We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Yorkshire Hospitality!”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Holmfirth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Springfield Guest House
Ranked #12 of 12 Holmfirth B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We have just spent two nights at Springfield Guest House and had a lovely time with hosts Ann & Bernard, who were most helpful and informative of the area and of Holmfirth. We had a double-en suite room at the very top of the house in the atic - it's a good climb of steps up to the top of the house but it was worth it as the room was comfortable and clean. There are tea and coffee making facilities and a selection of biscuits and boiled sweets, bottled water and tissues for your comfort. An excellent breakfast sets you up for the day. The town of Holmfirth is approx 5 mins away from the house and its an easy walk to town which has plenty of places to eat and drink. We attended a concert at the Picture Dome and everything was conveneint for our short stay. We would recommend Springfield Guest House - great value and proper Yorkshire hospitality.

Room Tip: Ask for en-suite room as some have shared bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HamishWarwickshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (7)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 7 of 7 reviews

Reviewed May 16, 2013

We stayed two nights last weekend over the folk festival. The Sprinfield is an easy 5-10 minute walk into the centre of Holmfirth - it appears to be one of the few relatively flat routes in all of Holmfirth, which can be a bonus if you're a bit worse for wear on your way home. I'd just like to echo previous reviewers' comments in the friendliness and helpfulness of the hosts, the excellent value for money and, not forgetting, the fabulous breakfast! They provide a wide choice of options to cater to every taste. The quantities were enought to keep us going right through to tea time!

As mentioned by previous guests, both the outside steps and inside stairs are pretty steep so wouldn't be any good for people with mobility difficulties but it shouldn't be a hinderence if you're reasonably fit.

If you're travelling by car there are a couple of parking spaces on the road directly opposite the B&B but they fill up pretty quickly. There is a long-stay car park opposite the the B&B near the fire station which is only £2.80 for 24 hours (a bargain).

The decor may not be to everyone's taste but if you're looking for warm hospitality at a great price then this is the place to stay. I'd definitley visit again.

Room Tip: The 2 rooms on the first floor share a bathroom so you might want to check about en suite rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trixie772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed here last weekend as we were going to a gig at the Picturedrome, the guesthouse is staggering distance from the Picturedrome which was perfect for us as we arrived pretty late due to Friday night M62 traffic, the owners gave us directions and a useful tourist map, our room wasn't ensuite as we only managed to get the last room available! The room however was very clean, with a wash basin, towels, tea/coffee making facilities, bottled water, biscuits + boiled sweets! Most of the guests were at the gig the night before so we had common ground for talking over breakfast! Breakfast consisted of cereal, orange juice + a fab full english with lashings of yorkshire tea, (perfect if you've had a bit too much of the summer wine the night before)!! We didn't get to see much of Holmfirth due to the weather (and my hangover)! but we will definately go back to this guesthouse for a more touristic visit (an added bonus for us is that they take dogs with no extra charge).

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mazrimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Turned up in Holmfirth off-season, and the Tourist Information recommended this place as excellent value, and close by. It was both of those things - only GBP35 for an en-suite with great breakfast, 3 mins walk into town, bang opposite a lovely pub, and very friendly couple as our hosts. One thing, though - it is not easy to get around! There are steep steps into the house, which was awkward with a big suitcase, and similarly steep steps inside - not one if you are lunking prams, etc, around. But I would quite happily stay here again if I was back in Holmfirth.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Holmfirth hotels
0.2 mi away
Old Bridge Inn
Old Bridge Inn
#1 of 1 in Holmfirth
894 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sunnybank Boutique Guesthouse
2.2 mi away
The Huntsman Inn
The Huntsman Inn
#4 of 12 in Holmfirth
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#6 of 12 in Holmfirth
58 reviews
1.9 mi away
Coddy's Farm
Coddy's Farm
#1 of 12 in Holmfirth
239 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Rooms at the Nook
The Rooms at the Nook
#5 of 12 in Holmfirth
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Springfield Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Springfield Guest House

Address: 95 Huddersfield Road, Holmfirth HD9 3JA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Holmfirth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Holmfirth
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Springfield Guest House Holmfirth, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing