We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I Really Wanted to Like It, But...”
Review of Old Bridge Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Old Bridge Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Holmfirth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 16, 2010

All I can assume is that because I was a solo traveler I was not counted as an "important" guest and I got "stuck" in the poorest room the hotel possibly has. I was so excited to come to Holmfirth but the hotel was the downer in my journey. When I arrived, albeit early, there was absolutely no place to park in the hotels' lot. I arrived early and did not expect to get into my room yet, but I was hoping to utilize the parking lot but was told I could use one of the "pay and display" lots around town. I opted instead to drive to nearby Huddersfield and did not return for about an hour, after the appointed check in time, but there was still no place to park.

When I got to my room I found a very out-dated room with cigarette burns and stains in the carpet, bathroom towels with holes in them, no remote for the TV, and a view of the ally and back sides of neighboring businesses.

Later in the night after I checked in I discovered my room was directly above the bar and had to listen to the patrons below me. It was also incredibly hot in my room and I had to have the window open and even with the fan running (a fan provided by the hotel) it still did not drown out the noise of the bar and people in the ally.

The location is fantastic and most of the staff were helpful and nice, and the room was pretty clean. If I had a room on the front side of the hotel I would've had an amazing view of the town, but that was not the case. I really wanted to like the hotel, but it did not work out that way.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WandererUSUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (896)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

889 - 895 of 896 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2010

We stayed at the Old Bridge Hotel last week on a dinner, bed and breakfast basis. Whilst the room was small and slightly dated, the staff were courteous and helpful. The food in the hotel is excellent quality with very generous portions. Great value for money.

The hotel is ideally placed for shopping and sight seeing round Holmfirth, and particularly convenient for the Picturedrome should you be seeing a band there. In fact the band we saw were actually staying at the hotel (lead guitarist in the room next door to us) which made the trip even better!

The only down side was the car park which was very tight to say the least!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baklavalover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2007

I was lucky enough to find a remaining room in this hotel on a cold spring night 18 months ago.... The welcome was warm, the water was hot, the food was excellent and the John Smith's went down a treat!! I have stayed in this hotel a few times now and it's one of my favourites. The rooms are big enough and the beds are very comfortable. I look forward to going back...

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank haggisbiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2007

We stayed one night 7 Jan 07, staff were fine, room was small
but clean. However, the toilet would not flush, the bulb in the table
had blown, and the hot water was scoldingly hot, having said all that. we had tea coffee and biscuits in our room, which was nice.
The bar meals were large and well cooked, and the bar service
was fine. Breakfast came with a choice, again it was just ok.
Overall our stay was ok. Would we go back, at a push, yes. By choice. probably not.

Stayed: January 2007
1  Thank GFUTCH1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2006

We stayed one night here in 2003 and I can vouch for the previous correspondent's comments about the size of the rooms. We had two adjoining rooms for my wife and two kids, but there was not enough room to swing a cat! The breakfast was good, however, and we didn't find it particularly noisy.

  • Stayed: August 2003, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank XXSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2006

Presumably we had the best room in the hotel - the "Bridal Suite'. Perhaps this was a typo and maybe they meant 'Bridle Suite' but really you wouldn't put a horse in there. The room was tiny, basically a bed (nice enough in itself) and a dressing table. Not even a wardrobe, just a hanging rail with a curtain in front of it. There was a minibar but it was completely empty. The bath had jacuzzi jets but also the world's most ineffectual shower. The room had no sitting area so I'm not sure why they call it a suite.
We shrugged and felt we could see the funny side of the pretension, after all we were only booked in for two nights. However, when we were still awake at 3am due to the combined noise from the nightclub next door and the laughter from the bar directly beneath us, there was no funny side to see.
When we checked out early there was no attempt to make us pay for the second night, to the credit of the staff.
On the plus side we had an excellent bar meal, all staff were pleasant and breakfast was well above average for this type of hotel. Call me old-fashioned if you must but I think that a good night's sleep is the most important thing for a hotel to deliver and so we could never return.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter Burke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LucaManca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holmfirth
2.7 mi away
Durker Roods Hotel
Durker Roods Hotel
#1 of 1 in Meltham
594 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Old Golf House Hotel Huddersfield
0.4 mi away
Sunnybank Boutique Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#6 of 12 in Holmfirth
58 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Huntsman Inn
The Huntsman Inn
#4 of 12 in Holmfirth
572 reviews
0 mi away
The Rooms at the Nook
The Rooms at the Nook
#5 of 12 in Holmfirth
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Bridge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Bridge Inn

Address: Market Walk, Holmfirth HD9 7DA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Holmfirth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Holmfirth
Price Range: $97 - $537 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Bridge Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Old Bridge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Bridge Hotel
Old Bridge Inn Holmfirth, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing