We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best B&B in Northern Ireland”
Review of Laurel Villa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Magherafelt
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Laurel Villa
Ranked #1 of 4 Magherafelt B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The best B&B in Northern Ireland”
Reviewed August 10, 2010

We travelled around Ireland for 3 weeks, staying at B&Bs, so we have a very good basis for comparison. Eugene and Geradine understand completely how to run their establishment to provide maximum enjoyment for their guests. Everything was terrific, the rooms, their helpfulness and knowledge and the breakfasts are amazing. My sister, who was travelling with us, was a return guest and we were all treated as if we were long lost family. Magherafelt is the ideal base to explore this part of Ireland and we were so pleased we had booked in to Laurel Villa for 3 nights. A bonus was, thanks to Eugene and Geradine, that we have a whole new appreciation of Irish literature and history. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ozdeco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    12
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
56
80
27
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Coffs Harbour
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 24, 2010

In April my mother and I stayed for three nights at Laurel Villa with Eugene and Gerardine. It was a return visit for my mum who had stayed there with her sister a few years ago. My only regret was that we didn’t stay for a week.

Eugene spent a day with us helping to locate places of historical family significance. This involved knocking on many doors and being invited into the houses of strangers who were every bit as hospitable as the Kielts.

Breakfast at Laurel Villa was one of the highlights of our trip. Gerardine’s bread was delicious. I’ve never tasted anything like it. Presentation was perfect. The room we stayed in was delightful. Although at the front of the house there was no road noise.

Next trip I intend to use Laurel Villa as a base and travel throughout the north from there. Simply the best place to stay in Northern Ireland.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sbrennan60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2010

This B&B begins with the web site. What u read is what u get. It is owner operated by Geraldine & Eugene Kielt. One gets a lovely warm welcome and a nice feeling upon entering. The decor is a cross between Victorian, and New England in a lovely blend. The house takes on the character and charm of the owners. The house is themed on a famous poet Seamus Heaney who comes from the area. We stayed in a family room located on the second floor. It had a feature tall tudor style bed-head over a comfortable quality queen size bed. Quality linens with matching drapes and spreads. We had an ensuite, with towels and toiletries provided. The room had tea/coffee making facilities and a T.V. We were provided with an additional roll away at no extra charge. We had our own key. Parking provided in the rear before 10 p.m. otherwise parking available on front street. Walking distance to a range of wonderful restaurants. Breakfast had freshly cut fresh fruit, yog., cereals, both homemade bread and toast and preserves, customised hot breakfast, not greasy with smooth perfect eggs, juice and tea or coffee. We were asked if we had any special dietary requirements, which we did not. Great base for touring. Reasonable rates. Good chats and one departs as if Geraldine & Eugene were life long friends. We even received a parting gift of a disc containing a selection of songs and poems. How perfect is that. This couple love their B & B and it shows. like the title says 'An Exemplery B&B' .

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mystandard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 1, 2010

Our first visit to Northern Ireland and we couldn't have found a friendlier place to stay. A lovely period property B&B run by Eugene and Geradine who made us feel extremely welcome in their home. Not a scenic town as such but a great central base for travelling around the north, with plenty of restaurants and bars within walking distance. Breakfasts were excellent and bedroom lovely, with an excellent en-suite. We really enjoyed our stay with 2 lovely people.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WalesSmudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 26, 2010

My wife & I stayed with Eugene & Gerardine at Laurel Villa for a few days in May when we were researching our Scots-Irish ancestry. Great hosts & Eugene very knowledgeable with regard to regional history. They are also great fans of the poet, Seamus Heaney & there are many of his poems on display. At first glance, the home seems close to a busy road but dont let that deter you as the traffic noise can hardly be heard once inside. It's close to the centre of town & less than 100 yards to a good pub that serves a great Guinness beef pie.This is the place to stay, particularly if you are visiting the area & researching your forebears. Thanks for your help, Eugene & Gerardine.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ray43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2010

Our recent trip to Magherafelt in Northern Ireland was simply an unforgettable experience. During our eight days at Laurel Villa we were treated like family, and leaving to relocate in Befast was quite difficult. Hosts Gerardine and Eugene are the perfect B&B owners, and anyone who stays with them will be rewarded with genuine Irish hospitality. Magherafelt is the ideal central location from which to explore the country, and Laurel Villa is the gem that makes holidays totally memorable. We didn't find any new relatives in NI, but we did find some very special new friends! Words alone cannot do justice to our experience.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jwd500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norwich
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2010

welcoming,friendly hosts,delicious breakfast with home-made wheaten bread and scones.room very clean,bed comfortable.poetry theme enchanting

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pam021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Magherafelt
7.6 mi away
Apparo Restaurant & Hotel
Apparo Restaurant & Hotel
#1 of 1 in Draperstown
142 reviews
5.7 mi away
White River House Hotel
9.3 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#2 of 10 in Cookstown
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Ardtara Country House
Ardtara Country House
#1 of 1 in Upperlands
286 reviews
13.2 mi away
Galgorm Resort & Spa
Galgorm Resort & Spa
#1 of 6 in Ballymena
2,976 reviews
13.7 mi away
Tullyglass House Hotel
Tullyglass House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Ballymena
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laurel Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laurel Villa

Property: Laurel Villa
Address: 60 Church Street | Northern Ireland, Magherafelt BT45 6AW, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Magherafelt
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Magherafelt
Hotel Class:4 star — Laurel Villa 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for a small family-run hotel in Magherafelt or the Mid Ulster District? Look no further. Just read the reviews and see what others have to say about this top class Magherafelt accommodation. This is an award-winning 4 STAR boutique townhouse located in the centre of Magherafelt town in Northern Ireland. Secure parking.Specializing in Irish/Ulster-Scots genealogy and Seamus Heaney Poetry & 5 Star Tours of Heaney Country. Personal service guaranteed and good home cooking. Excellent value for money. Conveniently located with shops, restaurants, bars etc all within a few hundred yards.Less than 1 hour takes you to Belfast, L'Derry, Antrim Coast/Giant's Causeway.Has received outstanding reviews in The Guardian, Observer, Irish Times, Sunday Telegraph etc. Recommended by all the best guide books including National Geographic, Good Hotel Guide and Georgina Campbell. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Laurel Villa Magherafelt, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing