We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Vintage town Power Breakfast” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Brambles

The Brambles
Ranked #14 of 77 Restaurants in Holmfirth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Drinks, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Level Contributor
132 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Vintage town Power Breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012 via mobile

Nice atmosphere at the Brambles.
Had a plentiful breakfast while surrounded by charming townsfolk.
Clean and tidy with very good smiley service.
Feels right and tastes delicious. Well done West Yorkshire.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Smartluggage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    101
    29
    25
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Uppermill, United Kingdom
1 review
“Relaxing Saturday Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

We visited The Brambles for Saturday Lunch, it was raining heavy and this was the first place we came across. Our initial impression was that the place was busy which is always a good sign, we felt like we had stumbled across something special. The bar staff were very attentive and it wasn't long before we were seated with drinks in hand; I would have liked somewhere to hang my coat as it was quite damp but that was the only down side to our lunch. When both of us struggled with the extensive menu choices the waitress was very helpful and made an effort to find out the answers to our questions. We both had a lovely meal and were more than happy with our portion sizes, I couldn't even fit in a pudding! we felt that it was extremely good value for money. The place was busy but we never felt we had to rush to leave, this was a rare treat for us and we would definitely visit again!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jax759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch with friends”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

We visited The Brambles for Sunday lunch as a group of 5 on recommendation and reading trip advisor. There are some good points, some bad points and something’s that definitely need to improve!
The good:
Choice of beers and bar prices were good, although I had a different beer from the same pump?!?.
The style and decor of the restaurant/bar are modern and open plan giving a relaxed atmosphere.
The food was good quality and obviously freshly prepared (see below!) although portions were quite small in some cases. I ordered the Nachos with Chilli, which were supposed to be a sharing platter for 2/3, however they were the size of a small starter for 1.

The Bad:
The choice of food on the menu. I would go again for a light midweek lunch, with sandwiches and small plates good quality, but not enough choice of proper meals for an evening or a Sunday lunch.
The attentiveness and knowledge of the staff, not all I might add, but this could be significantly improved.

THE TIME TAKEN FOR OUR MEALS TO BE PROVIDED, WE ONLY HAD MAINS AND DESERTS AND WERE IN THE RESTAURANT FOR NEARLY 3 HRS. IT TOOK 45 MINUTES FOR OUR ORDER TO BE TAKEN ONCE WE SAT DOWN AND THEN ANOTHER HOUR FOR OR FOOD TO BE PROVIDED.

All in all, i would score this restaurant about 6 out of 10, but for Sunday lunch, 2 out of 10. I would however revisit for a different type of event.

All the ingredients are there, just need some tweaking and improvements

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bexy1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Below average eatery”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

Looks ok from first impressions and as my wife & I are quite easy going, thought we'd choose this place to have some food & drink - wished we'd tried somewhere else in Holmfirth. We visited on a Monday lunchtime and The Brambles wasn't particularly busy. The main problem is the food service, as whilst there seemed plenty of bar staff (where we were served immediately), the food service was poor even for people not in a hurry! We were able to take a seat easily and were told that someone would be able to take our order, but my wife had to go up and ask for service....waited some more, ordered...waited a lot more, food eventually came. My order of steak & ale pie could have been really good, as the meat was very lean and well cooked, but unfortunately the puff pastry topping seemed slightly stale and was accompanied my barely warm veg and small mini-bucket of chips. My wife ordered the beef burger, chips & salad - ok, but the burger was very spicy. When finished, we asked for the bill, waited ages, got a bill, waiter never came back, so we paid at the bar and left. Shame, customer service makes customers come back - we won't here if ever visiting Holmfirth again. :(

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Called in on Sunday and were very pleased with excellent decor , service and food
Steak pie excellent and tasty with local Brambles ale . Excellent King Prawn scampi
Good atmosphere and very busy for Sunday afternoon

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Brambles also viewed

Holmfirth, West Yorkshire
Holmfirth, West Yorkshire
 
Holmfirth, West Yorkshire
Holmfirth, West Yorkshire
 
Holmfirth, West Yorkshire
Holmfirth, West Yorkshire
 

Been to The Brambles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing