We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful experience!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Other Place

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Holmfirth, West Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
idasid
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful experience!”
Reviewed May 31, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My wife, daughter, son in-law, and I stayed here for a weekend, and wished it could have been longer. Kate was welcoming, friendly, and helpful. The cottage is charming and comfortable, and the views are gorgeous. It is a perfect spot for two couples or a small family. The kitchen is well equipped, the beds were comfortable, and Kate even left eggs, bread, milk, butter, and jam for us. Even the drive to the area is beautiful, if a little nerve-wracking the first time - for American drivers like us. Once we had the hang of it, we were fine. Our sat nav took us past the place at first, but Kate talked us in by phone and was at the house to greet us. We can't thank her enough for such a wonderful holiday!

Date of stay: May 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judith H
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“fantastic holiday cottage-we will be back!”
Reviewed April 13, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We had a lovely holiday in the Other Place. It is full of character, well equipped and excellent value for money. The location is gorgeous and the welcome pack from Kate delicious and much appreciated. Great for families, though not pre-school age children. Our 2 loved it and we kept finding them reading in the library :). Thanks Kate, we intend to return!

Date of stay: April 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the views, the comfort, the books
Liked least: going home!
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Familyfiv...
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Welcoming and homely cottage”
Reviewed April 1, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

My sons and I were warmly welcomed by Kate to a delightful cottage exactly as described. The amenities in the cottage are execellent and met all our needs. The pub is a short walk away and Holmfirth provides for all other necessities. There is lots to do in the area and Kate recommended local circular walks which meant the car could stay out outside the cottage. I highly recommend the cottage and the location and hope to return as my only regret is that we couldn't stay longer.

Date of stay: March 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quality of the facilities and furnishings
Liked least: Not being able to walk for groceries
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beckaroo...
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gem of a cottage & lovely, welcoming owner”
Reviewed February 24, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We loved our weekend at this beautiful cottage! We used this to extend a trip to the nearby Titanic Spa, and it complemented our relaxing break beautifully. Kate is a great host who met us at the cottage and left us some lovely bread, milk, local marmalade and eggs fresh from her hens. We enjoyed indian takeout one evening, and another we cooked in the well-equipped kitchen. Kate had thought about all the little things - there was even a nice cosy blanket to snuggle under by the fire.
There were plenty of places to walk and explore in the area - we could have stayed much longer!

Date of stay: February 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel A
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic cottage”
Reviewed December 8, 2015 for a stay in December 2015

This cottage is an absolute gem..
Lovely welcome from Kate & the welcome pack of fresh bread, eggs & milk was much appretiated.
The cottage is quirky & very homely, with a log burner for a toasty warm night after a long walk with the dog. Its in a great location, nice & quite (fab nights sleep!!) great for walking & cycling. We will definately be back on our next visit to the Yorkshire

Date of stay: December 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornishdr...
Cornwall, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful stay in a beautiful cottage”
Reviewed December 7, 2015 for a stay in December 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed our visit to The Other Place, it had everything we needed for our stay, especially with 3 dogs. We received a warm welcome from Kate and some goodies to start us off with, which were appreciated. The cottage is very cosy and has everything you need. There are good walks around the surrounding area and a welcoming local pub/restaurant which is well worth a visit, a few minutes from the cottage. Would definitely return to this cottage.

Date of stay: December 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The homeliness of the cottage
Liked least: A small gated garden because of having dogs, as it's on the road side
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara C
Mersyside
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Quirky cottage, great short break!”
Reviewed October 30, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Previously stayed in Millpond Cottage, also owned by Kate and Steve. Both fantastic cottages, great locations.
Stayed in The Other Place with my daughter and granddaughter, and 2 dogs. (No extra charge for the dogs). Quirky cottage, like a tardis inside! Everything you could possibly need in a self catering cottage, beautifully decorated. A warm welcome from the owner, a great welcome pack of wine, bread, milk, butter and local marmalade.
Fantastic library room on 2nd floor! (My granddaughter loved it!)
Highly recommended!!

Date of stay: October 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful cottage, great location.
Liked least: Only downside is its on a steep hill!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing