We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Worth a bit of a drive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kildrummy Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kildrummy Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alford
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worth a bit of a drive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

We returned to Kildrummy hoping to reprise a memorable visit 16 years ago, and it was just as much fun this time. At the risk of sounding melodramatic, the setting is idyllic. If you are reading this, you already know about the mansion and the picturesque castle ruins adjoining (not part of the grounds - it's an Historic Scotland property which you enter from down the road). But the hotel's own gardens (4 pounds entry fee) down along the "wee burn in the den" provide for an nice evening stroll and great views (& photo ops) of the castle looming above. The friendly staff tried hard to us make us feel like "landed gentry" befitting the manison - which we're not.

We didn't experience any problem for breakfast as did a recent visitor, but there is only one harried lady rushing around taking orders and bringing coffee - so I can believe that it might take a while to get your coffee if you arrive at the wrong time. We learned to get some juice and a croissant from the buffet and relax until the waitress could get to us. Our only knock was dinner: the lamb as disappointing and the salmon ordinary. But sometimes you have to make allowences for the ambiance.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Pat P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    80
    25
    16
    11
See reviews for
62
186
8
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fraserburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

Kildrummy Castle Hotel is tucked away in a lovely location. This is a large extremely well maintained hotel built in 1900. The main reception rooms are all decadently furnished and wood panelling abounds along with open fires which give a lovely homey feel. Our bedroom which was a standard double was surprisingly spacious, as big as some suites in other hotels we have stayed. Food was excellent the chef being French and the service was warm and friendly. My only complaint was breakfast which, on our visit, was very disorganised bordering on chaotic we couldn't even get a cup of tea! We decided to have this in our room. Not good. This however was our only niggle and hopefully this was a one off and other guests would find that this has been addressed.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goleen, Ireland
Level Contributor
135 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The hotel is in a classic Scottish country house a few yards away from the picturesque ruins of a wonderful castle. Between house and ruins is the most beautiful simple garden, created by a small stream in a rocky gorge. The hotel is owned and managed by an enthusiastic French lady and her stunning daughter. Coming in the front door is stepping back to a different era: log fires, spacious public rooms and an excellent restaurant. Bedrooms are very large, most it seems with great views, and comfortably furnished. Fiona and her colleagues provide friendly and efficient service ..... And it's great value. Hard to fault!

Room Tip: Chat up the owner's daughter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank diandjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Simply stunning! How could anyone not like the Kildrummy Castle Hotel. It's location, the buildings history, the friendly and knowlegeable staff and the food in the restaurant both at dinner and breakfast was superb. Although a large hotel, the atmoshere is really relaxed and all the staff make you feel individually special. Both my wife and I were really disappointed to be only staying for one night, but if we go to this area again, we would stay here without question. We cannot recommend this hotel highly enough!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Only stayed one night (unfortunately ).

Stunning hotel in a beautiful setting. The French owners and their staff were excellent and the cuisine was superb.

An altogether wonderful(if short experience).

I will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: The rooms were great, treat yourself and upgrade to a four poster room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basildon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Have just returned home having spent three enjoyable days at this great hotel. We could thoroughly recommend it. It had charm, character and beautiful surroundings. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the food was good and the room was very clean and comfortable and had everything we needed. We look forward to staying here again in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizzyjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Nice spot, very traditional, nice staff and lovely location.
Room was clean and everything's need including decent wifi
Seems to be a poor area for mobile coverage ... No service on Vodafone network ... But then I was on a breakso stuff the mobile ; )

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NSXer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alford
11.0 mi away
Loch Kinord Hotel
Loch Kinord Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dinnet
4.0 of 5 stars 311 reviews
18.3 mi away
Raemoir House Hotel
Raemoir House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Banchory
4.5 of 5 stars 251 reviews
13.9 mi away
The Deeside Inn
The Deeside Inn
#3 of 4 in Ballater
3.5 of 5 stars 479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 mi away
Tor-na-Coille
Tor-na-Coille
#2 of 5 in Banchory
4.5 of 5 stars 306 reviews
20.0 mi away
Thainstone House
Thainstone House
#1 of 5 in Inverurie
4.0 of 5 stars 479 reviews
0.0 mi away
Castle Hotel Huntly
Castle Hotel Huntly
#1 of 3 in Huntly
4.5 of 5 stars 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kildrummy Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kildrummy Castle Hotel

Property: Kildrummy Castle Hotel
Address: Kildrummy, Alford AB33 8RA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Alford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kildrummy Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, LateRooms, Cancelon, Agoda, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Kildrummy Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kildrummy Castle
Kildrummy Castle Alford
Kildrummy Castle Hotel Scotland/Alford, Aberdeenshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing