We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kildrummy Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alford
Certificate of Excellence
Rochdale, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Simply the best!”
Reviewed November 17, 2005

Just returned from 2 days at Kildrummy Castle Hotel and what a fabulous place it is! We benefited from an Autumn deal and found everything about the hotel excellent - the rooms, the staff, the meals, the location. It fully deserves its reputation and the staff go out of their way to make you welcome and nothing is too much trouble.
We awoke to the first snow of Winter and what a picture it was - the grounds and old castle ruins just looked amazing! Fortunately the roads were well treated and we later went on to Balmoral castle to see where Her Majesty spends the summer - very nice but they don't do bed & breakfast, oh well!

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    90
    29
    17
    11
See reviews for
74
219
8
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
119 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2005

This is your great Scotish country house. You must go. Outrageously expensive but one cannot take it with one. Right? To sit on the front lawn and smoke a Cuban whilst polishing off a gin and tonic and watching the sun set in back of the castle....well, just go for it. The food is wonderful, the hushed staff properly upstairs/downstairs. The bathrooms need updating but that may be part of the charm. Tough to find but do go.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Leatherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
123 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2005

We stayed at the Kildrummy Castle Hotel for 3 nights in June 2005 and were impressed with the hotel in every way. Our room was beautiful, we had a lovely view, and the area was very quiet. In addition, the food was wonderful and the service attentive. The hotel is a Victorian manor house right next to the ruins of Kildrummy Castle and the surrounding gardens. Itl is also perfectly situated to tour the other castles in the area. This is a great hotel and one that we highly recommend.

Helpful?
6 Thank kwh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2005

We have stayed at this hotel now on several occasions and have had a different room every time, from the intimate cosiness of Honeybarrel to the unabashed splendour of Stronagaich. We have virtually nothing bad to say about the place. From check in to departure, the staff are attentive and friendly, especially Philip, whom despite appearing to be there almost all the time, seems tireless in his endeavours to ensure guests want for nothing. He deserves a medal! They offer some very tempting deals for dinner, bed and breakfast, and the food here ranks with some of the best we have ever tasted. We spent Christmas here last year, and it really was one of the most relaxing and luxurious breaks we have had...just what we needed. The bathrooms can be a little dated, but functional and kept to a high standard of cleanliness. The small touches, like having ones bed turned down and curtains drawn whilst at dinner, make guests feel pampered. After dinner guests can relax with drinks next to a roaring fire. If any criticism is to be made, it is not of the staff, but of the stuffiness of some of the other guests, something which is beyond the control of the owners. Mr Hannah himself comes across as rather austere and preoccupied,but this is far and away made up for by the warmth and willingness of his staff. The feeling of unabashed luxury combined with excellent service and fantastic cuisine ensure that we will continue to return to Kildrummy whenever we find the excuse! We recommend it to all our friends, and to your readers, without reservation.

  • Stayed December 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank drvaltaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 8, 2004

I can't say enough good things about the Kildrummy Castle Hotel. The service was unmatched, the people friendly, the common rooms of the hotel comfortable and inviting, and the rooms the epitomy of luxury. I'm only sorry we had only one night to stay here. If you can afford this and have the time, I highly recommend the place for at least two nights (and be sure to try dinner with them).

Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Elgin, IL
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2004

My husband and We found this on an internet castle booking site... to clarify, it is a castle type hotel, but not a castle...it overlooks the ruins of the Kildrummy Castle and is set on beautiful grounds, off of the beaten path. It was worth the trip even though it was pricey. We stayed here in October 2003 and at that time, the staff was a bit too stuffy (lwe almost got reprimanded for pouring our own wine at dinner after waiting around for them to do it for us like they did for everyone else). Food was quite good. AFter dinner coffee/tea/sweets were excellent even if you are totally suffed from dinner. !!Be sure to bring appropriate clothes for dinner...most of the clientele seemed to be older than 50 and had on a jacket for man/skirt for woman. While we did not have our 8 month old with us, the hotel said they would have accomodated him with a crib.... For some reason I dont think they are fond of children staying there... again, a bit stuffy in that arena. Our room was decent but had low ceilings that my husband and I had to watch our heads around...Bathroom worked great. I agree with the other reviewer that said no one was around during checkout...was a bit weird. A decent place to stay if you are just taking your time touring Scotland and enjoy good food.

  • Stayed October 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank TaraBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 20, 2004

We stayed at the Kildrummy Castle Hotel in July 2004. If you can afford it and want to treat yourself, this is the place. Huge rooms with all the amenities you could want, plush surroundings, superb gardens and fantastic dining room with attentive staff everywhere.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alford
6.7 mi away
Douneside House
Douneside House
#1 of 2 in Aboyne
266 reviews
11.0 mi away
Loch Kinord Hotel
Loch Kinord Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dinnet
346 reviews
19.3 mi away
Tor-na-Coille
Tor-na-Coille
#2 of 3 in Banchory
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
Banchory Lodge
Banchory Lodge
#1 of 3 in Banchory
564 reviews
13.6 mi away
Hilton Grand Vacations at Craigendarroch Suites
19.8 mi away
Thainstone House
Thainstone House
#1 of 5 in Inverurie
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kildrummy Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kildrummy Castle Hotel

Property: Kildrummy Castle Hotel
Address: Kildrummy, Alford AB33 8RA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Alford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kildrummy Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kildrummy Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kildrummy Castle
Kildrummy Castle Alford
Kildrummy Castle Hotel Scotland/Alford, Aberdeenshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing