We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“First Class Cottage”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Waterfoot Cottage

Waterfoot Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Waterfoot Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
Waterfoot Cottage
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Magherafelt, County Londonderry, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jonathan...
East Molesey, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“First Class Cottage”
Reviewed June 14, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

From the warm welcome from Kathleen when we arrived though to the time of our departure we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Waterfoot Cottage. A homely and well kept cottage with all the facilities we needed. Located on the banks of Lough Neagh, it is centrally located - ideal for exploring Northern Ireland.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon262
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cottage with country charm!”
Reviewed October 19, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Waterfoot Cottage is set far back amongst the trees. It's a quiet little cottage with beautiful scenery and lovely walking tracks. The host Kathleen is extremely helpful and knows her way around the town. The cottage is set up with the necessities and with having children the wifi was a hit. Loved the stay :)

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeannette...
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous cottage, set in such tranquil suroundings”
Reviewed August 24, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

A fabulous week with our family and dog, perfectly situated for lots of surrounding visits, but also peaceful with a lovely walk along part of Lough Neagh and the variety of wildlife. Kathleen was very helpful and welcoming along with the lovely homemade scones! The cottage was very well equipped, warm and peaceful, we all slept really well! We also found the cows which came into the field behind very amusing as they tried to work our dog out!
Would recommend for anyone looking to visit Northern Ireland and wanting a good location also ideal for anyone looking for a retreat.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and cottage
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Briarsyde
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A hidden gem ... Waterfoot Cottage”
Reviewed August 10, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Waterfoot cottage is a hidden gem offering home from home comforts in beautiful surroundings. The cottage is immaculate, comfortable & very relaxing.
On arrival we were treat to homemade scones & jam. The fridge was filled with Butter, milk,orange juice, bacon & freshly laid eggs from the owners chickens. The cupboards held daily essentials, tea, coffee & sugar.
Kathleen the owner was very friendly & treat us as friends.
Our neighbours were a herd of very well behaved cows & two very friendly horses Holly & Star.
The cottage has its own Forrest with a large fishing lake & a beautiful walk.
Travelling by car it was easy to get to Belfast & Londonderry.
We had a fantastic week visiting The Giants Causeway, The Titanic experience, Crumlin Rd Victorian Gaol & Belfast for shopping/eating out.
The owner was very friendly & treat us as friends.
We would highly recommend Waterfoot Cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort & relaxation of cottage
Liked least: Having to leave after a fantastic week
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hallidayc...
Ballyclare, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed August 2, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We arrived to a happy welcome to from Kathleen and got to grips with the cottage. The cottage is beautiful spacious and makes a great setting for a relaxing trip away.home made scones jam bacon and orange juice beautiful . Wild flowers dressed all windows and rooms the personal touchs were amazing.we took our puppy with us he loved it. The walk are great the scenery is lovely the wildlife is in abundance. The lough and pond were great for fishing and paddling.The horses star and holly met us on every walk very friendly . Fantastic trip for all the family

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randal T
Calgary
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very charming and private with excellent owners.”
Reviewed July 28, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed here for two weeks. Kathleen and Henry were excellent and we enjoyed their friendship and guidance in the local area history and places to visit.
We would certainly recommend this as a great place to stay.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matrioska...
florence
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“countryside living”
Reviewed July 20, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We found Waterfoot Cottage on line and decided it was the place for us. Central to most of the things we wanted to see in Northern Ireland with great road connections, but still staying in the middle of the beautiful countryside.
The cottage was so cosy and comfortable,pretty and clean,with the most hospitable host ever ..Kathleen. She presented us with fresh eggs , home baked scones and in the week lava bread too! The location of the cottage was amazing, a five minute walk to the Lough,in company of Kathleen's adorable ponies,We were also lucky with the weather which was an added bonus.We can't recommend the 200 year old, cottage enough. I would recommend travelling by car.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing