crisp and fresh. The en suite bathroom was clean and functional.

The reason for our visit was to attend a Wedding Anniversary celebration and so we had dinner as well as bed and breakfast. The restaurant service was very good and patient (we had some late comers). The food we were served was good quality, fresh, simple and well cooked. It was very good value with large portions with quite a good choice of wine. I understand the desserts are superb but I chose the cheese board which was a little disappointing.

All in all a good experience and very good value.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2009

we stayed in Annan for a week,the hotel needs modernised but was very clean and the food was great.Try the delicious sticky toffee pudding, good portions too.We ate there every night!
The locals also ate there which says a lot!
The staff replied to my e-mails promptly before we went.
Our room was spacious, the towels and bedding spotlessly clean, maid service every day, the bathroom needed updated as did the windows, but the owners were in the process of doing this.
Annan town is also a bit run down but the Station pub was quaint and cheap, about 5 minutes walk from the hotel, also the free museum was very good and showed how Annan was once a thriving town.
Lots of local places to visit, Lockerbie being the most poignant but worth a visit to pay your respects. We looked for a castle in Castle Douglas but there isn't one! so that was a bit of a let down.
Lovely countryside and friendly folk too,great to visit is Dumfries town, grab a sandwich and sit by the river, parking free with a disc you get at the tourist info shop which is also very helpful.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank floofypie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Annan
0.1 mi away
The Corner House Hotel
7.9 mi away
Hunters Lodge Hotel
Hunters Lodge Hotel
#4 of 5 in Gretna
150 reviews
9.5 mi away
Golf Hotel
Golf Hotel
#1 of 1 in Silloth
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
#3 of 4 in Gretna Green
397 reviews
7.3 mi away
No photo provided
Welcome Lodge Gretna Green
#4 of 4 in Gretna Green
7 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Gables Hotel
The Gables Hotel
#1 of 5 in Gretna
885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queensberry Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queensberry Arms Hotel

Property: Queensberry Arms Hotel
Address: 47 High Street, Annan DG12 6AD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Annan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Annan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Annan's bustling main street, just 7 miles from the border, its impressive facade has stood proudly since its days as a coach house. The Queensberry Arms now has 28 en-suite rooms all with freeview TV, tea and coffee facilities and a telephone. It also has a Restaurant, Public Bar, Function Room and Car Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Queensberry Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queensberry Arms Hotel Annan, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing