We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could not breath in room-too hot”
Review of Old Bridge Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Old Bridge Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Holmfirth
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Could not breath in room-too hot”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

The rooms were stifling hot. Fr the horridor you could not breath. Upon entering the room it hit you like getting off the plane abroad. There was a fan on and the windows wide open which did not touch it. We spoke to another couple who had complained about the same room and been moved !! We bummed out and got stuck in it as all the rooms were then full. Terrible staff attitude of we can't go anything at all. Very poor !!! Don't go

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mucks1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BulldogHotelGroup, Manager at Old Bridge Inn, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. Unfortunately, due to the unusually hot weather the rooms have been very warm. We have supplied fans to all bedrooms and our staff team as always have tried their very best to ease the situation. As you can see from all the other reviews our team are always helpful and obliging.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

790 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    273
    101
    45
    25
See reviews for
109
431
50
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hartlepool
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Stayed at The Old Bridge last night while attending The Summer Blues Splash at the Picturedrome next door. Our stay was great perfectly situated for the music event. We were efficiently booked in to our comfortable room by the friendly helpful staff who took the time to make you feel welcome.
Led by the Area Manager Beth who seemed be everywhere smoothing the whole experience.
All the staff were great even taking the time for a little friendly chat here and there while attending to the needs of the residents. We dined in the hotel restaurant having a rib eye steak and pulled beef main courses. Both meals were very very tasty and well presented with all the food arriving hot with all the trimmings. We had a great night with a fine breakfast next morning. All in all a great place to stay. Well done we will be back :-)

Room Tip: We had a room with a balcony which was nice overlooking the quaint town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BulldogHotelGroup, Manager at Old Bridge Inn, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful feedback. The team are delighted with your comments and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
431 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

i am a local who lives in holmfirth and frequent here often ,eating and drinking and socialising.the food is very good pub grub and more.unfortunetely when i went to order 3 bottles of prossecco to celabrate my birthday in the bar on sat night with 10 friends i was given plastic beer glasses to drink out of.?why wasnt their any plastic fluted prossecco glasses?cause we avnt got any thats why .was my answer.even the man next to me found it amusing.when i spent 66 pounds it doesnt quite have the same taste out of a plastic beer cup.what a let down to what could have kicked off my birthday weekend.please can you get some for next time their is big event and we cant have proper prossecco glasses.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank gazeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BulldogHotelGroup, Manager at Old Bridge Inn, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
We welcome all feedback and our sincerest apologies for not having plastic champagne flutes. For health & safety reasons we were instructed by the local authority to use plastic tumblers for the extremely busy Tour de France weekend and of course we complied with this request.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

The Old Bridge has recently undergone a major refurbishment to the bar and dining area. The result is very smart, with a nice outdoor seating area. Its in a great location in the centre of the town...but that is where the good news ends.
The bedroom were adequate but hadn't undergone the same refurbishment and our twin room, on the top floor, was unbearably hot with only an inadequate velux window for ventilation. The twin beds were very soft, for my taste, and although the room was clean and reasonably sized, an 'update' is certainly needed.
The cooked breakfasts were well done but, on day 2, beans and fruit salad were missing.
Our 2 night deal included an evening meal on the first night. Otherwise, the food was quite pricey for what you got. Prawn starter was quite rubbery. I suspected they had been twice cooked. Steak with bbq sauce and gravy seemed a curious offering and ham salad was only average.
Drinks at the bar were quite expensive. Similar draught beer, elsewhere in town, was £1 a pint cheaper.
Holmfirth is a charming town and people will always visit. There's not a huge choice of places to stay. The Old Bridge isn't bad but it could certainly do better.

Room Tip: try to avoid the rooms in the roof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NTRCBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BulldogHotelGroup, Manager at Old Bridge Inn, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. Please be assured that all our dishes are made to the highest standards and prepared fresh daily. We source quality food locally and can only apologise if the breakfast was not up to the usual high standard on the second morning of your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Not for those wanting p and q, as it was noisy at night with all the revellers - mind you it was Tour de France weekend.
Bedroom was really hot. The reception areas are well decked out and the staff attentive.
Had a great breakfast.

Room Tip: Try to get one round the back as they should be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alpensandal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BulldogHotelGroup, Manager at Old Bridge Inn, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. The Tour de France was an extremely busy event – much busier than even we expected. Thank you for saying that our staff were attentive and friendly they have been delighted to hear about your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Midlands
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2014

My wife and I researched where to stay when visiting Holmfirth and we took a chance on the Old Bridge Inn. We knew that its location is excellent and there is excellent road access & parking.
We had read reviews that slated this place - mainly due to the racket from the music venue next door /noisy punters exiting the place after gigs PLUS there being noise from patrons drinking & loudly boozing in the hotel bar /outside tables. I had checked if there was a gig `on` for the one night we were staying - fortunately not on this occasion! So we were lucky and no late night din AND the boozers left the hotel by 23.00hrs /school night, so we escaped that little delight also. The staff were the mostly friendly /helpful people, we chose to have dinner here - the menu /food was excellent very tasty & waitress very attentive but the wine list was at `London` prices.
At checkout I informed the staff that I`d repaired /attached the sink`s plug but that the bath`s plug chain hadn`t been there to re attach in the first place!

For the Tuesday night we stayed we had a good experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank red600man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BulldogHotelGroup, Manager at Old Bridge Inn, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you for your review and to know that you enjoyed your experience with us and we look forward to welcoming you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

Stayed @ the old bridge when going to the Gary Numan gig next door, great location.
Staff are very friendly and welcoming. The refurbished restaurant and bar looks great and the food is locally sourced and tasty, service polite helpful and I found them all to have a good crack with. Shame the rooms weren't up to the same standard, they really do need bringing up to date. We were in room 20 at the back and found this to be too warm and noisy from some constant wering I could not sleep, we had taken ear plugs which helped with the noise. I found myself having to take a cold bath in the tiny bath just to cool off.
Ideal location for the Picturedrome next door and smack bang in the middle of the village with limited parking but there's plenty close by, only let down is the heat in the small tired rooms, go on Bulldog sort some air con out and splash out on room refurbs. Will defo stay again

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alimored
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BulldogHotelGroup, Manager at Old Bridge Inn, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. The weather has been extremely hot but we do try our best by providing our guests with fans in their bedrooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holmfirth
2.7 mi away
Durker Roods Hotel
Durker Roods Hotel
#1 of 1 in Meltham
544 reviews
6.4 mi away
Bagden Hall Hotel
Bagden Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Scissett
736 reviews
6.4 mi away
Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel
Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel
#10 of 17 in Huddersfield
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sunnybank Boutique Guesthouse
0.0 mi away
The Rooms at the Nook
The Rooms at the Nook
#5 of 12 in Holmfirth
112 reviews
0.1 mi away
Elephant & Castle
Elephant & Castle
#7 of 12 in Holmfirth
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Bridge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Bridge Inn

Property: Old Bridge Inn
Address: Market Walk, Holmfirth HD9 7DA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Holmfirth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Holmfirth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Bridge Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Old Bridge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Bridge Hotel
Old Bridge Inn Holmfirth, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing