We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Superb accommodation in a beautiful setting”
other travelers have booked this property
The original farmhouse (Elm cottage)  at Barnwell restored to its former glory
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The original farmhouse (Elm cottage)  at Barnwell restored to its former glory
Elm kitchen Elm twin bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
The original farmhouse (Elm cottage)  at Barnwell restored to its former glory
Elm kitchen
Elm twin bedroom
Summer outside Clover cottage
Brooks bedroom en suite
Brooks lounge
Brooks kitchen
Autumn garden outside Clover cottage
View from Flax cottage
Games/Function room
Games/Function room
Flax cottage lounge
Clover cottage
Barley cottage
Barley kitchen area
Barnwell Logo
Games Room set up for function
Our new fishing lake
Nearby Mt.Stewart gardens in spring
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Greyabbey, County Down, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
RICHARDF1...
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Superb accommodation in a beautiful setting”
Reviewed October 25, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Stayed here for 3 nights, whilst attending my sons wedding. The accommodation was exceptionally clean and comfortable. Both the caretakers and owner were extremely helpful and ensured we had a fantastic stay.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 27, 2017
So glad you enjoyed your stay. It is always a pleasure to host a group who are so pleasant and determined to enjoy themselves.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharzieCh...
Chania
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely, comfortable cottages surrounded by beautiful countryside”
Reviewed August 15, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We rented two cottages for a week and had a great time. The cottages were very well equipped and very comfortable.The couple who looked after the cottages are very pleasant and very helpful. We had a birthday party in the games room and it was a great success. Will definitely book again if we return to County Down.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katezxx
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely Cottages”
Reviewed July 11, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Stayed here with friends in the large cottage. Had everything we needed, large and comfortable. Lovely scenic surroundings. Games room well equipped and a very reasonable price for the week

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Our wedding”
Reviewed June 11, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We held our wedding and ceremony at Barnwell Farm Cottages on Saturday 10th June 2017.
We hired all 7 cottages for 2 nights for our guests.
The owners and on site managers could not have been more helpful.
All cottages and surroundings are beautiful and very comfy.

We had a dreadful experience with the marquee we hired (from a completely seperate company) and had to rearrange all our plans as it collapsed in the night and we then decorated the games room to hold our ceremony and it turned out really lovely.
Outside the games room we had a bbq company set up for dinner and had hay bales scattered round for seating in the courtyard.

Thanks to Barnwell we had a lovely weekend and we were blessed with sunshine all afternoon.

Emma and Ryan xo

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coalpoint...
newcastlensw
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Clean and comfy cottages, great base for local golf!”
Reviewed October 16, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We were a group of 4 couples and needed a base for a primarily golfing week in County Down. We rented two cottages (Elm and Brooks) with two couples in each and had a fabulous time. The cottages were clean and comfortable, and the location was good for us, as we needed to drive to a variety of golf courses anyway. (Not so good if you want to walk, although bicycles would, I think, be OK.) We cooked for the whole group most nights, in Elm, and found we had all the cooking and dining facilities we needed ( and onsite manager David and his wife Sarah were very friendly and accommodating when we transferred a few dishes etc between cottages!) We needed the laundry - which has a cost, but not too much. Didn't really use the games room. Wifi was good - which was essential for our group. There are a couple of short walks around the farm, which were nice enough but a little unkempt, and only a couple of km long.
A very nice touch was the folder explaining the history of the cottages and the deliberate retention / inclusion of some of the original features - it seemed to us that the renovations were done with sensitivity and care, and the result is charming.
A final bright spot for our group was the offer from the owner, Michael, of some discounted golf vouchers for a local course. which we were very happy to use.
Overall, the cottages are very nice and, at the price we paid, were a 5 star experience.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael K
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a pleasure !”
Reviewed June 2, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Just returned having spent two brilliant nights at this beautiful spot. Had the pleasure of sharing with family and friends while attending my son's wedding in nearby Orange Tree House in Greyabbey. Cannot praise these cottages too highly. Spotlessly clean and comfortable. Glorious setting. Booked all seven cottages and we had a ball. Special mention goes out to Manager David and his wife Sarah for being such fabulous hosts. Nothing too much trouble for them as they go that extra mile to please their guests. Also a big thank you to owners Michael and Vi for stopping by and making sure everything was going well. I would highly recommend this complex to anyone. Look forward to returning some day.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judith L
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Wedding guests”
Reviewed July 22, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Stayed her whilst visiting Northern Ireland for a friends wedding , lovely cottages I had an elderly relative with me we had the cottage for the disabled , good wet room tidy and clean cottage but not that comfortable location is remote and peaceful no wifi in the cottage had to go to the games room all the time which wasn't great

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Wifi acess
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 6, 2016
We have up graded the wi fi signal recently with an outside booster so the as well as the games room all 7 cottages have a good wi fi signal inside.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing