We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A most amazing and luxurious stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kildrummy Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alford
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
27
Reviewed November 8, 2004

I can't say enough good things about the Kildrummy Castle Hotel. The service was unmatched, the people friendly, the common rooms of the hotel comfortable and inviting, and the rooms the epitomy of luxury. I'm only sorry we had only one night to stay here. If you can afford this and have the time, I highly recommend the place for at least two nights (and be sure to try dinner with them).

7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (434)
There are newer reviews for Kildrummy Castle Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

329 - 335 of 434 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2004

My husband and We found this on an internet castle booking site... to clarify, it is a castle type hotel, but not a castle...it overlooks the ruins of the Kildrummy Castle and is set on beautiful grounds, off of the beaten path. It was worth the trip even though it was pricey. We stayed here in October 2003 and at that time, the staff was a bit too stuffy (lwe almost got reprimanded for pouring our own wine at dinner after waiting around for them to do it for us like they did for everyone else). Food was quite good. AFter dinner coffee/tea/sweets were excellent even if you are totally suffed from dinner. !!Be sure to bring appropriate clothes for dinner...most of the clientele seemed to be older than 50 and had on a jacket for man/skirt for woman. While we did not have our 8 month old with us, the hotel said they would have accomodated him with a crib.... For some reason I dont think they are fond of children staying there... again, a bit stuffy in that arena. Our room was decent but had low ceilings that my husband and I had to watch our heads around...Bathroom worked great. I agree with the other reviewer that said no one was around during checkout...was a bit weird. A decent place to stay if you are just taking your time touring Scotland and enjoy good food.

  • Stayed: October 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank TaraBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Russell, Ontario
517
Reviewed August 20, 2004

We stayed at the Kildrummy Castle Hotel in July 2004. If you can afford it and want to treat yourself, this is the place. Huge rooms with all the amenities you could want, plush surroundings, superb gardens and fantastic dining room with attentive staff everywhere.

  • Stayed: January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Elgin Morayshire Scotland
16
Reviewed August 4, 2004

We have just spent two days at Kildrummy where our friends got married in the Gardens. There were just four of us but it was a beautiful wedding day. The service was very memorable with the local Registrar being an extremely pleasant lady who did much to make the day wonderful. Alistair the Piper was the best ever and he made this an occasion the bride and groom will have vivid memories of for years to come. The staff in the gardens could not have done more to make this day unforgettable.
The hotel was absolutely beautiful and the staff were highly professional and extremely kind. The bedrooms were exceptionally comfortable and very very well maintained. We have visited hotels abroad like the Shangri-La in Bangkok and are often disappointed with Scottish hotels. The Kildrummy Castle Hotel made us feel welcome and the surrounding gardens are awesome.
We had a first class meal in the evening with the service being second to none. We chatted with people from many different countries which was the icing on the cake. We left today with regret but with the feeling that we had been party to something very special and we will certainly be back. Our congratulations to the very hard-working and extremely pleasant staff.
If you desire a break in the most wonderful Hotel with superb food and invigorating gardens, visit Kildrummy. A great 'chill out ' experience.

6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Scotland
17
Reviewed July 3, 2004

We have enjoyed staying at and dining in Kildrummy Castle Hotel for over 15 years. We have always found the food to be first class, the staff and service to be friendly and efficient, and very good to see the same staff year in year out.
Lovely grounds and gardens. All the rooms have different views but are each has its own character.
Very good deals in low season.

  • Stayed: June 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2004

We had booked for 3 nights in June, but checked out early. The location is excellent with the beautiful castle gardens for wandering. Rooms are comfortable with pleasant views. However, the disgrace, and I mean that, is the restaurant. Dinner the first night was literally "cooked to death", comment from the Maitre d was simply "sometimes we get it wrong". Well, people don't pay a substantial sum for chefs to get it wrong. We chose not to eat there the second night. It seemed to us that most people only stayed the 1 night on a tour of Scotland, so the restuarant has little incentive to improve. Oh, and on checkout nobody around to handle the luggage.

2  Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2004

This is an excellent hotel. The service and location were both wonderful. It is a little bit out of the way from the city, but is perfectly located if you are interested in seeing all of the local castles. Our room had a small balcony with views of the old castle ruins which was beatufil. Definitly recommended.

4  Thank javery2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alford
6.7 mi away
Douneside House
Douneside House
#1 of 2 in Aboyne
276 reviews
11.0 mi away
Loch Kinord Hotel
Loch Kinord Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dinnet
364 reviews
19.3 mi away
Tor-na-Coille
Tor-na-Coille
#2 of 3 in Banchory
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
Macdonald Pittodrie House
Macdonald Pittodrie House
#1 of 1 in Chapel of Garioch
618 reviews
24.3 mi away
Braemar Lodge Hotel
Braemar Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Braemar
197 reviews
20.2 mi away
Banchory Lodge
Banchory Lodge
#1 of 3 in Banchory
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kildrummy Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kildrummy Castle Hotel

Address: Kildrummy, Alford AB33 8RA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Alford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alford
Price Range: $125 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kildrummy Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kildrummy Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kildrummy Castle
Kildrummy Castle Alford
Kildrummy Castle Hotel Scotland/Alford, Aberdeenshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing