We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't miss out on this B&B in the heart of N. Ireland!”

Clearwater House B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Magherafelt
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Clearwater House B&B
Ranked #3 of 5 Magherafelt B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Don't miss out on this B&B in the heart of N. Ireland!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

All we can say is WOW! Bernie and Robert made us feel at home right from the start of our stay. The accommodations were excellent, as was the full Irish Breakfasts that were served by both hosts. They also provided us a lift to the town centre and back, so we could enjoy dinners and drinks at local estabishments without worrying about driving. Clearly this B&B is a hidden gem, not to be missed by travelers researching family heritage or wandering through the natural beauty of Northern Ireland's countryside and rugged coastal areas.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Recycle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
40
16
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

This is by far the best stay away for work i have had. The comfort ,cleanliness and hospitality were superb as was the breakfast. I still can`t get over how cheap the rooms are!!!
even the wifi is free.The so called big hotel chains are left in the shade when compared to Clearwater House.

Many thanks to Robert and Bernie for making a working week seem like a holiday.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brian t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

Bernie and Robert could not have done more to make us feel welcome...from the greeting at the door, to the rooms to the delicious breakfast... we didnt want for anything. It was a most enjoyable stay, with very friendly people and we would certainly highly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 2 ... Which has a great roomy shower! Very appreciated especially by my husband...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

Had a super nice stay at clearwaterhouse during my cycle race the Tour of Ulster. Many thanks to Bernie and Robert (and Tyson), who were super nice and friendly. Food excellent and they catered to my needs beyond the norms for my cycling weekend, which was really super because it meant i could relax in quite and comfort after the race. The rooms were all really clean and comfortable and the whole place quiet and relaxing. GS

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank george s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

To say that my stay at the Clearwater House was immaculate would be an immense understatement. The house isn't only beautiful - it's impeccably clean, comfortable and located on a beautiful piece of land about 5 minutes outside of Magherafelt.

The rooms are huge with the oh-so-comfortable beds you dream about when you're on holiday. A great night's sleep is just about guaranteed, especially when the only noise you hear once the sun goes down is the quiet hum of the occasional car passing by on the highway and the quiet chirping of nature's nocturnal critters.

Great TVs (although I barely watched them, especially with the beautiful countryside all around you and the need see as much as I could) and easily accessible free Wi-Fi throughout the house for all your computer / smartphone needs. If you're the good 'ol fashioned desktop type, no need to worry - they've got a desktop PC at your disposal. A bookshelf adorns the entrance with a huge collection of old and new reading selections, with a smaller bookshelf chock full of brochures, maps, places to go and so much more.

If you're looking for the type of Irish breakfast you've dreamt about, you'll find it at the Clearwater House. Not only is it the best breakfast I've ever had, but everything is of top-notch quality and freshness. Homemade breads, perfectly cooked farm-fresh eggs, outstanding rashers, delicious coffee, delicate yet flavorful white pudding and beautifully ripe tomatoes dance all over your palate from first to last bite - being full from breakfast never felt so good!

I'd like to finish by giving Bernice, Richard and Tyson (one of the coolest dogs I've ever met) the utmost thanks and appreciation for being the most gracious, humble and hospitable hosts I've ever met in my entire life. Not only could they write the book on how to run the best B&B in Ireland, they genuinely cared about every aspect of my stay - what time I wanted to have breakfast, how my night's sleep was, how the search for my ancestors was going, my life back in the US, and even remembering that Digestives are my favorite snack and going out of their way to get me a small plate full of biscuits before I went to bed and all things in between.

They are the true definition of benevolence and I'll never forget my stay at the Clearwater House.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Drewzilla1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton on Tees
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

Stayed with Robert and Bernie again over the weekend of 25th April/28th April and as usual was treat like family. These are the nicest people to stay with over in Northern Ireland and they look after you very well indeed. The rooms are kept clean and the breakfast will keep you going most of the day(as do the beans!). A lift into town each evening so no bother with drinking and driving.This has been my fifth time at Clearwater and I see no reason to try anywhere else when I visit Northern Ireland.

Room Tip: The room at the front of house has the sunshine bursting through the windows in the morning while th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alanbrown46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaghan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Stayed here week nights while working in the area for a couple of months.
Very homely and welcoming. Bernie and Robert were more than welcoming and I was completely relaxed and at home during my stay which is nice to be able to really unwind after work.
Would definitely recommend anyone to stay here. Its in a good location too for accessing alot of Northern Ireland.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank p2900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Magherafelt
8.9 mi away
Apparo Restaurant & Hotel
Apparo Restaurant & Hotel
#1 of 1 in Draperstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
8.2 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#2 of 10 in Cookstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
5.5 mi away
White River House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Glenavon House Hotel
Glenavon House Hotel
#1 of 10 in Cookstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
14.3 mi away
Dunsilly Hotel
Dunsilly Hotel
#1 of 3 in Antrim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
5.4 mi away
Dewhamill
Dewhamill
#2 of 5 in Magherafelt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clearwater House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clearwater House B&B

Property: Clearwater House B&B
Address: 11A Ballymulligan Road, Magherafelt BT45 6ES, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Magherafelt
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Magherafelt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Irish countryside near the shores of Lough Neagh. An ideal base for touring Northern Ireland. All bedrooms en suite including one with disabled facilities. Free transport to and from Magherafelt. Breakfast served until noon. Private off street parking. Large garden. Free transport to and from Castledawson to facilitate those using the Airporter Bus Service. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Clearwater House B&B Magherafelt, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing