We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A dissapointing weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Allargue Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Strathdon B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 9, 2008

A dissapointing weekend spent at this Hotel. The twin bedded room was very small (about 1ft between beds) the ensuite was very basic with an old metal shower cabinet which was less than adequate. No TV in the room, the room was not cleaned, serviced or replenished after the first night. The evening meal was uninspiring, basic and I feel overpriced. Breakfast was poor with brutaly overcooked eggs and lorn sausage. Butter and sauces had to be requested each morning. The staff were willing but poorly trained in the hospitality trade.
The whole Hotel although splendidly located is tired and in great need of a total makeover and inspired leadership from management.
The room cost of £30:00 p.p.p.n. for a twin room does not reflect good value at this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank BobTheDogsDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
briggies, manager at Allargue Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2009

part of the same group as chancedog
as said before group booking which half didnot turn up menu adgusted acordingly were upset because we would not allow them to bring in there own Beer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (43)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 43 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2008

Just stayed in the hotel for a weekend. Shared a twin room which was just about big enough for one proper size single bed. Unable to properly open small wardrobe as the door opens the wrong way into the room and access is restricted by the small chest of drawers. Beds uncomfortable, en-suite had a shower that you couldn't stand up properly in. Tea/coffee provided, but these never replenished, and dirty cups not replaced/washed during the day whilst we were out. Not certain room was cleaned at all whilst we were out. Food pricey and not very good quality (don't be taken in by menu on hotel website either), although some members of staff seemed to be trying to be helpful they couldn't cope well. Sunday breakfast inedible. The location is superb, but you can do much better for the price - it desperately needs a revamp and change of mindset from the owner.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chancedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
briggies, manager at Allargue Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2009

While myself and our staff try our best to please all our visitor's.
this is not always possible this chap was part of a group who had booked the hotel stating there was up two 22 people coming 8 turned up!
we had adjusted the menu to deal with 22 people !
yes the room they were in is compact this i feel was over exaggerated.
On the day the biggest problem appeared to be we would not allow them to drink bottles of beer bought with them!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2007

wonderfull little pub good food good beer walking fishing and amazing views loved the break will be back

  • Stayed: May 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank euanEastAnglia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giorgia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2016, traveled with family
Thank Pillerillan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Peti A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2008
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank philippe38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strathdon
12.7 mi away
The Invercauld Arms Hotel
12.9 mi away
Braemar Lodge Hotel
Braemar Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Braemar
201 reviews
13.0 mi away
Kildrummy Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Deeside Inn
Deeside Inn
#2 of 4 in Ballater
633 reviews
0.0 mi away
Colquhonnie Hotel
Colquhonnie Hotel
#2 of 2 in Strathdon
79 reviews
8.0 mi away
Argyle Guest House
Argyle Guest House
#2 of 5 in Tomintoul
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allargue Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allargue Arms Hotel

Address: Corgarff, Strathdon AB36 8YP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Strathdon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Strathdon
Hotel Class:2 star — Allargue Arms Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Traditional little hotel in the Cairngorm National Park. Overlooking the historic Corgarff castle perfect for starting whiskey/castle trails. Set amongst some of the most dramatic scenery in Scotland. Within easy reach of Aberdeen or Inverness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Allargue Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing