We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Connecting with my Irish roots”
Review of Laurel Villa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Magherafelt
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Laurel Villa
Ranked #1 of 4 Magherafelt B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Snellville, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Connecting with my Irish roots”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

I loved staying at Laurel Villa. It was built by William John Derby my 2nd great grandfather's brother for his daughter. Eugene is knowledgeable about not only local town history but about local family history sites that we could go to. I loved our rooms. They were comfortable and charming. The decor gave the whole house a pleasing ambiance reminiscent of a bygone era. The breakfast in the morning was wonderful and Geraldine was delightful. It made me proud to have Irish heritage. Eugene also told me about an exhibit near where I live featuring the poet Seamus Heaney. I would definitely stay at Laurel Villa again when I return to Ireland.

Room Tip: The room on the top floor had a king sized bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    12
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
56
80
27
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed the memorable experience of our overnight stay at Laurel Villa. The warm welcome by Eugene and Geraldine including information about the local area (especially Seamus Heaney landmarks), the vintage decor and furnishings and the beautiful breakfast all contributed to an experience we'd want to repeat and highly recommend.

Room Tip: The Seamus Heaney twin room at the top of the house is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eileen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
enniskillen, fermanagh
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Had a spacious ensuite room with front view. Clean and comfortable. Nice breakfast in beautiful dining roorm. Very different to other accommodations. Alot of interesting things to keep your eyes busy admiring and reading Enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shoreguesthouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Staying at Laurel Villa for te second tine this year and can only sa what a delight. Rooms again first class with service that you'd expect to see at a 5 star hotel for the elite.
What was truly an amazing experienxe was dining for breakfast and lunch in the beautiful dining room. The meals were presented in such an exquiste way cooked to a very hgigh standard incorporatiung local produce.
The experience is one you would expect to see at a restauraunt run by a michelan chef.
Once agin thanks for an amazing stay,

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mel a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Clearly Eugene Kielt loves his Magherafelt childhood home, Laurel Villa. Overnighting there recently, I could understand why. Tucked into Seamus Heaney Country, the comfortable house is a haven for poets, genealogists, or simply folks hoping to connect with rural Northern Irish life. Poet Laureate Heaney, who passed away in September, was a frequent visitor. Admiration for his friend inspired Kielt to add area tours to this welcoming accomodation. Repeat visitors I met there had returned to Laurel Villa in search of family 'roots'...or, was it for Geraldine Kielts's delicious baking?!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UrsulaTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Few things genuinely deserve to be described as 'unique': but Eugene & Geraldine's B & B is one of them. It is an absolute 'must' for anyone interested in Irish literaure, especially Ulster poetry, even more especially the poetry of Seamus Heaney: the house is a treasure trove of Heaney memorabilia, some of it very rare. The room we had (the Longley room) was extremely comfortable and spotlesssly clean: the breakfast in the morning offered a wide range of hot and cold delights. Our hosts were most welcoming and keen to pass on their knowledge of the literature on display. It was a real joy to stay here and my wife and I would thoroughly recommend it to anyone requirinbg accommodation staying in Magherafelt. We fully intend to return - and to stay longer.

Room Tip: We were in one room only - and it was excellent: we have every confidence that all the other room ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 30, 2013

I have just spent 3 days in Magherafelt staying at Laurel Villa on the occasion of the Open Day to mark the Tercentenary of my old school, Rainey Endowed. The excellence of the event was matched by the excellence of Laurel Bank.
Eugene and Geraldine were so friendly and helpful, the breakfasts were lovely, the standard of cleanliness could not have been higher and my bed was very comfortable.
The ambience of the place was delightful and the walls were covered with poems and pictures and other artefacts in tribute to Irish poets particularly Seamus Heaney. I was so busy meeting up with old friends and dashing about that I did not have enough time to fully absorb all the interesting things in the house. So, I will definitely return and allow more time to relax in the house.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Audrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Magherafelt
7.6 mi away
Apparo Restaurant & Hotel
Apparo Restaurant & Hotel
#1 of 1 in Draperstown
142 reviews
5.7 mi away
White River House Hotel
9.3 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#2 of 10 in Cookstown
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Ardtara Country House
Ardtara Country House
#1 of 1 in Upperlands
286 reviews
13.2 mi away
Galgorm Resort & Spa
Galgorm Resort & Spa
#1 of 6 in Ballymena
2,979 reviews
13.7 mi away
Tullyglass House Hotel
Tullyglass House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Ballymena
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laurel Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laurel Villa

Property: Laurel Villa
Address: 60 Church Street | Northern Ireland, Magherafelt BT45 6AW, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Magherafelt
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Magherafelt
Hotel Class:4 star — Laurel Villa 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for a small family-run hotel in Magherafelt or the Mid Ulster District? Look no further. Just read the reviews and see what others have to say about this top class Magherafelt accommodation. This is an award-winning 4 STAR boutique townhouse located in the centre of Magherafelt town in Northern Ireland. Secure parking.Specializing in Irish/Ulster-Scots genealogy and Seamus Heaney Poetry & 5 Star Tours of Heaney Country. Personal service guaranteed and good home cooking. Excellent value for money. Conveniently located with shops, restaurants, bars etc all within a few hundred yards.Less than 1 hour takes you to Belfast, L'Derry, Antrim Coast/Giant's Causeway.Has received outstanding reviews in The Guardian, Observer, Irish Times, Sunday Telegraph etc. Recommended by all the best guide books including National Geographic, Good Hotel Guide and Georgina Campbell. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Laurel Villa Magherafelt, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing