We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to go back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kildrummy Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 12, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for our 21st Anniversary. Hotel and gardens are absolutely breathtaking.

We stayed in superior suite and can quite honestly say it's the biggest bedroom and bed I have ever been in.

Breakfast in restaurant with lovely views onto the side garden was first class as was our dinner that evening.

Can't say enough nice things about this hotel, just can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jim8571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (442)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

157 - 163 of 442 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2014

We are becoming regular visitors here. And love everything about it. The whole place has a lovely feel about it, the staff are welcoming and nothing is too much trouble. We have chosen it for our wedding at the end of the year and i have no doubts that we will be looked after perfectly. Very happy customers. :)

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Lnf R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights and we cannot fault the hotel, the staff, or the restaurant. The room was absolutely beautiful, the food very sumptuous and the outlook just stunning. Lovely to sit in the drawing room and watch the red squirrels at play. The proximity of the ruins of Kildrummy Castle add another stunning vista. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and were reluctant to leave so will just have to return for another visit.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rumic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Totally disappointed in the food and service. The food was quite tasteless and very overpriced for what you were served. The hotel is in a wonderful setting and in the past has been good quality food. However our visit on Tuesday evening did not match our expectations!

Room Tip: As we only ate in the restaurant I can't comment on the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

We were merely visiting the hotel with a large group so I cannot comment on anything except the public rooms and the garden and the light lunch. It was a pity that our visit occurred only a few days after a new (French, I think) management took over and they were getting used to the place. So lunch was served slowly but was very pleasant indeed and all the staff did their utmost to accommodate the group.
The public rooms are gorgeous and maintain the decor and style of the 1920s extremely well. There are many fascinating photographs of days and folk gone by in this house while the historic features are generally well preserved and presented.
The lawns around the main house are delightful as are the birds and red squirrels attracted to the many feeders.
And from those lawns one can look down into the famous eponymous gardens in the wee glen below and across to the looming ruin of the castle after which the hotel is named.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Service
1  Thank Kirkcaldylad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2014

We stayed for two nights for two nights with my girlfriend and we really enjoyed the place. Not because of its services or restaurant, more because of the spirit of the place. The building and surroundings are really impessive and beautiful. The garden, just astonishing. One can just feel the history there. It was very quiet over there, almost too quiet, no music, no noice, no sound. The restaurant and food wasn't really for us, but the service was quite ok nevertheless. I warmly recommend this for couples in love, but not for families with children. People running the place are really friendly and the atmosphere is real and not too formal. Unique experience.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Henrik R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2014

This is a beautiful building in an absolutely stunning setting. Very peaceful and lots of wildlife to watch and enjoy. Bedroom very clean and lovely four poster bed resulting in a comfortable sleep. Everything stylish and appropriate and executed well. Have booked my next stays already. Situated 33 miles from aberdeen but well worth the drive through lovely countryside to get there.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DandE2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alford
6.7 mi away
Douneside House
Douneside House
#1 of 2 in Aboyne
289 reviews
19.3 mi away
Tor-na-Coille
Tor-na-Coille
#2 of 3 in Banchory
404 reviews
11 mi away
Loch Kinord Hotel
Loch Kinord Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dinnet
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
Banchory Lodge
Banchory Lodge
#1 of 3 in Banchory
643 reviews
20.1 mi away
Dowans Hotel
Dowans Hotel
#1 of 1 in Aberlour
263 reviews
15.9 mi away
Macdonald Pittodrie House
Macdonald Pittodrie House
#1 of 1 in Chapel of Garioch
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kildrummy Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kildrummy Castle Hotel

Address: Kildrummy, Alford AB33 8RA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Alford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alford
Price Range: $124 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kildrummy Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kildrummy Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kildrummy Castle
Kildrummy Castle Alford
Kildrummy Castle Hotel Scotland/Alford, Aberdeenshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing