We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is truly a very special place.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Brooke-Lodge Guesthouse
Ranked #4 of 4 Magherafelt B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 6, 2008

We have just returned from a stay in Brooke Lodge and felt compelled to tell people about this very special place. The owners and all the staff were so friendly and obliging from the moment we called to make the reservation until we departed.
The bedrooms were gorgeous and extremely comfortable. Every area of Brooke Lodge was spotless and clean, the service was top class, they even washed some items of our clothing for no extra cost.
Our evening meal and breakfast were best i ever had, better than any restaurant or hotel.
I would highly recommend Brooke Lodge, it has a magical atmosphere to it. I cannot wait to return, as it is definitely the best place i have ever stayed in by far.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank annie1mayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 79 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2008

Mrs O'Neill gave a very helpful reply to our email before we arrived. She and her husband were very welcoming on our arrival and our room with en-suite was big, comfortable, quiet, bright and spotless.
Breakfast was perfect. If you choose the full Ulster fry-up you may need a doggy-bag. Excellent value for money, and handy if arriving in Belfast (45 minutes' drive away) in the evening en route for Donegal etc. Magherafelt is a busy little town, I wouldn't say it's a tourist spot, but Lough Neagh is close, & the Giant's Causeway is not too far away (we drove there next morning).

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Walter_Wall-Lyneaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2008

This is an excellent 3-star property. There are about 5 or 6 rooms in the guest house, all rooms ensuite and have direct dial phones, television, hairdryer, tea & coffee making faciiities. The facility is non-smoking. Breakfast is wonderful. Martina is a good cook and great hostess. Full Irish Breakfasts mean that you don't need lunch!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank A-Scots-Irish-Brown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2008

Brooke-lodge Guesthouse Magherafelt.
This is an excellent place to stay in Ireland,I have been with my familly here for the last two years and will continue to stay there.The hosts Martina and Eamon are very frendly and nothing is to much trouble for them.The rooms are clean,comfortable and a good night sleep is a definate.There is a wide choice of food for breakfast and the food is delicous.The whole guesthouse is VERY clean and I would recommend anybody to stop there.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ColinLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2008

The high-light for accommodation on our Northern Ireland cycling tour was at Brooke-lodge,Magherafelt.Martina and Eamonn provided a warm welcome on arrival.Our room,with jacuzzi bath and large plasma screen tv. soothed away the strains of the day.We got good advice for evening food in the town and a beer to set us up for the next day - following a full Irish breakfast with porridge.Being in the trade,including arranging many holidays and assessing accommodation in S.W.Scotland,I can recommend Brooke-lodge as good value and a superior place to stay while in Northern Ireland.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Galloway-Scot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2008

I would definetly recommend this guesthouse. The owners were very friendly and helpful. They recommended a great Restaurant in Magherafelt, where the food was excellent. The place was very clean and the rooms were lovely. Motorbike friendly, good car park. Breakfast was great. All in all a lovely break, would stay again.10/10.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank AslanBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2008

We would have enjoyed our stay here except for the traffic noise. The building appears to be fairly new and is very nice. The rooms are large and comfortable and the food delicious. There is a large plasma TV in the room. However the traffic noise was very loud and kept us awake at night. If you don't mind noise it's a lovely place. If noise bothers you don't stay here.

  • Stayed: February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cathymcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Brooke-Lodge Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brooke-Lodge Guesthouse

Address: Augrhim Road 2 Laurelbrook, Magherafelt BT45 6NT, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Magherafelt
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Magherafelt
Price Range: $91 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Brooke-Lodge Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Brooke-Lodge Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brooke-Lodge Guesthouse Magherafelt, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing