We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't recommend to anybody”
Review of Soul Kitchen

Soul Kitchen
Ranked #18 of 87 Restaurants in Holmfirth
Price range: $8 - $27
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Description: 25 Meters up Dunford Road, through the purple door next to Gonzo. Weekend booking is wise!
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Went to Soul kitchen for a birthday meal after hearing mixed reviews thought i'd give it a try.
Couldn't have been more disappointed.. The fried chicken was burnt and dry, my partner's burger was burnt, the mac and cheese tasted powdery... Whether it was flour or packet mac and cheese I don't know, the onion rings were slimey, the chips were undercooked and my partner and I both left over 3 quarters of our meal.
It is a real shame as the american diner type theme has real potential as there is nothing else like it in Holmfirth.
We also had a very unfriendly waitress who looked untidy with messy hair and a crinkled shirt.
I'm not being picky for the sake of it but I myself have worked in many different restaurants from pub grub to fine dining and I can tell the difference between good food and bad food and this was definitely below par!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BlueStrawberry19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reaps72, Owner at Soul Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Hi & really sorry you had a bad experience with us!

The kicking chicken you ordered has a dark colour when fried, due to the fact we don't use dried hot spices in the flour to give it the kick, but rather a fresh habenaro sauce, as we believe it has a superior flavour, although giving a very orangey colour even before cooking. Upon inspection in the kitchen, the chicken was perfectly cooked & not dry, yes dark in colour but not burnt, as we tried to explain on the night, but here we'll have to beg to differ. As for the burger, we do cook on a very hot char-grill, but I do not let burnt food leave the kitchen, just charred & bar marked. As with every customer, if issues are raised immediately, we can solve them then & there.

The Mac 'n' Cheese is certainly not a packet based sauce, not even flour based as we like to consider coeliacs where we can. We pride ourselves, on that nothing we sell has been bought in, every product is made in house, from the bread to the sausages, the sauces to the sweets. Although to accommodate smaller customers we do buy that well known red sauce!

We are sorry you felt your side dishes were poor, if this was raised straight away we could've & would've sorted this for you.

Our waiting staff should always be well turned out & have to keep hair tidy & where necessary tied back, some are somewhat alternative in appearance but have to stick to a dress code of jeans and t-shirt, however if they were unfriendly or rude, then this is something we'd need to discuss further, as we were not made aware of this on the evening. All staff are there to make your visit pleasant & well attended to.

Could I just add that you review does fail to mention that we accepted & took on board your opinions on the evening, which we always use constructively & that you were not charged for any part of your bill as you didn't enjoy your meal & by way of an apology for your partners birthday being spoilt.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (266)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

210 - 214 of 266 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2013

The food was excellent. The portions were great. Loads od choice. Family friendly but good for all.
Will absolutely go again. Great for the long summer hols!
Atomic buffalo wings were a killer though!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Debsy29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

This was our first visit to Soul Kitchen - & we'll be back. The food is freshly prepared & oozing with flavour. There's a wide variety across a few key themes: Hot Dogs, burgers, chicken/steak & salads, with something for everyone. The sour dough bread is baked on the premises & is so much nicer than the usual polystyrene type bread that burgers get served up in. Other nice touches too, like the homemade ketchup which doesn't have the sweet acidic taste of the regular variety. There are some deep south options on the menu for those who are adventurous.
The staff are warm & friendly. Ready with suggestions & very helpful. Service was efficient.
We went as a family but would equally come as a couple or with friends. You can make it a reasonably priced alternative to eating in or you can push the boat out & have a delicious 3 course supper - that's if you have the room for desserts.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Zetland41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We booked a table for 4 for Sunday July 10th, the food was superb, at a very reasonable price. The owner/staff were friendly and helpful. The restaurant is 15 miles away from where we live but we will be definitely going again and telling family and friends to do likewise.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Karl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Really interesting place to eat for a change. Lots of choice and huge portions. We had salads, burgers, fried chicken etc and everything was really good.

The staff were cheerful and attentive.

The environment is a little quirky and different, keeping things interesting.

Strongly recommended.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jon_p_taylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Soul Kitchen also viewed

Holmfirth, West Yorkshire
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
 
Holmfirth, West Yorkshire
Holmfirth, West Yorkshire
 
Holmfirth, West Yorkshire
Holmfirth, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Soul Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing