We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loads of character”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kildrummy Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alford
Certificate of Excellence
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Loads of character”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Nice spot, very traditional, nice staff and lovely location.
Room was clean and everything's need including decent wifi
Seems to be a poor area for mobile coverage ... No service on Vodafone network ... But then I was on a breakso stuff the mobile ; )

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NSXer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    88
    29
    17
    11
See reviews for
71
216
8
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

The grounds and hotel are spectacular inside and out (see other reviews) and the French-inspired meals were delicious but what made this for me was the group of people looking after us. Subtle attentiveness with nothing too much trouble. We were made so welcome when we arrived and throughout our stay.

On our final morning we slept in and missed breakfast (I blame the clocks going forward rather than us just being lazy :)) Fully prepared to head off on our two hour journey home and grab something to eat on the way, the staff wouldn't hear of it and laid us a table in the bar and brought through a selection of pastries, buns tea and coffee despite the lateness of the hour. It really set us up for the day and I can't thank them enough. I would most definitely return to this calm and tranquil Aberdeenshire oasis. I just need to start saving my pennies.... :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bekibeanbag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houghton-le-Spring, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Resorted to Kildrummy Castle as there were no closer hotels available to Aberdeen - thankfully!
I arrived at the hotel at the top of a private drive, to find a stunning building. The setting is perfect overlooking the ruins of the castle in its own forest. While looking around the owner of the house came out to ask whether I needed help with my luggage and this set the tone for the whole of the stay. The interior of the hotel is stunning and appears all original and in fantastic order. I was shown all of the reception rooms, from the study to bar, lounge and restaurant/breakfast room, all wood panelling with quiet areas to read, a fire in the hallway and welcoming bar area. I had a deluxe room which was at the top of the hotel with its own balcony area overlooking the castle. The room while "olde worlde" as you would expect from the period of the hotel was immaculate. The evening meal was lovely with a choice of seafood dishes and a french inspired menu, the scallops st jacques were delightful and a light main course of king prawns on an oriental stir fried vegetables was very tasty. The breakfast menu had a wide variety of choice and the ingredients were all top notch. The check out was very friendly and personal and the owner again showed a lot of interest rather than chain hotels that I normally stay in. I would say that this hotel is easily worth a detour and it was a shame that I only stayed the one night.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We stayed for a night on the way back from a short break, as a valentine present from my boyfriend. We had a fantastic time, Very warm and friendly staff, excellent food and tranquil setting. Four poster bed was very comfortable with great view from our window. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CassellsClan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

My husband decided to treat me to a romantic meal out for Valentines Day. We had eaten at the hotel before and enjoyed the fantastic setting. The menu was limited to three choices for a starter ,three for a main and two for pudding of which one was a sharing dish. Of the choices given three included foie gras. I understand that the restaurant is French but I felt that this was rather extreme. As I find the production of foie gras cruel I asked to have my steak without the sauce (as did the table next to me .) When I asked if there was an alternative the response was " I should think so. " Our starter was sent to the wrong table so it took over an hour before we ate.Later when my meal arrived I had steak and a roux sauce. Not a good combination.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We went for dinner and although we are local we decided to treat ourselves to a room for the night. The meal was delicious, the room was lovely and the breakfast first class. Added to that the welcoming and friendly staff, a great time was had and we will visit again soon. Did I mention how good the breakfast was? :)

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lnf R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Great to see the hotel open again
This is a spectacular place to stay . Glorious setting with ancient castle ruins in full view of the Victorian Hotel . Grand entrance and huge oak pannelled hallway with elegant stairs inviting you up to suptuous rooms . Four posters in some rooms and comfortable beds !
The staff with Fiona who has been an ever present for 25 years and the new proprietors who offer exellent advice re wines for the meals and are most attentive .
The food in truth was not exceptional in fact some dishes - veg lasagne not at restaurant standard but honestly the food is a mere detail - this is a great place to go with friends and enjoy the ambience , the place itself , the helpful staff and good wine and of course the whisky which has its own menu .
Thoroughly enjoyable place to go , you will enjoy !

Room Tip: we have not stayed since it reopened Our favourite was The Clochter pot !
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dahe47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alford
6.7 mi away
Douneside House
Douneside House
#1 of 2 in Aboyne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
11.0 mi away
Loch Kinord Hotel
Loch Kinord Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dinnet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
19.8 mi away
Thainstone House
Thainstone House
#1 of 5 in Inverurie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
Tor-na-Coille
Tor-na-Coille
#2 of 3 in Banchory
4.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
20.2 mi away
Banchory Lodge
Banchory Lodge
#1 of 3 in Banchory
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
13.6 mi away
Hilton Grand Vacations at Craigendarroch Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kildrummy Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kildrummy Castle Hotel

Property: Kildrummy Castle Hotel
Address: Kildrummy, Alford AB33 8RA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Alford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kildrummy Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, LateRooms, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kildrummy Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kildrummy Castle
Kildrummy Castle Alford
Kildrummy Castle Hotel Scotland/Alford, Aberdeenshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing