We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant”
Review of Laurel Villa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Magherafelt
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Laurel Villa
Ranked #1 of 4 Magherafelt B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 13, 2013

My friends and I recently enjoyed a fabulous morning in this beautiful historic house eating a gourmet breakfast, having the crack and experiencing the wonderful hospitality that this gem offers. We are planning a return visit very soon for afternoon tea to sample more of Geraldine's great cooking. Can't wait !!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (258)
There are newer reviews for Laurel Villa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 258 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2013

We were on a tour of Northern Ireland to research material for my new novel when, purely by chance we stumbled upon Laurel Villa in Magherafelt. Due to other commitments, we were only able to pass the one night at this beautiful Guest House, otherwise we would have stayed longer, such was the welcome, the food, the ambience from this lovely, hospitable couple. This place is a must for anyone interested in literature, especially the poems of Seamus Heaney, the Nobel Laureate. Eugene is an acknowledged expert on Heaney, promoting tours and Festivals on the subject. Five stars is not enough for this establishment! Norman MacRitchie Reeley, Author, Malevolent Karma.

Room Tip: They are all spectacular... beautifully decorated.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NormanReeley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Booked this for an overnight stay. The rooms were amazing! They were so quaint and interesting. Breakfast was superb. Fresh fruit, yoghurt, freshly baked scones and breads, and cooked breakfast. Geraldine was the perfect host. Would definitely recommend this guest house.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colvill1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We recently had the most enjoyable morning in the comfort and ambience of this wonderful historic dwelling situated in Magherafelt. A group of ladies from as far away as Sydney Australia and Glasgow Scotland got together with their friends from the area and spent the morning chatting over a finely cooked breakfast. Although we hadnt stayed the previous night , we had learned that Eugene and Gerldine cater for privatly organized breakfasts or afternoon tea parties allowing us all to have a taste of all the wonderful home cooked food on offer. A feast fit for a king no doubt and as we mulled over our tea we could savour the smell of the baking in the kitchen for a hen party which was taking place later that afternoon. A truely wonderful experience...

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Celine796
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

This was one of the best experience B and B I've ever had. The owners are very knowledgeable about local history and helped me in my genealogical studies in every way they could. The rooms are beautiful. Many thanks.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McFlair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

This was our first stay. We were in Magherafelt for a special family meet up and our wonderful 'home' for the weekend was a real bonus! Gerardine and Eugene are great hosts and made us feel so welcome. Beautiful rooms and the beds are so comfortable! Breakfast was excellent and the scones and wheaten were very more ish! Magherafelt is a good central location to explore Northern Ireland and laurel villa is well worth the visit in its own right! We will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheNottsWanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We spent the weekend in Derry in June. We booked into Laurel Villa not knowing what to expect. The guesthouse was ideally located for what we wanted to do and immediately on arrival we felt that we had made a great choice because of the welcome from Eugene and Geraldine. Even though we are not into poetry the house is beautiful themed and interesting. Rooms were very comfortable and very clean. The breakfast was fabulous with a great choice of cereals, fresh fruit and individually cooked breakfast. Both Eugene and Geraldine are very easy going and accommodating. We would like to thank them for their hospitality and would definitely recommend Laurel Villa to anyone going to Magherafelt or surrounding area. Mike and Karen.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1968Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Magherafelt
7.6 mi away
Apparo
Apparo
#1 of 1 in Draperstown
146 reviews
5.7 mi away
White River House Hotel
8.8 mi away
Ardtara Country House
Ardtara Country House
#1 of 1 in Upperlands
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#2 of 10 in Cookstown
253 reviews
10.4 mi away
Glenavon House Hotel
Glenavon House Hotel
#1 of 10 in Cookstown
391 reviews
13.7 mi away
Tullyglass House Hotel
Tullyglass House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Ballymena
892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laurel Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laurel Villa

Address: 60 Church Street | Northern Ireland, Magherafelt BT45 6AW, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Magherafelt
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Magherafelt
Hotel Class:4 star — Laurel Villa 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for a small family-run hotel in Magherafelt or the Mid Ulster District? Look no further. Just read the reviews and see what others have to say about this top class Magherafelt accommodation. This is an award-winning 4 STAR boutique townhouse located in the centre of Magherafelt town in Northern Ireland. Secure parking.Specializing in Irish/Ulster-Scots genealogy and Seamus Heaney Poetry & 5 Star Tours of Heaney Country. Personal service guaranteed and good home cooking. Excellent value for money. Conveniently located with shops, restaurants, bars etc all within a few hundred yards.Less than 1 hour takes you to Belfast, L'Derry, Antrim Coast/Giant's Causeway.Has received outstanding reviews in The Guardian, Observer, Irish Times, Sunday Telegraph etc. Recommended by all the best guide books including National Geographic, Good Hotel Guide and Georgina Campbell. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Laurel Villa Magherafelt, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing