We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“scary drops”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Jungle

The Jungle
Ranked #1 of 15 things to do in Magherafelt
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The Jungle is Northern Ireland's leading outdoor adventure and offers an exciting choice of adrenaline-packed adventure activities, exhilarating events, catering and conference facilities, onsite Glamping accommodation and and off-site Residential Center. Nestled in an enchanting woodland in the heart of Northern Ireland, The Jungle is just 45 minutes from Belfast or Derry/Londonderry, and offers the perfect location to engage with life and put to test your sense of adventure. The Jungle is open 7 days per week, suitable for any group size and offers a little something for everyone. Please note all activities/events must be booked in advance. You can enquire/book online at The Jungle's website.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Food available for purchase, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“scary drops”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

went with four kids aged 17, 15,13 and 12. They loved this place especially the tree top experience. Make sure you have the stew for lunch before the challenge. For a couple of pounds it is well worth it, the stew was lovely. Will definitely go back again.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    22
    3
    1
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Ripped off”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Had a good time doing the tree top climb but got totally ripped off when we decided to stay the night. Paid for a cabin (7 of us) other cabins were taken by a large group so we kept ourselves to ourselves.

Other group had paid for the hot tub (and had made a mess to be honest) They invited us in which 3 of us did for 5 mins - the other group stayed in late, well after we went into our cabin.

Guess what happened next morning...WE lost our deposit because the other group had made a mess. How does that work? No questions asked just told we wouldn't be getting our cash back. Total rip off. We were well behaved, considerate and spent a lot of cash. Don't trust them with a deposit. Manager was rude with the attitude like "I've got your cash, I make the rules" Shame because the other staff seemed nice.

Wouldn't stay again.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank Brittravellerworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJungleNI, Manager at The Jungle, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to provide your feedback and I apologise that you felt your Glamping experience at The Jungle to be disappointing.

Deposits are only every held in extreme circumstances when customers have caused mess, damage and destruction to Jungle property or used certain facilities (e.g. the Hot Tubs) without permission. There is a copy of the Glamping Pod Rules in each pod which clearly details the code of conduct expected of all customers when Glamping. To date there have been only 3 occasions when customers did not have their security deposit returned to them.

On each occasion a full explanation, as to why the deposit was not being return, was provided by staff and no complaints or protests were received from the customers/group at the time – had you expressed your concerns, as detailed above, at the time of the incident we would have been more than happy to further discuss it and reach a mutually favourable solution. As it stands your deposit was withheld in good faith that you, or persons belonging to your group, had used the hot tub without consent and been part of the situation which resulted in damage to Jungle property and glass and rubbish being left in and around the hot tubs area. This was explained to both parties the following morning and was not disputed or contested by any member of your party at the time.

There was smashed glass in the hot tubs following the night in question. Not only did this render the hot tubs out of action and unavailable to serve all the customers who had booked them for the following day, but we were forced to shoulder the burden of the additional costs entailed with cleaning, cleansing and reheating the tubs and finding an extra staff member to do this work.

I understand that you are frustrated and am disappointed that you consider Glamping to be a ‘rip-off’ but just as we are concerned and committed to customer safety and satisfaction, so too are we are committed to safeguarding our facilities and property so that others may be able to avail of, and enjoy, our services.

Kind regards,
The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“An unreal place to go”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

A fantastic place to go for almost any occasion. The staff are terrific and the range of activities are second to none. The staff will always try and do you the best deal possible.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank R1L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great set up an dlovely staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

Just back from a weekend at The Jungle and we had an amazing time! The glamping area is very well set up and the bbq huts are brilliant. The activities were so much fun - I absolutely loved the tree top adventure and the zorbing, and zipping around on the segways was a great way to experience the forest! Torrential rain on Saturday didn't dampen anyone's spirits and the paintballing went ahead regardless.

All the great activities are made all the better by the wonderful staff - there were all friendly, fun and up for a good time. They made our stay - thanks so much!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank lightup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
n.ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Kids Tree Top Adventure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We went here on Saturday with my four kids aged 11,10, 8 and 6. We had booked to do the Tree Top Adventure through the Outdoor NI Adventure Weekend but it was cancelled due to bad weather. The Jungle were very accommodating and were very happy to give us a new date when it suited us. It was a lovely day and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The kids had an hour on the tree adventure and were literally zipping round it in no time. My 11 year old was just a little bit big and didn't find it as big a challenge. My other younger children had a blast! A brilliant way for kids to get exercise and fresh air.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank maryedN_ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Jungle also viewed

Magherafelt, County Londonderry
Magherafelt, County Londonderry
 
Moneymore, County Londonderry
 

Been to The Jungle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing