We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't miss this little gem”
Review of The Nook

The Nook
Ranked #21 of 78 Restaurants in Holmfirth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $13
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Otherwise known As the Rose & Crown, The Nook remains a 'locals' local' with real appeal to visiting tourists Here you will find a welcoming public house which combines the authenticity of days gone by with every modern day advantage. Open seven days a week, 365 days of the year, our aim is to supply the best hospitality and value that Holmfirth has to offer Our well stocked bar features wines, spirits, lagers, soft drinks and beers including eight real ales brewed on site at our own Nook Brewhouse micro-brewery and rotating guest ales Our traditional interior features open fires for cold winter day and nights. In summer our riverside outdoor area with seating and outdoor heaters provide the perfect place to relax in the sunshine.
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
66 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Don't miss this little gem”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Great little pub with a cracking good atmosphere, musicians and arty types mingle amongst the common folk to generate a real experience for visitors.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gordon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    38
    9
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“You've got to try it”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Everyone in Holmfirth has visited The Nook at some time or another and it is a good place to meet some of the local characters! Often the place to visit if you want to sample local musical artists.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stoths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Top pub!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is the best pub in Holmfirth. Great beers and a friendly eclectic clientele. The pub brews it own ales on the premise and often has a good selection of guest ales.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChrisJo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beer, beer, glorious beer.”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Found the pub through Camera's Good Beer Guide. Excellent range of own brewed beers at prices at least a £1.00 a pint cheaper than in my home town Brighton.
I went on a Sunday night which is 'folk night'. The music was well played and not at all intrusive to the conversation that I was invited in by the friendly locals.
If you like real beer in a real pub, then the 'Nook' is for you, but just don't expect luxurious surroundings. Highly recommended.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keighley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Waste of time booking when using a Taste card”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

After arriving in Holmfirth we took the opportunity to visit this place due to the fact , they accept Taste Card , However when we got to the bar the barman advised us that we would need to book Two hours in advance if we needed food at Taste card rates, So we decided to book and call back in 2 hours . But upon returning we found the place rather full and no were to sit to have our food , We approached the bar man who advised us that we could sit in the games room. Which was rather in a poor state and just very off putting to anyone having a meal in there. We therfore left and thought what's the point having to book if they can't save a table for you ..

Helpful?
1 Thank garypeters72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Nook also viewed

Holmfirth, West Yorkshire
Holmfirth, West Yorkshire
 
Holmfirth, West Yorkshire
Holmfirth, West Yorkshire
 
Holmfirth, West Yorkshire
Holmfirth, West Yorkshire
 

Been to The Nook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing