We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
  
Reviews (26)
Filter reviews
26 results
Traveler rating
17
8
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
17
8
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews historical information cistercian monastery donation ruins volunteers visitors grounds
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 26 reviews
Reviewed October 26, 2019

We saw the village of Greyabbey on Bargain Hunt and decided that if we were ever in NI, then we would visit. We ended up in Greyabbey earlier this year and we were very glad that we did.
We started by checking out all the antiques shops in the village and spending a few hundred pounds (we had travelled over by ferry with an empty car boot for this purpose!) We did discover that many of the shops are only open towards the end of the week, so if you are visiting solely for the antiques then ensure that you go on a Friday or Saturday (definitely not on Sunday!)
We then went to visit the Abbey and found ourselves to be the only visitors. It is in a peaceful setting and we spent a happy half hour wandering around in the sunshine, absorbing the calming atmosphere. There is no entrance fee, but we were able to provide a donation at the small allotment just inside the entrance.

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank chillinb30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2019

Beautiful !!!
Grounds are wonderfully maintained. Tours and historical information is readily available.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank jvarley393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2019 via mobile

Over 900 years old and still standing proud. Stunning ruins of a once important Cistercian priory which I find mesmerising in all weathers. There's a great wee museum on site and lovely gardens too. The Friends of Greyabbey are always on hand to impart information and manage events on site.
A superb relic of our past and only a stone's throw from some fantastic pubs and restaurants.

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank ciarzg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2019

If you come to see the abbey ruins be sure to visit all the great antique stores on Main Street and Antique Alley. So much variety plus fun visiting with the store owners and merchants.

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank TravelingMac60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2019

A wee hidden gem located to the north of Greyabbey village the “Abbey” built in 1193 is in a fair state with a large proportion of the remains to be seen. Some interesting features to be seen. Now run but a band of local volunteers who are extremely knowledgeable and dedicated to maintaining the grounds and physic garden with its multitude of herds. The Abbey sits in a lovely parkland and with its dedicated interpretative centre offers a great place for an hour or two visit or a picnic.

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank Boyd I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews