We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best part of trip”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Greyabbey
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Retreat Greyabbey Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Greyabbey B&B and Inns
Auburn, Maine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best part of trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

The most memorable part of out trip to Northern Ireland was out stay with Barbara and Bill at The Retreat. From the moment we arrived we felt right at home. The room was spacious with lovely views and the breakfasts were delicious. The best part was spending time with Barbara and Bill next to the fire in the evening enjoying a glass of wine. No trip to Northern Ireland would be complete without a visit to the Retreat…...

Room Tip: There were no bad rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LittleFreddyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
30
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Montana
Level Contributor
147 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

From the moment my granddaughter and I walked through the door of the Retreat, we felt like part of the family. Bill and Barbara are so much fun...and they couldn't be more considerate and kind. Their attention to detail in preparing the rooms is remarkable. Who irons sheets anymore??? From the generously provisioned tea tray to the range of luxurious products in the bathroom, you want for nothing! And the robes were so soft and fluffy we didn't want to get out of them.

Because we arrived after a long flight and drive, Bill made dinner for us. Delicious! Be sure to ask Bill and Barbara to eat with you. Even though we were tired, we wound up talking late into the evening because we were having so much fun. And be sure to ask Bill for a sample "performance." Another memorable moment in an unforgettable two days.

Another great feature is that Barbara does Swedish massage and Reflexology. If we'd had a bit more time, we would certainly have taken advantage of that.

I could go on and on, but suffice to say that all the 5 star reviews are spot on. If you live in Ireland, there couldn't be a better place than the Retreat to spend a relaxing few days. And if you live elsewhere, it's still worth the effort to get to the Ards Peninsula just to spend a few pampered days with a lovely couple.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BitterrootTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antrim, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

We have just returned from our second stay with Barbara and Bill in as many months - we couldn't wait to come back. We'd spend every weekend here if we could! Where to start?! Very caring and attentive hosts, beautiful rooms with everything you could possibly need, gorgeous breakfasts, peaceful and calm location yet still only 5 minutes' drive from Greyabbey. Barbara is a very talented reflexology and massage therapist and from our personal experience any opportunity to have a treatment should not be passed up. Barbara and Bill, thanks a million for everything, see you again very soon. Paul & Margaret

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank McAllister P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

We found a real gem of a B&B last year and returned again this year. The Cream room which was our room, was really lovely, so comfortable and spacious with great attention to detail. We loved sitting in the "hall" by the lovely wood burning fire enjoying a glass (or two) of wine after a day spent exploring the local area. Bill and Barbara know all the best places to visit and they recommend local restaurants too! In fact you could not ask more of any hosts they really go the extra mile to make their guests stay at the Retreat one to remember. Thank you both, we will be back soon. Stevie & Patti

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Wickham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

A superb B&B - just like a home from home. Staying with Barbara & Bill is like staying with friends - they make you so welcome. The room was really lovely with fluffy robes & towels and a choice of luxurious shower products. Will definitely be back....

Julie S

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

Sensational stay with the relaxation package. Amazing food and barb and bill were excellent hosts. Would go back in a heartbeat. Great treatments and what a lovely place. A real pamper holiday complete with great craic,great company and fab time had by all.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carmel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

By the time we arrived I felt we already knew Barbara and Bill. The plan was for a weekend of relaxing and that's exactly what we got. We were impressed by the quality of the rooms - little tastes of luxury all around. the extensive menu did not disappoint - a friendly, fine dining experience. And if you are looking to remove the stresses of the world - Barbara's therapies work wonders. Barbara and Bill can also advise where to go for days out - but one top tip; spend some time at the Abbey. All in all just what we were looking for! Thank you both.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bankfoot2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greyabbey
9.2 mi away
Strangford Arms Hotel
Strangford Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newtownards
3.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
10.2 mi away
Portaferry Hotel
Portaferry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portaferry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
11.2 mi away
Clandeboye Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
La Mon Hotel & Country Club
3.1 mi away
Shoreline at Mount Stewart
Shoreline at Mount Stewart
#2 of 3 in Greyabbey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Old Schoolhouse Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Retreat Greyabbey Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Retreat Greyabbey Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Retreat Greyabbey Bed & Breakfast
Address: 13A Blackabbey Road | County Down, Greyabbey BT22 2RH, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Greyabbey
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Greyabbey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Retreat Bed & Breakfast (Greyabbey) is a quiet country house situated in the heart of the Ards Peninsula and minutes from the beautiful Strangford Lough and surrounding area. We currently have 3 bedrooms all with ensuite/private bathrooms, a breakfast room, dining room and lounge area. Close to the excellent Kirkistown Golf Club we can offer golf weekend packages. We also offer Relaxation breaks with massage or reflexology treatments and winter Murder Mystery weekend breaks. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Retreat Greyabbey Bed & Breakfast Northern Ireland - County Down

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing