We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Out of this world”
other travelers have booked this property
The original farmhouse (Elm cottage)  at Barnwell restored to its former glory
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The original farmhouse (Elm cottage)  at Barnwell restored to its former glory
Elm kitchen Elm twin bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
The original farmhouse (Elm cottage)  at Barnwell restored to its former glory
Elm kitchen
Elm twin bedroom
Summer outside Clover cottage
Brooks bedroom en suite
Brooks lounge
Brooks kitchen
Autumn garden outside Clover cottage
View from Flax cottage
Games/Function room
Games/Function room
Flax cottage lounge
Clover cottage
Barley cottage
Barley kitchen area
Barnwell Logo
Games Room set up for function
Our new fishing lake
Nearby Mt.Stewart gardens in spring
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Greyabbey, County Down, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
janirog01
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Average.”
Reviewed December 3, 2012 for a stay in October 2012

I have read the other reviews and I'm struggling to understand the superlatives.
We are a family of four and we stayed recently. The cottage was clean although the bathroom basin area was a bit suspect. The shower was only hot for one person then went cold. The beds are comfortable but they are covered with big throws which are not needed, they look nice but they are obviousely not washed after every guest as the duvet cover would be. The kitchen was OK but not equiped with basics like wash up liquid and dishwasher tabs. The TV was antiquated and didn't work at all, when we pointed this out upon departure we were told that they knew this and the TV repair man was booked in. All said, it wasn't expensive, I suppose you get what you pay for.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharonuk1...
London
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Out of this world”
Reviewed June 15, 2012 for a stay in June 2012
3
people found this review helpful

What a fantastic place to stay. Very central to reach all the beautiful sites to be seen. The accommodation is excellent and so is the owner Michael and his manager Ann. Nothing is too much for them. Shall definitely return. Would recommend to everyone.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colinbird...
N Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Superb, Superb”
Reviewed October 16, 2011 for a stay in September 2011
4
people found this review helpful

We stayed in the Flax Cottage and thoroughly enjoyed it. It was spotless, quiet,cosy, pretty much perfect. Michael was very nice and helpful. Also a bird-watchers dream. Michael is very modest, but he actually won a prestigious RSPB award for combining farming with birdlife, in these grounds. Thanks for a wonderful holiday.
Tips - The cottage retains heat very well, so dont go overboard on the heating. If you dont like light waking you in morning, maybe bring a portable blackout blind- existing ones are quite light.In Greyabbey go to Hoops for breakfast and Wildfowler Inn for dinner. Birds - Yellowhammers and Tree Sparrows on fields.And allow plenty of nights when booking as there is so much to see and do.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathmoret
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a fantastic place for a relaxing break”
Reviewed July 7, 2011 for a stay in April 2011
4
people found this review helpful

We stayed in the cottages and loved every minute. It was perfect for our two year old with a variety of animals on hand, all the equipment you could possibly need and a fantastic games barn to keep us all happy and busy. We stayed before pre-children and it was equally good with a log fire, comfortable bedrooms, really well equipped kitchens and everything of a very high standard. We can't wait to go back.

Value Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveller...
Preston
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Welcoming, relaxing and friendly. A wonderful place to stay.”
Reviewed July 7, 2011 for a stay in July 2011
4
people found this review helpful

We have stayed at these cottages quite a few times, visiting family locally, and found them to be lovely and welcoming no matter what the season. In winter the wood burning stoves (with free wood) are great, and in summer the lovely, peaceful location is gorgeous.
This time, we booked the whole place for a family reunion. Michael and Vi couldn’t have been more helpful, and nor could Anne, the housekeeper. Everyone thought the cottages were kept to a really high standard, and the games room provided entertainment for the young – and some of the not so young!
The rural setting is lovely, but so close to Strangford Lough on one side, and the beaches of the peninsula on the other. Some of the younger/braver members of the party went for a swim on Ballywalter beach.
All in all, wonderfully comfortable cottages in a great location, with extremely helpful owners and housekeeper. We will be back!

Value Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eatonsof6...
Hobart, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Simply superb!”
Reviewed June 9, 2011 for a stay in June 2011
4
people found this review helpful

Barnwell Farm Cottages are simply the best. We stayed with our two younger children for 10 days and it was definitely a home away from home. We stayed in Brooks Cottage which we found to be extremely comfortable and well appointed - we even had a large family gathering with no worries at all. Anne was always on hand to provide advice and Michael couldn't have made us feel more welcome. I would highly recommend these cottages to anyone who would like a bit of peace, quiet and space. They are close to Newtownards and not that far from Belfast itself. There is so much to do in the local area, we could have stayed a month.

Value Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lievenort...
Northern Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to get married!!!!”
Reviewed August 3, 2009 for a stay in July 2009
4
people found this review helpful

My now husband and me got married here and rented all the cottages for our friends and family to stay. We have also been able to use one of the fields to put up a big marquee for the big day. The cottages are excellent and everybody just loved their stay! The cottages and surroundings are up to a high standard and all kept verry clean. It was fantastic to get married here and have friends and family stay for a week, which made it al so much more relaxing. Anne, the keeper, was verry helpfull and extremely friendly! If you are looking for a nice relaxing trip to northern ireland and a good base to discover it from don't miss out on this place!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing