We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis in the storm!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sunnybank Boutique Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 12 Holmfirth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed December 12, 2013

What a lovely,warm, comfortable house in which to ride out a storm! It didn't matter a jot that the rain was horizontal, blown across the view by gale force winds; I was snug and warm inside Sunnybank Guest House! My room, Church View, was very well equipped, with a very sleep inducing bed. Breakfast for me was Full Yorkshire or cereal and toast (homemade bread too!), although there were many delicious options to choose from each morning. The recently appointed managers, Sue and Mike were the perfect hosts, nothing was too much trouble for them. They were very helpful with their local knowledge of the town and local eating places. Compo's Fish and Chip shop was one delight they recommended. The sitting room was relaxing , with some lovely interesting books to browse through and a piano to play! (if only I could!) I look forward to another visit very soon.

Room Tip: all the rooms looked extremely well appointed and comfortable. They are all quiet rooms. The two at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JaneG633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (620)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

358 - 364 of 620 reviews

Reviewed December 12, 2013

We stayed at Sunnybank on a short winter break away from it all. The location in upper Holmfirth is close to the town centre and just a short walk away from a couple of local hostelries.
The rooms were all excellently furnished with the facilities you would expect from a 5 Star B&B.
Breakfast was to your own choice with lots to choose from and cooked to order while you started with the cereals and juices. Tea of our choice was quickly served followed by the full English and a poached haddock and egg in our case.
Mike and Sue are excellent hosts having just taken over the management of this lovely house.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Church View Room which was very comfortable with lovely views and en suite faciliti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

I think that everything has been said by other reviewers about this lovely B & B. We have and do stay in hotels quite often but we are coming round to B & B's more and more because, unless you want pools and large bars. then the facilities and breakfast are often superior in these little gems. The Sunnybank provided everything that we needed and more. If we are in the area again we will certainly contact the friendly hosts, Sue & Mike, to book another room with them.I am scoring sleep quality as poor only because of the blue lights on the switches which kept waking me up, will take eye mask next time to solve the problem.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbar R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We stayed here last weekend mainly for a gig at the Picturedrome, plus some local strolling. Despite the presence of gas main works and road diversions on Upperthong Lane we found Sunnybank ( in the daylight) right next to the Church - House name and number carved in stone both sides of drive entrance. We had a S-facing room at the front which was large and very comfortable ( nice big luxurious bed) with a lovely view. Mike & Sue were excellent hosts, with great attention to details, and gadgets, and the breakfasts were beautifully cooked and presented at the 6 seater table. We thoroughly enjoyed the hospitality & comfort at Sunnybank a mere 10 minute walk (downhill) to the town - a trifle longer getting back !! The only trivial gripes on my part were - 1. having two sittings at breakfast for 6 meant that we didn't meet all the other guests ( which would have been nice) although I understand the logistical problems, and 2. in the en-suite room we had - the sink in the super-dooper shower room was tiny ! and made having a wash or wet-shave a rather delicate experience !! However - this did not detract from our enjoyment of the weekend and appreciation of all the effort put in by Mike & Sue ( a lovely, affable couple!!) Deserves the stars and we'd certainly stay again !!

Room Tip: If you like a good view I imagine the front rooms are the best looking across the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ray p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

What a fantastic B & B in the pretty village of Holmfirth !
After our long journey from Buckinghamshire via the horrendous M1, and feeling more than a little tired, we received a very warm welcome from Mike who immediately put a spring back in our step by showing us our beautiful room overlooking the Church. It was extremely comfortable, with special little "touches" that you would expect in a 5 star hotel, but not always available !
We asked Mike for a recommendation of a local pub where we could eat, and before we knew it we were sipping our complimentary glass of wine sitting at our reserved table and eating a scrumptious meal from an exciting menu. Mike had phoned ahead to organise everything !
The locals encouraged us to join in the weekly quiz night, which was a whole lot of fun.
After a great night's sleep in the very comfortable bed, we were treated to a super breakfast in the gorgeous dining room in front of a cosy fire. Sue, made sure that we had absolutely everything. My kippers were delicious, and my husband tucked in to his wild mushroom omelette followed by oodles of toast and marmalade. Fruit and cereals were also at hand to serve ourselves whilst our food was being cooked to order.
Would have no hesitation in recommending this excellent B & B, and we will look forward to returning to be well and truly pampered !

Room Tip: Cosy , atmospheric room, with a beautiful view of the valley, and church. Smallish bathroom,with sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ros N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Sunnybank is a perfect location from which to explore the town, which is within walking distance. The scenery is breath taking and local trails can also be accessed from the B&B. Sunnybank is beautifully appointed and the cooked breakfast is excellent. Holmfirth is a wonderful, picturesque mill town, with lots of things to see and trendy places to eat and drink in.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheshirecheese582013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

The high standard we experienced when we stayed here in July has been maintained by Mike and Sue. This is a marvellous place to stay and has the advantage of being within walking distance of all Holmfirth has to offer. We have already booked again for next July.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susan t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holmfirth
0.4 mi away
Old Bridge Inn
Old Bridge Inn
#1 of 1 in Holmfirth
896 reviews
2.5 mi away
Durker Roods Hotel
Durker Roods Hotel
#1 of 1 in Meltham
594 reviews
1.5 mi away
Coddy's Farm
Coddy's Farm
#1 of 12 in Holmfirth
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Cliffe House Bed & Breakfast
1.8 mi away
The Huntsman Inn
The Huntsman Inn
#4 of 12 in Holmfirth
572 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#6 of 12 in Holmfirth
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunnybank Boutique Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunnybank Boutique Guesthouse

Address: 78 Upperthong Lane, Holmfirth HD9 3BQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Holmfirth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Holmfirth
Price Range: $96 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunnybank Boutique Guesthouse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightful and elegant boutique country guesthouse with glorious views, set in 'Last of the Summer Wine's' Holmfirth. Tripadvisor certificate of Excellence winners and consistently rated number one, in both Holmfirth & West Yorkshire. Listed in the prestigious Michelin Guide and also Britain's Finest. Sunnybank offers luxurious accommodation, serving top quality local produce, in a relaxed informal style with a classic Yorkshire welcome. We are also Tripadvisor 'Green Leaders' at Gold level and now offer, electric vehicle top-ups from our charging station. Sunnybank is only a short walk from the centre and can offer secure off road parking for those visiting the Picturedrome venue or one of the many bars or restaurants in Holmfirth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Orbitz so you can book your Sunnybank Boutique Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunnybank Guest House Hotel Holmfirth
Sunnybank Boutique Guesthouse Holmfirth, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing