We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Waterfoot Cottage

Waterfoot Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Waterfoot Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
Waterfoot Cottage
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Magherafelt, County Londonderry, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
hallidayc...
Ballyclare, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed August 2, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We arrived to a happy welcome to from Kathleen and got to grips with the cottage. The cottage is beautiful spacious and makes a great setting for a relaxing trip away.home made scones jam bacon and orange juice beautiful . Wild flowers dressed all windows and rooms the personal touchs were amazing.we took our puppy with us he loved it. The walk are great the scenery is lovely the wildlife is in abundance. The lough and pond were great for fishing and paddling.The horses star and holly met us on every walk very friendly . Fantastic trip for all the family

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randal T
Calgary
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very charming and private with excellent owners.”
Reviewed July 28, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed here for two weeks. Kathleen and Henry were excellent and we enjoyed their friendship and guidance in the local area history and places to visit.
We would certainly recommend this as a great place to stay.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matrioska...
florence
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“countryside living”
Reviewed July 20, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We found Waterfoot Cottage on line and decided it was the place for us. Central to most of the things we wanted to see in Northern Ireland with great road connections, but still staying in the middle of the beautiful countryside.
The cottage was so cosy and comfortable,pretty and clean,with the most hospitable host ever ..Kathleen. She presented us with fresh eggs , home baked scones and in the week lava bread too! The location of the cottage was amazing, a five minute walk to the Lough,in company of Kathleen's adorable ponies,We were also lucky with the weather which was an added bonus.We can't recommend the 200 year old, cottage enough. I would recommend travelling by car.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz B
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quite, cosy, incredibly clean comfort.”
Reviewed March 21, 2014 for a stay in March 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We booked Waterfoot Cottage for a week's stay after attending a family wedding. We wanted something central so we could visit the coast and Belfast and the wedding venue easily. It met these criteria perfectly.

Our host, who met us at the cottage, was incredibly helpful, and after she had left we found that not only was the fridge stocked with milk, butter, home-made scones, home-made jam etc. but also bacon and freshly-laid eggs! There was tea, coffee, cornflakes, all the things in the food cupboard you wouldn't want to be buying just for a week's stay. In addition she had kindly bought oat milk for the member of our party who can't drink cow's milk.

There were flowers in every room, extra blankets, a very thoughtfully thought-out supply of little things for emergencies in the airing cupboard. Wellies for walking in the lovely grounds and by the lake, in a huge of range of sizes, were in the outside store - with kindling, peat etc for the wonderful old stove.

Free Wifi - we were amazed by the attention to detail, and would recommend this cottage heartily to anyone, in fact, we already have.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mam51NewW...
New Westminster, Canada
1 review
“cottage at the lake”
Reviewed October 31, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

the cottage was all i dreamed it would be, a really comfy bed with beautiful linens, big tub to soak in, old wood burning stove in the living area and a great walk to the lake. the place is situated at the end of a small roadway which really gives you the away feeling but you are really close to everything. a great place for children to play.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything, the wood burning old stove, the bed, the darkness of the country
Liked least: no cows in the surrounding fields
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taja1502
Cork, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage close to a shore of Lough Neagh”
Reviewed October 31, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We just loved the place, and it is difficult to find perfect words how beautiful our stay was at
Kathleen's place :) On our arrival Kathleen left us with yummy and warm homemade scones and jam :) It was a good treat after a long day of travel :)
It is actually a perfect spot if you want to stay close to Giant Causeway but still close enough to Belfast but waking up in a vicinity of lakes and swans :)))
So if you have a car, it is a perfect spot, only 30 min on highway from Belfast and 45 min from Giant Causeway :)
We loved to wake up in the morning and take an early stroll to a lake, the estate has their own very well managed path to a lake and around :) Also there is a map in the house in case you are not sure where to go, but it is quite straightforward. Ah just beautiful. :)
Also there is a possibility of barbecue for barbecue lovers, which we are, and we actually barbecued for 2 evenings out of 3 :))
Thank you Kathleen!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: House was super clean and it has everything you might need :)
Liked least: not applicable, we like all
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frances W
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A beautiful, comfortable cottage in the heart of the Irish countryside allows you to escape to another way of life”
Reviewed August 8, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We loved staying here. Originally we booked it because it was close to a family reunion but we liked it much more than expected. We usually stay in towns but found the location of the cottage almost magical. I'd been planning things to do but found that you just slipped into a slower way of life. Walks to the lough and along the river were great.

The friendly and helpful owner left eggs and homemade scones as well as the usual welcome pack. The cottage was well furnished and decorated in keeping with the style, very well kept and atmospheric but still comfortable. The garden and window boxes are really beautiful and although it wasn't quite warm enough to sit out in the garden sipping wine in the early evening I could imagine it. Also liked the neighbours - some friendly bullocks!

This isn't just a country cottage; it gives you a real taste of country living.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Overall atmosphere
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing