We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Andy the chef”
Review of Old Bridge Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Old Bridge Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Holmfirth
Certificate of Excellence
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Andy the chef”
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Following a gluten free diet the bridge is the place to eat, the chef made me a lovely meal and nice to see thankfully the portion sizes have been reduced, a lot of our friends also commented on fact it's was awful to be over faced with food. Big thankyou to andy stott the fantastic chef

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank karen200763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

773 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    271
    101
    45
    24
See reviews for
109
421
48
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

First the good points - of which there are many - good, clean hotel, nice big room, well furnished and equipped, huge breakfast, friendly staff, great location for exploring the area.

Now for the one big bad point - the noise. We were expecting late night noise from the adjacent club as we had already checked Tripadvisor before booking, but as we were staying just one night on business we decided it was worth it for the convenience of the location. If, however, we had booked expecting a peaceful weekend in Last of the Summer Wine country we probably wouldn't have been so relaxed about it. No mention is made of the likelihood of noise on the hotel website (in fact very little information about the accommodation is offered at all) but it seems crazy not make bookers aware as the result can only be to end up with disappointed and angry guests, many of whom have left pretty bad reviews here.

So in summary - if you need a good, comfortable base for a one or two night stay, then this will do (but bring ear plugs). If you are looking for a peaceful holiday getaway, then this might not be for you.

Room Tip: We had an 'executive room' on the top floor, which was spacious and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StoneflowerStudio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

stayed on sat 3rd aug 2013 to see heaven 17 . stayed in room 15, only small but clean and comfortable. breakfast freshly cooked to order, lots of it and very good . staff are excellent and cant do enough for you. good selection of real ales and the desparate dan pie is huge and very good value. only slight niggle is the car park which is very tight with an entrance hard to find but would definately stay again.

Room Tip: try and get the room with a little balcony , think its room 7
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skimpys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We have stayed here a few times whilst attending gigs next door! A great 2 night stay last weekend. The rooms are quite small but well equipped. Lovely staff especially Rebecca who sorted out our bookings for us and who is also a great car park organisers!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Our stay at the Old Bridge had previously been booked by travelling companions and regrettably we neglected to refer to Trip Advisor.
We were allocated room 21 - a room to be avoided as per other reviews, but as the stay was on a Tuesday night it was expected noise would not be a problem.....WRONG.
From 9 pm til 1130+ our ears were assailed by the atrocious sounds of wannabe 'Irish Rovers' eminating from the Pub next Door. The noise no other word would describe it, was of such a volume that even the room TV at full could not clearly be heard.
The room itself was small, gloomy and very hot and even with the widows open (refer to noise) it would not cool for our entire stay. Our companions Room 32 described their roof top room as suitable for a Hobbit and too were affected by noise.
The Hotel itself was as the rooms Gloomy and Hot, we did not eat here other and breakfast (chipped cup).
Following my complaint in the evening (to be considered in the morning at checkout) the resultant discussion produced a meagre discount but no impression given that any improvements would be made for future guests.
I am at a loss to understand how The Hotel is able to display a Trip Advisor Certificate of excellence as it certainly not warranted .
My advice is if you can avoid this place DO.

Room Tip: Do not accept rooms 18 to 24 if you have to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SA5045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pershore
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

After reading some reviews we where a bit apprehensive about staying here but i must say we was very surprised at the location of the hotel and the politeness of the staff. We stayed in room 25 which was next to the music venue, not a nightclub, and had 2 un-broken nights off quality sleep. After speaking to my family who live in Holmfirth it turns out the place next door is a music venue and doesn't open after midnight .
Anyway back to the hotel the room was very clean and the staff where more than helpful . Breakfast on both days was lovely and the hotel itself is right in the middle of town so most things are within walking distance.
If we go back we will definitely stay here again.
Big thanks to all the staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manchie7Pershore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

My girlfriend and I stopped at the Old Bridge Hotel for one night on a weekend break. Its a decent enough hotel with friendly staff and basic but clean rooms. The breakfast was good and there was lots of it.The main let down was the nightclub which was next door. From 10pm until 2am the next morning, the club was emitting the most abominable noise ever. Needless to say we didn't get to sleep until after 2am, which we could have done without after a long day.

Room Tip: If put in room 24, demand another room as far away as possible!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EnsignElliott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holmfirth
2.7 mi away
Durker Roods Hotel
Durker Roods Hotel
#1 of 1 in Meltham
539 reviews
6.4 mi away
Bagden Hall Hotel
Bagden Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Scissett
726 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sunnybank Boutique Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Rooms at the Nook
The Rooms at the Nook
#5 of 12 in Holmfirth
109 reviews
0.1 mi away
Elephant & Castle
Elephant & Castle
#8 of 12 in Holmfirth
86 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Huntsman Inn
The Huntsman Inn
#4 of 12 in Holmfirth
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Bridge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Bridge Inn

Property: Old Bridge Inn
Address: Market Walk, Holmfirth HD9 7DA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Holmfirth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Holmfirth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Bridge Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Old Bridge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Bridge Hotel
Old Bridge Inn Holmfirth, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing