We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, amazing staff and great food - only one downside...”
Review of The Terrace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Terrace Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Magherafelt
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 27, 2014

I stayed at the Terrace last weekend (May 22nd) - what a lovely place it is! The rooms are lovely (very comfortable, firm beds and exposed brick walls), the bar is great (LOVELY wine - £12.95 a bottle!) and the food was fantastic - plentiful, delicious and great value for money.

Breakfast was a particular highlight - rather than some conjealing buffet, you order what you want and it comes out freshly made! I asked for fried eggs on toast (firm whites but runny yoke) and bacon - it came out like perfection!! I stayed at a 5 star resort straight after the Terrace, and their breakfast wasn't NEARLY as nice. Another highlight was the lovely staff - SO friendly and welcoming, I really enjoyed my stay there.

My only disappointment was the water pressure - the shower in the morning was a nightmare. The water kept slowing down to a dribble, and then stopping entirely when I had a full hair of shampoo in - other friends in different rooms had the same complaint that morning. However, I have another friend who stayed there a few months ago and she said it was fine then, so hopefully this was just a temporary problem. Thank you for a lovely stay, the Terrace!

Room Tip: I was in room 103 - a very good twin room. It faces the high street though, so there is SLIGHT traf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank van_den_end
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Terrace Hot... M, Manager at The Terrace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your recent trip to Magherafelt and your stay with us at The Terrace Hotel.
We have noted your issues with your shower and will investigate this and try to rectify the problem.
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Terrace in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (193)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 193 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2014

Stayed for 1 night on business. Room clean and tidy. The iron didn't work but the receptionist supplied a replacement no problem.

Didn't dine at the hotel, only had continental breakfast which was fine.

The Guinness however, was spectacular!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jude270865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Terrace Hot... M, Manager at The Terrace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2014

I apologise for your iron not working initially - this has now been replaced. We are glad you enjoyed your stay otherwise, and do hope to see you again for another Guinness in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Recently had 3 more stays at the Terrace whilst on business and found the staff to be as friendly and helpful as before. The Full Breakfast is still great, really tasty bacon and nice to have the soda bread and potato bread again. Still recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trev d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Terrace Hot... M, Manager at The Terrace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2014

I am glad you enjoyed your recent visit to Magherafelt, and your stay at The Terrace Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

Stayed 4 nights and absolutely nothing to complain about. Staff very friendly and helpful, room great size and very clean, bed linen, towels etc all that you would expect. Breakfast and dinner all lovely tasty and warm. No complaints here and I would recommend

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
Thank Milly1304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Terrace Hot... M, General Manager at The Terrace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2014

We are glad you enjoyed your stay at The Terrace Hotel, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Although the hotel was clean and in a good location the manager was absolutely rude and intimidating. Whist at the residents bar he not only threatened our group he also repeatedly cursed and made false accusations at us. He threatened to throw us out stating that he didn't need our kind. He refused to refund us and refused to let one of the girls go out to her car threatening that she would not b allowed to re enter. He has no people skills what so ever. The rest of the staff are lovely and have told us that the are also intimidated and afraid of this man. I would not recommend this hotel. I am currently in the process of retaining a solicitor and requesting a written apology.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank 27,358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

From the arrival to departure, the staff were very polite and welcoming. The breakfast was very good. The room was very nicely decorated and comfortable. This was only a short stay but I would certainly stay again.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank IDG83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is in a good location and quiet enough even though it's right on a main road, the rooms are spacious and comfortable and very clean, mattress maybe could have been a bit softer! Plenty of channels to choose from on the TV and the bathroom was big and very clean also! The restaurant however, even though it's modern looking and tidy the staff were a bit slow on my stay, could have had a little more urgency during dinner and the pricing is a little higher than I've experienced elsewhere but all in all a good stay

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeeD901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Magherafelt
7.6 mi away
Apparo
Apparo
#1 of 1 in Draperstown
151 reviews
13.2 mi away
Galgorm Resort & Spa
Galgorm Resort & Spa
#1 of 6 in Ballymena
3,406 reviews
10.3 mi away
Glenavon House Hotel
Glenavon House Hotel
#1 of 10 in Cookstown
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Tullyglass House Hotel
Tullyglass House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Ballymena
979 reviews
15.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Antrim M2, JCT.1
9.3 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#2 of 10 in Cookstown
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Terrace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Terrace Hotel

Address: 42-48 Church Street, Magherafelt BT45 6AW, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Magherafelt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Magherafelt
Price Range: $119 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Terrace Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Terrace Hotel is centrally located in Northern Ireland halfway between the cities of Belfast and Derry. Only 30 minutes from Belfast International Airport and close to the main Ferry terminals, we are less than an hours drive from the north coast making us the ideal base for touring or business travel. Our newly renovated bar is the ideal spot to have a light lunch or evening meal, and has an extensive wine list to compliment any meal. Our sixteen modern bedrooms have wall mounted plasma televisions, complimentary high speed WiFi internet access, tea and coffee facilities and crisp white linen on king size beds to ensure a good nights sleep. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Terrace Hotel Magherafelt, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing