We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous accommodation”
other travelers have booked this property
Seating for 4, parasol and chiminea
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Seating for 4, parasol and chiminea
Morso wood burner in lounge Seating for four
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
Seating for 4, parasol and chiminea
Morso wood burner in lounge
Seating for four
TV with Freeview and DVD player
Comfortable fireside armchair.
Welcome pack on arrival
Plenty of glassware with outdoor plastic glasses and plates in cupboard
Fully integrated appliances - dishwasher, washer/drier, fridge/freezer
Good pressure shower
Selection of maps, books and DVDs
Double bedroom
Twin bedroom
Steps up from car parking area
Patio gets the sun from late morning to late evening
View from back lounge window.
View from garden
View from garden down to parking area
Dogs always welcome
Views from nearby Whitehaugh Forest tracks
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Alford, Aberdeenshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
SunRacer5...
Pickering, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous accommodation”
Reviewed August 6, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Everything we require from a holiday cottage was provided. This is without doubt one of the best cottages we have stayed in. The owner has paid particular attention to providing high quality accommodation and facilities. A lovely peaceful location made it a great retreat. The welcome pack was an added bonus meaning we did not have to immediately search out a shop after a long journey.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 6, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Look forward to having you stay again. Best wishes Karen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IganMadri...
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A dream cottage, excellent”
Reviewed April 14, 2017 for a stay in March 2016

I rented this cottage for my family when they came for visit during Easter last year and we all fell in love with it. The location, the house interiors, the service provided... Everything was perfect and definetely highly recommended without a doubt!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 16, 2017
Thank you so much for the great review. We are glad your family enjoyed their stay. Happy Easter, Karen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thumbsupt...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful cosy cottage”
Reviewed March 8, 2017 for a stay in September 2016

Myself and my partner have stayed at this lovely cottage 3 times now in the last couple of years, and we just love it. It's fully equipped with everything you need, it has a lovely modern and cosy interior and it is surrounded by great countryside. When it's chilly outside there is nothing better than putting some logs on the fire and relaxing with a glass of wine.

The host has gone out her way on each occasion we have visited to make us feel so welcome, including leaving us a bottle of prosecco when it was my birthday. I can't fault this cottage and I look forward to paying another visit soon.

If you are looking for a great place to eat in the area, I recommend the Kildrummy Inn which is about a 20 minute drive away. The food is great, but make sure you book!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 8, 2017
Thank you for the great review. We have loved having your return visits and with the dogs too. Look forward to seeing you again. Many thanks Karen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lappinsm
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed February 24, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

We stayed at Smithy Cottage for a month whist we were having renovations. It was cosy, comfortable, clean and a real home from home. Everything we needed was provided and the owners were so friendly and helpful.
Beautiful views and surrounding countryside, we couldn't recommend it highly enough.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 24, 2017
Thank you for the great review. We were happy to give you space from the building work. Hope it's all coming along well. Many thanks Karen & Alan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackielei...
Stonehaven, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic cottage, with beautiful views”
Reviewed February 22, 2017 for a stay in November 2016

I stayed here for the night with friends. The fire was roaring and we had a great catch up. Everything we needed was there. The owners were very welcoming and did everything to make our stay and fabulous experience.

I will be back.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 22, 2017
Thank you for the great review. So pleased you enjoyed your stay. Look forward to seeing you again. Karen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
les542
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic country retreat”
Reviewed February 22, 2017 for a stay in November 2016

Stayed with friends for a lovely weekend. Accommodation and facilities first class. Would highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 22, 2017
Thank you so much for the great review. Hope to see you again. Karen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mrs Fiona...
1 review
“A wonderfully cosy cottage”
Reviewed February 22, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Smithy Cottage is a beautifully presented cottage in a wonderful setting, being there over the Christmas period was magical. The owner is extremely attentive and even checked that we were okay during one day of snow because of the rural location.

Would definitely stay here again and would highly recommend it.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 22, 2017
Thank you so much for the lovely review. We are so glad you enjoyed Xmas in our cottage and even got snow on Boxing Day. Look forward to seeing you again. Karen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing