We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing”

The White Horse Inn
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The White Horse Inn
Ranked #6 of 12 Holmfirth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow Scotland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

We spent one night here as our family were renting a nearby cottage and we wanted to be together for New Years' eve. We were charged a lot of money for that one night, and were told there would be no breakfast.
The heating was inadequate, there were no hooks or towel rails to hang things in the tiny cold shower room, small threadbare towels only one each,just a chair in the bathroom, nowhere to sit in the bedroom, and although clean,the accommodation was pretty basic.
I appreciate the fact that it was New Year, but a few biscuits to have with our morning tea would have been thoughtful. This is an old pub in a beautiful location, but a few touches to make guests feel more comfortable would have been appreciated, especially when we were charged premium rates.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Grandmamax16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    19
    8
    6
    2
See reviews for
17
33
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
427 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Lovely, warm and inviting pub with 2 roaring log fires. We ordered 2 main courses...1 was a rib roast of beef Sunday dinner, and the other was scampi. The beef was cooked to perfection, excellent quality and plenty of it, alongside tasty veg, toasties etc. I had the scampi, and it was a plentiful portion and v nicely presented on a mock newspaper on a plate! The homemade chips were absolutely wonderful....crisp, fluffy inside!!...probably the best homemade chips I've had for a long time! The only shock was the bill at the end!!..£15 for 2 mains!! Fantastic value for money and excellent quality of food. This place deserves to be a success, so hope it does well! We ll be back!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyn17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Only stayed one night here, after a few days in the High Peak area. David and Sarah made us feel very welcome. The room was clean and tidy, though not over-generous on the tea/coffee/shower freebies. Had Sarah's home-made pies for supper accompanied by a well-kept ale - delicious!
Could only manage a light breakfast, but the Full English most others were having looked very tempting :-)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

just called in the white horse inn for a quick drink, after visiting Holmfirth and totties nurseries for some plants.
It has been redecorated since the days when Ron Backhouse used to run it, in the days when Last of the summer wine was filmed there. Still a nice traditional pub, friendly staff.
We didn't eat there, as we usually take sandwiches on our days out, but the food looked good that other people had ordered.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linda c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carshalton, Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Recently ate at the pub. Food was actually ok but the landlord was awfull. Very surly and unwelcoming. We asked to set up a tab but he refused as he said he didn't like them. So we laid for our meals and drinks. We were asked if we wanted desert so got some ice cream. On paying were told we had to spend 5 pound on card. Hen we told him we had no cash he was very angry. So we offered to pay 5 pounds for the 2 scoops of budget ice cream. He snatched the card and thirst the receipt in our hand without saying a word. Very rude and a shame as the venue looked nice. Maybe that's why it was dead in there. We won't be going back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LeeBara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scunthorpe
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

just got back from a lovely week away at the pub in holmfirthe david and srah made use very welcome and relaxed the food was all frashly cooked and not junk food all home made as reqeurd the rooms very clean me and the wife will be going back to stay soon than you david and sarah see you soon Gordon susan

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank whisky4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We stayed at the White Horse for just one night at the end of a tour of the Peak District. It was very comfortable, and very friendly - we enjoyed chatting to the local people in the bar at night!
Sadly because it was a Sunday night we couldn't sample the food there, and we had to set off home the next morning. But we did enjoy our stay.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sanor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holmfirth
1.4 mi away
Old Bridge Inn
Old Bridge Inn
#1 of 1 in Holmfirth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
4.1 mi away
Durker Roods Hotel
Durker Roods Hotel
#1 of 1 in Meltham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#10 of 12 in Holmfirth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Rooms at the Nook
The Rooms at the Nook
#5 of 12 in Holmfirth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
1.4 mi away
Elephant & Castle
Elephant & Castle
#8 of 12 in Holmfirth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sunnybank Boutique Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Horse Inn

Property: The White Horse Inn
Address: Scholes Road | Jackson Bridge, Holmfirth, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Holmfirth
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Holmfirth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The white horse pub once famous for the last of the summer wine.now fully refurbished to a high standard serving home cooked food Monday to Sunday.Why not stay here for a relaxing break where you will always find a warm and friendly welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The White Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Horse Inn Holmfirth, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing