We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Brysons

Brysons
Ranked #11 of 51 Restaurants in Magherafelt
Cuisines: British, Pub, Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Magherafelt, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

We called in one Sunday for the Sunday Lunch which I understood to be choices from a set menu. However it was a set menu of soup, beef and pavlova. The soup came and it was delicious. We were sitting at a table by the hatch and could see our main course sitting under the hot lamps for at least 5 minutes. So when it came the potatoes were too hot that they burnt my mouth, the vegetables were smush and the beef was dry and crispy. The pavlova was nice but quite a small portion. We were very disappointed as we have dined her before and had a lovely meal.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Audrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    19
    4
    5
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Magherafelt, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“horrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

me and my friends sat down to cold food which contained hair we will not be back and they call that place a restaruant

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank adele m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castledawson, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
“Good evening out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

was a bit late for Lunch and to early evening meal, but was told I could order what I want on the Lunch Menu or on the dinner menu, So Myself order off the dinner menu, We both had soup Christine then had Stuffed Roast Chicken and I had Sirlion Steak with all the trimmings Christine's chicken was brilliant while my Steak was fantastic plenty or Onions,Mushrooms, the sauce was great mashed potatoes & Chips only one word for our meal is Brilliant , as for the staff could not ask for any better Quick & friendly and all for a great price , will highly recommend Brysons

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Davidobrien52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magherafelt, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

Had a family meal tonight here and i have to say i was disappointed with my food, both my son and husband enjoyed their meal but im afraid to say mine was disappointing. I ordered chicken strips for starter, which consisted of only 2 pieces of chicken that looked like they had been deep fryed because of the oil covering them. The small salad alongside them did not look fresh. My main meal was cod with chips, the chips came covered with salt and pepper ! One bite of them and my mouth felt like it was on fire ! When i complained, the waitress came and took them away to replace them with chips without anything on them. When the plate was brought back to my table five minutes later i found my fish was cold an my new chips roasting hot ! the fish obviously had not been kept warm while they replaced my chips. I have been for meals here before and had never had this problem before. It has put me off going back again as the staff didnt even bother to ask was the meal was okay when we paid for it. Obviously customer service wasnt very important tonight !

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mandy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magherafelt, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

my husband and i went to brysons for a meal last week. the waiting staff were quick to bring menus and take drinks orders and we didn't have to wait long for our food. staff were attentive and friendly as were the owners. great atmosphere and the food is definitely a treat. good selection of food available and all homemade. great atmosphere and well worth a visit especially for the louisiana chicken. highly recommended

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brysons also viewed

Magherafelt, County Londonderry
Magherafelt, County Londonderry
 
Magherafelt, County Londonderry
Magherafelt, County Londonderry
 
Magherafelt, County Londonderry
Magherafelt, County Londonderry
 

Been to Brysons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing