We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Summer Wine Tour”

Summer Wine Exhibition
Ranked #3 of 15 things to do in Holmfirth
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: The dramatic beauty of the Pennine moorlands, featuring quaint villages, dry stone walls and beautiful cottages, is an added bonus to the mischievous antics TV viewers have come to expect from the Summer Wine characters. The exhibition incorporates Compo's house, and has original props and photos along with a timeline of the whole series from the very beginning till the end of the show. 295 episodes of everlasting humour. Please check our website for opening times.
Nottingham
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Summer Wine Tour”
Reviewed July 26, 2014

This was a 45min bus tour of the local area pointing out all the places used for various scenes and episodes. Very interesting and enjoyable.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    39
    6
    1
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Compo”
Reviewed July 26, 2014

If you have ever watched and enjoyed Last of the Summer Wine, you will love this attraction. We took my aunty and uncle there as part of a weekend in Holmfirth. They were visiting us from Australia and we couldn't get them passed the TV clips of the show that are shown there. My uncle couldn't stop laughing, so thoroughly enjoyed it.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Worth the entrance fee”
Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

Interesting,well laid out,you are able to spend as much time as you wish I.e a quick glance or reading everything in detail. A pleasant nostalgic experience and at £2.50 you don't feel ripped off unlike a lot of so called attractions these days

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank golfjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daventry, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Excellent value for money and an interesting place to visit with loads of memorabilia from the show. Our visit brought smiles to our faces, as it appeared to for others. Great trip down memory lane, made us want to watch the series again.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ray D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heanor, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Summer wine visit”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

on our short break to Holmfirth to see all the sites of the TV series last of the Summer Wine, we had to visit this attraction and were not disappointed as they had a lot of props from the show in Compo's House the one they actually used in the series and also lots of out takes from the series which were very funny and some great history about the show and the locations where it was filmed, all very good

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Summer Wine Exhibition also viewed

 
Holmfirth, West Yorkshire
Holmfirth, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Summer Wine Exhibition? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing