We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic - cosy, spacious, extremely well...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Ford Cottage

Ford Cottage Holmfirth surrounded by beautiful open countryside
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ford Cottage Holmfirth surrounded by beautiful open countryside
Ford Cottage Holmfirth private enclosed garden Garden with seating and dawn till dusk lighting
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
46 reviews
Ford Cottage Holmfirth surrounded by beautiful open countryside
Ford Cottage Holmfirth private enclosed garden
Garden with seating and dawn till dusk lighting
Why not walk to nearby Digley resevoir, stunning in all seasons
Holme Moss through the clouds awaiting the Tour de France, about 2 miles away from Ford Cottage
Well equipped kitchen and there is a washer and dryer in the integral garage
Dining room - comfortable dining for 8 people plus window seat and 'comfy' chair
Log burning stove in the dining room
Entrance porch with Yorkshire settle
The cottage has views of this countryside from all the windows
Lounge with Smart TV
Window seat and log burning stove in the lounge
Relax with a book from the well stocked bookcase
Feel snug in comfort and style
Dream location for photographers, bird watchers, walkers, cyclists, poets .....
Hallway leading to the 4 bedrooms
Master bedroom with walk in wardrobe and en suite wet room
Master bedroom en suite wet room
Large double room with Smart TV
Fantastic views from the double room
Family bathroom with bath and separate shower
Full sized bunks each with individual adjustable reading lights
Dog shower in the garage - also suitable for bikes, wellies and plenty of drying space in the garage
Local blacksmith custom made gates lead into the garden with seating and shady areas.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Holmfirth, West Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
GJMBT
Basel, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic - cosy, spacious, extremely well appointed, amazing views”
Reviewed December 31, 2014 for a stay in December 2014

If you enjoy the countryside for walking or to admire the views, this is the place to stay. With the two gorgeous fires and kitchen underfloor heating, the cottage is very cosy. At the same time, the modern bathrooms and kitchen provide the convenience of modern living. Furniture is a mix of antique and modern providing an interesting mix. Location is superb with walks into the moors from the doorstep and two easy to walk to pubs nearby. Congratulations to the owners for making such a lovely cottage and sharing it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallsend, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 22, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The antique furniture in the bedrooms mixed with modern fittings in the kitchen
Liked least: having to leave
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 14, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
313Rachae...
United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Exceeded our expectations”
Reviewed August 6, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We booked our stay through Holiday Lettings who were more than helpful in the lead up to our weekend, providing us with welcome details and regular updates. I stayed here with 6 of my girlfriends for a relaxing but fun weekend away. From the moment we arrived we were more than impressed with the cleanliness and style of the cottage. It is in the perfect location! We took the 30 minute walk into the village and also ate at the Ford Inn next door, where we were welcomed by very friendly staff and ate delicious, traditional food.
I cannot emphasise enough how happy we were with our time at Ford Cottage, a good time was had by all of us and we will definitely be back again next year!!

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 9, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 7, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The property was superb, many good design touches and plenty of space.
Liked least: There was little we could think of to improve on really but it was suggested another easy chair in the lounge would give a large group more space and a more sociable "circle"and some deckchairs would be good.
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Gbm66
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great cottage, excellent value. Fab place to stay.”
Reviewed May 29, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

This is an excellent cottage, Kim contacted us throughout the booking even texting us to say we could get into the cottage early. It was spacious, clean, modern and very well equipped. We stayed as two families and there was plenty of room. We would certainly recommend this to anyone looking for a break in Yorkshire. The ford inn next door was pricey but the food was good and the service friendly.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing