We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“This accommodation is wonderful!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Other Place

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Holmfirth, West Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Judith An...
1 review
“This accommodation is wonderful!”
Reviewed December 2, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We absolutely love this accommodation. It is cosy, clean and in a great location for country and town. In walking distance to a lovely pub with a micro brewery. Kate, the owner, is very friendly and helpful and adds some special welcoming touches. We've visited more than once and will be doing so again

The Rice Family

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex United Kingdom
Reviewed November 9, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 30, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Linda E
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Well equipped cosy cottage”
Reviewed September 26, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Cosy and comfortable,although a tad dark in the living room for us. Kate has thought of everything when she equipped the cottage.Excellent.
Would have liked more useable outside space. A gate at the front would also be good as it's directly onto a road and with a dog( or children) it would be safer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
idasid
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful experience!”
Reviewed May 31, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My wife, daughter, son in-law, and I stayed here for a weekend, and wished it could have been longer. Kate was welcoming, friendly, and helpful. The cottage is charming and comfortable, and the views are gorgeous. It is a perfect spot for two couples or a small family. The kitchen is well equipped, the beds were comfortable, and Kate even left eggs, bread, milk, butter, and jam for us. Even the drive to the area is beautiful, if a little nerve-wracking the first time - for American drivers like us. Once we had the hang of it, we were fine. Our sat nav took us past the place at first, but Kate talked us in by phone and was at the house to greet us. We can't thank her enough for such a wonderful holiday!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judith H
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“fantastic holiday cottage-we will be back!”
Reviewed April 13, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We had a lovely holiday in the Other Place. It is full of character, well equipped and excellent value for money. The location is gorgeous and the welcome pack from Kate delicious and much appreciated. Great for families, though not pre-school age children. Our 2 loved it and we kept finding them reading in the library :). Thanks Kate, we intend to return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the views, the comfort, the books
Liked least: going home!
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Familyfiv...
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Welcoming and homely cottage”
Reviewed April 1, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

My sons and I were warmly welcomed by Kate to a delightful cottage exactly as described. The amenities in the cottage are execellent and met all our needs. The pub is a short walk away and Holmfirth provides for all other necessities. There is lots to do in the area and Kate recommended local circular walks which meant the car could stay out outside the cottage. I highly recommend the cottage and the location and hope to return as my only regret is that we couldn't stay longer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quality of the facilities and furnishings
Liked least: Not being able to walk for groceries
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing