We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kildrummy Castle Hotel better than ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kildrummy Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alford
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Kildrummy Castle Hotel better than ever”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

I have been a regular visitor to Kildrummy for many years. The hotel is better than ever. The food and service are excellent. However, it is the current team that make it extra special. They go the extra distance to make you feel at home. I have stayed at the hotel on 3 separate occasions in the past 4 months and cannot fault any aspect of the overall experience. Although only a short distance from Aberdeen, Kildrummy feels like a million miles away. I leave feeling truly relaxed, having enjoyed the fantastic scenery, the open log fires, the delicious cuisine and a very warm welcome from all who are involved in the running of the hotel. Kildrummy is truly unique in Scotland. Thank you to Claude and Elise for bringing Kildrummy back to life in such a special way.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheAberdonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    90
    29
    17
    11
See reviews for
74
220
8
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

I have stayed at Kildrummy Castle Hotel for a number of years and always had exceptional service to a very high standard it just got better!
The current owners offer great hospitality, the food and choice of wine is probably now one of the best in the Highlands. Great helpings, home cooking, traditional cuisine (dont be put off by this as they cater for a variety of tastes) seasonal fair, with open fires and you certainly wont be cold in the winter months.
If you fancy a night out for romance or business they have it all, close to Lecht and Glenshee ski areas this is traditional hotel at its best and you just feel the need to immerse yourself in the history and the setting.
After dinner relaxing in the lounge area I wanted for nothing, fantastic Espresso and aperitif.
I stay in many Hotels throughout Scotland, and at Kildrummy Castle Hotel, they have absolutely, got it right.
Open all year round, serving food during the day and till late.
This is a gem and a well kept secret.
I was tempted to some exquisit French patisseries Wow.
Tere are many events planned and there is a Burns night coming up not to be missed.
I arrived about 2030 on Thursday night after two long days of business on the west coast and received a very warm welcome, Brilliant.

Room Tip: The hotel is steeped in history relax and enjoy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballina, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

I agree with earlier reviews in that this place is a hidden gem. A little bit out of the way which for us was part of it's appeal. This Hotel rests above Kildrummy Castle which is an excellent castle ruin. It is a lovely building in it's own completed about 1900 the building still has many original features inside and out. On arrival at the castle we were met by Fiona who we later learnt has been associated with the castle for over 20 years. We got to our room which was the family room which was excellent however as the hotel was relatively quiet we decided to ask for two rooms, two adults and two children, with the rooms being next to each other. This was no reflection on the original room we were all just craving space after being on top of each other travelling for two months. Nothing was a problem and Fiona sorted the change of room without fuss.

This hotel features a lovely bar, library, dining room, drawing room, and we were lucky enough to be looked after by Butler Jock, a journeyman who shared his own travel experiences, knowledge of the highlands, scotch whiskey and much more. He was delightful with our children also and we can't thank him enough for his hospitality through out our two night stay. It was quiet but it was literally like having your own personal butler.

We were lucky enough to experience good snow fall over the duration of our stay. The first morning at Breakfast we met the owner Claudia and her daughter Elise. On realising how excited my children were to see snow Claudia disappeared before returning a short time later with snow sleds for them. A ready made slope in the hotel grounds and a day of play in the snow for my kids. This place is lovely but in the snow it is truly beautiful. At Breakfast we watched pheasants play with red squirrels in the snow a few feet outside our window. Breakfast itself was the usual cooked fair done very well. Great!

The food in the restaurant is french and very good taking advantage of local produce, the rooms good and the cleanest we have stayed in, the location stunning. It is however the staff that make this place special. Claudia, Elise, Jock and Fiona looked after us during our stay and were nothing short of sensational. These are seriously good people who have the uncanny knack of knowing when to chime in with a suggestion or a helping hand and also know when to give you some space.

This place as mentioned has stayed true to it's origins so don't bother going if you want a facade that has had its guts ripped out to allow ultra modern 5 star trimmings. It is not a new building which is it's charm. My family is from Australia, if you want new come to Australia, the charm of Kildrummy and Scotland for that matter is in it's history and Kildrummy Castle Hotel does a wonderful job respecting the past whilst providing comfort the modern day traveller expects.

Double thumbs up. Not sure if I'll make it back but will definitely try.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We have just returned from a long weekend at KCH. I last stayed here 5 years ago and it was my father's favourite hotel when he came up to fish. It was so much better than I remembered. it is now run by Claude and her daughter Elise with a wonderful French Chef David. Looking at the photos it has been updated but is still very Scottish with a French influence. The food was very fresh and beautifully cooked. I cannot understand the previous reviewer was he at the same hotel? We had a beautiful room overlooking the garden and the castle and Claude has lots of bird feeders so there are pheasants - very plump - red squirrels and many different species of birds. The staff were so welcoming thoughtful and helpful. As it was snowing I had my favourite chair beside the open fire they always lit if I requested. We had lovely walks in the snow over the top with the help of Fiona's map and we did not get lost. You can get access to the Kildrummy castle gardens from the hotel in winter. A lovely hotel for a relaxing break beautiful countryside and only 45 mins from Aberdeen airport. We will be back. Thank you

Room Tip: We stayed in a large double aspect room overlooking the garden and castle. The top floor has smaller...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolineWh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stay quite local to Kildrummy Castle and decided to take friends out for dinner. The hotel was very child friendly and all the staff were excellent with us and the children! Food, service and atmosphere was also first class. We are fortunate to eat out a lot locally and I would say this is one of our preffered places to dine. Disappointing to read one or two of the poor reviews, maybe they were just unfortunate, or maybe with being in the hotel trade myself they are just a few of the 'professional moaners' we meet-in with every so often! My advice is to read the many positive reviews of this hotel as it is excellent and worth a visit.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 245Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We were met with a warn welcome on arrival at this magnificent hotel which is within easy reach of Aberdeen.
We booked a master bedroom and were not disappointed with the spacious room and view.
The bar has a great view of Kildrummy Castle and is well stocked with a variety of malt whisky, and not too expensive either.
Dinner was excellent, with good service and attention to detail.
The stay provided the perfect tonic after a hectic Christmas and New Year, This magnificent building with the open fire, grand staircase, drawing room and excellent food are only a few reasons why a stay at Kildrummy Castle Hotel is a must.
Thanks to all

Room Tip: Master Bedroom was a bonus but I am sure standards are the same whatever your room choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graeme W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort William, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We have just come back from a lovely few days at Kildrummy Castle Hotel over New Year. The house is beautiful with a library, small bar and lovely floral drawing room downstairs. The dining room is spacious and overlooks the gardens so its lovely watching all the wildlife over breakfast. We stayed in a four poster room which overlooked the garden, it was amazing watching all the birds and red squirrels feeding each day. The room was very spacious and very clean. The staff are very friendly and were happy to help with anything we needed. Elise, one of the proprietors even provided us with a lovely walk out of the back of the hotel up into the hills where we saw a variety of birds and deer in the forest.

The location of the hotel is perfect for visiting castles, the Cairngorm national park and even a bit of skiing at the Lecht if the weather permits. There wasn't enough snow when we were there unfortunately. Even though Kildrummy Castle was closed when we were there we were still able to visit it as the gates were open. The hotel also sell tickets for the castle gardens out of season if you want to visit.

Overall we would stay again if we were in the area and would recommend it to anyone wanting to stay in a traditional historic hotel. It's definitely worth a visit.

Room Tip: Book a master room if its available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vinneyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alford
6.7 mi away
Douneside House
Douneside House
#1 of 2 in Aboyne
266 reviews
11.0 mi away
Loch Kinord Hotel
Loch Kinord Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dinnet
347 reviews
19.3 mi away
Tor-na-Coille
Tor-na-Coille
#2 of 3 in Banchory
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
Banchory Lodge
Banchory Lodge
#1 of 3 in Banchory
564 reviews
13.6 mi away
Hilton Grand Vacations at Craigendarroch Suites
19.8 mi away
Thainstone House
Thainstone House
#1 of 5 in Inverurie
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kildrummy Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kildrummy Castle Hotel

Property: Kildrummy Castle Hotel
Address: Kildrummy, Alford AB33 8RA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Alford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kildrummy Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Agoda, Priceline, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kildrummy Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kildrummy Castle
Kildrummy Castle Alford
Kildrummy Castle Hotel Scotland/Alford, Aberdeenshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing