We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice food, shame about the attitude!!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Rotchers Cafe - CLOSED

Rotchers Cafe
Cuisines: Cafe, British
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating
meltham, hudds
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice food, shame about the attitude!!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

We live locally and were shopping in Holmfirth so thought we would give it a try, nice décor and a bit quirky with the rooms, the menu was varied and a bit pricy but the food was nice and well presented, the let down was "Mr Happy" behind the counter, certainly not customer orientated. He may have had a bad day but when you deal with the public you cant take your problems to work!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank chubbyv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    18
    9
    8
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“nasty nasty nasty!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

a vile man and terrible staff. do the take the lead from him i wonder! festive spirit certainly gave this place a miss. never again!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rufforth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great cafe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

Good range of meals with nice choice of sandwiches rather than just the usual plain selection and good hot soup on a cold day to get you warmed up ready for more shopping

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tracey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Happy Jar- MISERABLE OWNER.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

I've always wondered about the 'Happy Jar' at the front counter at Rotcher cafe. Do they seriously think we will put money in the 'happy jar' with the owners attitude. Its hideous, what a miserable man! It amuses me how he thinks people will return to his cafe with the lack of respect he treats his customers. He is the most rudest despicable man i have ever come across talking to everyone in such condescending manner, expecting us all to pay money towards his cafe when he has a attitude like that. Outrageous.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Naomi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Miserable owner!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

Everything seems to be too much trouble for the guy on front counter. Think he's the owner , doesn't deserve the business, go elsewhere for a coffee!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank OhOh55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rotchers Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing