We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrific B@B”
Review of Laurel Villa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Magherafelt
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Laurel Villa
Ranked #1 of 4 Magherafelt B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrific B@B”
Reviewed May 10, 2010

If you want to stay at a comfortable, beautifully run B@B in Northern Ireland, then Laural Villa Guesthouse ticks all the boxes and more...From the warm welcome from the hosts, Eugene and Geradine Kiel, to the beautifully furnished en suite rooms, filled with Irish literary history, the magnificent breakfasts which offer healthy choices including fresh fruit salad and homemade wheaten and soda bread baked every day and the comfortable beds, this must be one of the best B@Bs in Ireland. If you are interested in Irish genealogical or social history, then Eugene is a fount of knowledge and ever ready to assist you.
My ancestors came from Northern Ireland and Eugene not only helped me to access information but linked me to a family of the same name. It is a real "home away from home".

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank howlong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    12
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
56
78
27
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Manama, Bahrain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 28, 2010

I have just returned to the Bahrain from a business trip to Northern Ireland. I took my Australian-born wife along with me as there was some time for relaxation and sightseeing built into the itinerary. She had never been to Ireland before, although she knew she had some Ulster family connections. We chose Laurel Villa as our base partly because of Magherafelt’s great location, in the centre of N.Ireland but we also liked the fact that Laurel Villa seemed so convenient to all the town’s services. I’ll have to say, this was one of the smartest travel decisions I have ever made. Laurel Villa is a real gem. Having stayed in many of hotels around the world, Laurel Villa is one of the best and yet it’s so different from all my other favourites. We will never forget the friendly but unobtrusive hospitality shown by the owners, the Kielt family. We really enjoyed the home cooking at Laurel Villa and the facilities are second to none. I had already heard about the famous Irish poet Seamus Heaney but never expected to be able to enjoy so much of his poetry on a business trip. Eugene even took us on a short tour of Heaney country which was the highlight of the week. My wife also got some expert advice on how to research her Irish ancestors. I feel another trip is on the cards. We can’t wait. This place is the real deal!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BusinessTraveller077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
1 review
Reviewed March 1, 2010

Welcoming atmosphere, immaculately presented property, comfortable rooms and oodles of character around every corner.

I stayed with my partner as part of a groom's wedding party the night before the big day. Eugene and Gerardine seemed so enthusiastic it really added to the occasion. Eugene even forwarded a whole load of photographs he took of the wedding party getting ready (one of which attached). Nothing seemed too much trouble. They really went that extra mile and we can’t thank them enough.

A wonderful experience and couldn't be more highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BristolDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed February 1, 2010

We recently stayed in this Guesthouse I Couldn't say enough about it...first class accommodation. Room was warm, comfotable and clean. Breakfast was lovely, cooked fresh. Eugene & Geraldine were most welcoming. highyly recommended

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FiFiDonegal_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2010

It has been a few years since we first stayed at Laurel Villa, when I returned to NI to meet up with my Uncle, Aunt and cousins. It is always a pleasure to return and meet up not only with my relatives but Gerardine and Eugene too. They serve one of the best breakfasts in NI and there is plenty of poetry to read on the walls. Highly recommended.

Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KegsPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2010

This is quite simply the best B&B I've stayed in in Ireland. I was in the area to reseach the poetry of Seamus Heaney, and Mr and Mrs Kielt were hugely informative and encouraging. I would recommend anyone to stay here, particularly if they have an interest in literature and culture.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guest024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian Croome
1 review
Reviewed November 8, 2009

I was making a flying visit to Magherafelt and was arriving in Belfast at 6.30am and thinking I was going to have to kill the morning until I could check in. When I spoke to the owners I was told to come straight there and have breakfast. I did and was very pleased that I had, the breakfast is amazing and you don't need a paper just read all the poetry on the walls. My room was very comfortable and again full of interesting things and more poetry. You also couldn't ask for nicer owners.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ACjib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Magherafelt
7.6 mi away
Apparo Restaurant & Hotel
Apparo Restaurant & Hotel
#1 of 1 in Draperstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
8.8 mi away
Ardtara Country House
Ardtara Country House
#1 of 1 in Upperlands
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
9.3 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#2 of 10 in Cookstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Galgorm Resort & Spa
Galgorm Resort & Spa
#1 of 6 in Ballymena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,854 reviews
5.7 mi away
White River House Hotel
13.0 mi away
Tullylagan Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laurel Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laurel Villa

Property: Laurel Villa
Address: 60 Church Street | Northern Ireland, Magherafelt BT45 6AW, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Magherafelt
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Magherafelt
Hotel Class:4 star — Laurel Villa 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for a small family-run hotel in Magherafelt or the Mid Ulster District? Look no further. Just read the reviews and see what others have to say about this top class Magherafelt accommodation. This is an award-winning 4 STAR boutique townhouse located in the centre of Magherafelt town in Northern Ireland. Secure parking.Specializing in Irish/Ulster-Scots genealogy and Seamus Heaney Poetry & 5 Star Tours of Heaney Country. Personal service guaranteed and good home cooking. Excellent value for money. Conveniently located with shops, restaurants, bars etc all within a few hundred yards.Less than 1 hour takes you to Belfast, L'Derry, Antrim Coast/Giant's Causeway.Has received outstanding reviews in The Guardian, Observer, Irish Times, Sunday Telegraph etc. Recommended by all the best guide books including National Geographic, Good Hotel Guide and Georgina Campbell. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Laurel Villa Magherafelt, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing