We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food in a pleasant environment”
Review of The Toad and Tatie - CLOSED

The Toad and Tatie
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food in a pleasant environment”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Went here for a friends birthday. Varied menu with lots to choose from. Lots of seafood and game as well as more traditional options. Totally yummy

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank snakeswife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorraine I, Owner at The Toad and Tatie, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
thank you so much,we are really pleased you enjoyed your evening with us.
toad and tatie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    38
    12
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

I really cant fault this restaurant and I am hard to please. the staff were friendly and helpful, decor and atmosphere was amazing. Even the price is reasonable for a restaurant of this caliber. We paid fifteen pound for Sunday dinner including starter and main and it was worth every penny. Everybody left feeling full and satisfied, in fact the only feeling of disappointment I had was that i did not have room for a pudding.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JandLFuters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorraine I, Owner at The Toad and Tatie, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
we try to provide an affordable but quality menu. We are always happy when people let us know they had a good time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Smash not mash?”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

I had traveled from south Wales to visit my daughter. I booked Sunday lunch as I had seen positive reviews of the restaurant. We arrived at 2.30. Alarm bell should have rung as there were no other diners in the dining room and only handful of people in the bar. Our first course was deep fried brie and a terrine. The brie was a small portion,the terrine acceptable. We ordered the beef dinner. I asked for my beef to be served medium to rare. However I was told that the meat had been “cooked through”. The food was served plated with a Yorkshire Pudding hiding the beef which was wafer thin fatty slices .The vegetables were Swede .Carrots roast potatoes and mashed potato.

I would like to know if the potato was packet reconstituted potato. Why no seasonal vegetables w ere served ,when and where the beef was cooked and whether the Yorkshire Pudding was “ Auntie Bessies”

RealAnt

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank JLenaghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorraine I, Owner at The Toad and Tatie, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
I am really a bit stuck for words on this one, what can i say to a man who tries to order BRISKET OF BEEF, which was clearly stated on the menu, MEDIUM RARE ?.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fabulous place”
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic place to go. They have a tapas menu in the bar and a la carte menu in the dining room. The menus are great and you get a lot on the plate worth the money. You have to pay extra for side dishes so it does become dear. However I will be going to back for the tapas and definitely a la carte menu as well.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gunnersfan4lyf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorraine I, Owner at The Toad and Tatie, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
thank you so much for taking time to write a review. were pleased you enjoyed it,look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Recomendation from friends”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

A delightful friendley atmosphere hidden in the heart of Holmfirth Well presented good food and service. We will definatley return to try another delicious meal from the A la carte menu which is very reasonably priced.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Clare M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorraine I, Owner at The Toad and Tatie, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
we try to create a welcoming and friendly atmosphere for all. so pleased to read you had a great meal hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Toad and Tatie also viewed

 
Honley, Holmfirth
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing