We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Busy Soul”
Review of Soul Kitchen

Soul Kitchen
Ranked #24 of 80 Restaurants in Holmfirth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $26
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Description: 25 Meters up Dunford Road, through the purple door next to Gonzo. Weekend booking is wise!
Oz in Yorks
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A Busy Soul”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Attended this restaurant last Saturday night, as it has recently opened. A warm welcome and the service coped with what was a very busy front of house - always a good sign!
Burgers were a little disappointing but chicken and the rack of ribs were good.
Difficult to know to whom the owners are 'pitching'. That said, we intend to take the grandchidren there during half term!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MACOzinYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    57
    19
    23
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Amazing”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Beautiful from start to finish
Two of us went last night wonderful greeting from owner and staff seated at a lovely corner table decor great menu choices all looked to die for had pulled pork nachos for starters tasted amazing then burgers for mains with a load of sides all looked and tasted superb. The diner was very busy a sign of a great place and everyone one else looked to enjoy it too.
Well priced will def be back for more
Cheers for a great nights food

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joleeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainsborough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Disappointed after reading reviews”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

The overall experience is confusing - soul kitchen or American diner? Couldn't decide which. Limited menu. Portions small to medium on average. Burgers very dry, over cooked and buns - take an electric knife to cut through them! Service was slow, considering this is (I think) trying to be American fast food. Staff very nice and tried hard. The ambience was fine - I think the food quality let it down.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Grumpyoldsoandso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reaps72, Owner at Soul Kitchen, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
We are disappointed your experience wasn't entirely positive.
The restaurant isn't trying to be soul food or fast food, just american foods given our twist & we hope served to a high standard. Soul Kitchen is just a name.
It would be helpful to know if you visited during a particularly busy session, to help us understand what the service issues were? We would be interested to know how the menu was limited, we thought 5 appetisers each with variations, 4 pasta dishes, 10 burgers, 2 types of fried chicken, roast chicken with 3 variations, ribs with 4 variations, pulled pork, 2 steaks & 6 salads was possibly enough.
Our portion sizes we think are fair, not too much to over face, enough to be a meal when combined with sides etc.
If you had issue with your meal we do really suggest that it should be raised at the time of the meal then we have the opportunity to deal with it for you whilst with us, were you asked?

Looking forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleckheaton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Simply Devine”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Driving through Holmfirth decided to call on the off chance for something to eat. We saw Soul Kitchen on Dunford Road and thought why not. Are we glad we did? A resounding yes. Friendly service from the minute we walked in, even though there was a big party in, both waitresses made us feel welcome in the lively atmosphere and surroundings. The menu was to the point with inviting mouthwatering choices, but not too overwhelming so as to become lost and confusing as many do. The food itself didn't disappoint as it was as delicious as it sounded with potato skins, pulled pork, kicking chicken, pecan pie and waffles to die for. Cannot wait to return to sample more of the menu.

If ever you find yourselves in Holmfirth for any reason you'd be missing out if you didn't visit Soul Kitchen.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SheilaRichmond X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire, England
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great for families and friends”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Been twice this weekend, first with friends and then returned with the family the next day. Attentive service, excellent food - i had the pulled pork sandwich the first night and ribs the second night, which were covered in meat!
Fantastic to see something of this nature in Holmfirth, just what we need for families! Hope to see it grow from strength to strength!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank blondepip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Soul Kitchen also viewed

Holmfirth, West Yorkshire
Holmfirth, West Yorkshire
 
Holmfirth, West Yorkshire
Holmfirth, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Soul Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing