We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, but a few things could be improved....”
Review of The Terrace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Terrace Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Magherafelt
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel, but a few things could be improved....”
Reviewed February 3, 2010

This hotel is really nice, central location and rooms are lovely.

However, breakfast was disappointing at best.
The cost of a one night stay was £90 - is it just me or isn't that a bit expensive for Magherafelt?
The temperature of the shower in our room varied from cold to lukewarm.

One other thing that bugged me was a bunch of louts that were staying in the hotel at the same time as us.
We had the unfortunate experience of having breakfast at the same time as them and had to listen to them verbally abuse each other and the staff who were serving breakfast - I'm no prude but this bunch of about 10 lads were very loudly describing their sexual fantasies (many of which included the waitresses, who had excellent patience) and were overstepping the line by a long way.
Now I know this wasn't the hotels fault, but they really should have procedures in place to protect their staff and other guests from knuckle dragging idiots like that.

All things considered the Terrace is a good place to stay in Magherafelt.

  • Stayed January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJQ5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    55
    20
    4
    6
See reviews for
23
35
11
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Donegal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2010

We tried to book this hotel for an overnight stay in Jan 2010. There is obviously no sign of recession at this hotel as they would not except Euro for payment. We got a friendlier welcome in a beautiful guesthouse not far from this hotel who were only too delighted to accept our Euro currency!

Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank FiFi1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
n. ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2010

delightful stay from start to finish. The staff of the terrace hotel should be praised for making it the friendly outstandingly clean comfortable hotel that it is. Will most certaintly be using the hotel again. xx

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank perisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
1 review
Reviewed December 21, 2009

My friend was having his 30th Birthday in a local pub in Magherafelt, being from the 'big smoke' we weren't sure where to stay - friends, having never stayed there before, suggested The Terrace as it was liked by the locals.
I arrived ahead of my friend a little earlier than check in and expected to be told my room wasn't going to be ready - however the girl on reception was lovely and said i was grand to head to my room, the heating wasn't due on for another wee while however she she would put it on early for me.
I went up to my lovely toasty warm room which had a double bed and a large single bed, flat screen TV, dining table and dressign table with two great size mirrors (for us girls getting ready plenty of mirrors a def advantage!!) Before heading to the hairdressers (just beside the hotel) I had a quick shower. Oh my goodness!! For people who love their showers this is a must! It was extremely powerful and had no end to hot water - not like the luke warm dribble in most hotels of this star rating. Remember this is only classed as 3 star!
Next morning we woke and headed for breakfast, delicious, freshly cooked omlettes and a fry up for my friend - no food was left sitting all morning under heat lamps - all was cooked to order. Bottomless tea and coffe was available - had we not to get back home to Belfast I think we would have stayed there gossiping all morning!
I definitely would recommend a stay in this hotel, even for a nice weekend out Magherafelt is a lovely town with amazing restaurants (try Sizzlers) and great nightlife - we will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank social_butterfly80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2009

Stayed at this hotel on business and would recommend it. Clean throughout and excellent staff. 100% satisfied.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dunlade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
1 review
Reviewed October 22, 2009

I had a lovely relaxing time staying in the Terrace, the room was very nice, clean and spacious. One of the best hotels i have ever stayed in!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IrelandFab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
1 review
Reviewed October 19, 2009

We stayed at the Terrace Hotel to attend a wedding. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Very good cooked breakfast. Clean modern rooms. We left behind an item at the hotel that they promptly posted back without charge.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manchesterdragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Magherafelt
5.7 mi away
White River House Hotel
7.6 mi away
Apparo Restaurant & Hotel
Apparo Restaurant & Hotel
#1 of 1 in Draperstown
142 reviews
13.2 mi away
Galgorm Resort & Spa
Galgorm Resort & Spa
#1 of 6 in Ballymena
2,933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#2 of 10 in Cookstown
236 reviews
8.8 mi away
Ardtara Country House
Ardtara Country House
#1 of 1 in Upperlands
282 reviews
19.4 mi away
Brown Trout Golf & Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Terrace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Terrace Hotel

Property: The Terrace Hotel
Address: 42-48 Church Street, Magherafelt BT45 6AW, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Magherafelt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Magherafelt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Terrace Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Terrace Hotel is centrally located in Northern Ireland halfway between the cities of Belfast and Derry. Only 30 minutes from Belfast International Airport and close to the main Ferry terminals, we are less than an hours drive from the north coast making us the ideal base for touring or business travel. Our newly renovated bar is the ideal spot to have a light lunch or evening meal, and has an extensive wine list to compliment any meal. Our sixteen modern bedrooms have wall mounted plasma televisions, complimentary high speed WiFi internet access, tea and coffee facilities and crisp white linen on king size beds to ensure a good nights sleep. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Terrace Hotel Magherafelt, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing