We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Day”

The Fox House Inn & Restaurant
Ranked #17 of 79 Restaurants in Holmfirth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Traditional British country pub just outside of Holmfirth serving a modern British menu from local suppliers. Carvery and bar menus served in a traditional country setting. A la'carte private dining available in the restaurant. NOTE: OPENING HOURS ARE: CLOSED MONDAY (EXCLUDING BANK HOLIDAYS) TUESDAYS TO FRIDAY 11.00AM - 2.00PM 6.00PM - 9.30PM SATURDAY 11.00AM - OPEN ALL DAY 10.00PM SUNDAY 12NOON - OPEN ALL DAY - 9.00PM
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Day”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We recentley had our wedding reception at the pub, everything was EXCELLENT the staff could not have been more helpful the food was fantastic,the whole wedding party agreed how good everything had been.Would recommend to any one, we had a perfect day. Al & Sue

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Allen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    256
    97
    38
    25
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“Good wholesome food”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Great food, very well presented , not high end dining but doesn't pretend to be ,unlike some in the area , would recommend to anyone .

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Belladwella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
466 reviews
277 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
“Deservedly popular country pub restaurant”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

This pub is about ten miles from where we live and we've visited it several times over the years, it always seems to be busy and we always have a meal which is either good or very good. We visited last Friday evening after a very hot day. It was about 8 o'clock and the place had obviously been very busy but we found a suitable table, for four, quite easily. We ordered drinks at the bar, my beer was cloudy and didn't taste good so I complained and was told it may be the bottom of the barrel! No problem though, changed cheerfully for another pint by an apologetic bar man. We ate in the bar (there is also a separate restaurant) where there are lots of tables. You pick from a large menu plus specials board and then order at another counter, not the bar, when you also pay - I always think that's a bit strange but it's a busy place and at least you don't get frustrated waiting for the bill. Our meals came surprisingly quickly, I had a 10oz sirloin, cooked perfectly and with all the usual trimmings, delicious and worth the £17.95. We all enjoyed our meals and were impressed that they manage to maintain their standards, including polite courteous staff, despite being busy on a very warm evening. A safe choice.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JGM1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“My favourite”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Decided to pay another visit with friends this time, it was really busy but the staff found us a table with no fuss didn't realise how big this place is. We all enjoyed our food it was beautiful and well presented yet again and very reasonably priced, sounds crazy but I have actually booked for Christmas. Will be back soon.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TonyS79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Recently visited The Fox House with friends and our little one. Food was great, especially the carvery (on weekend), Family friendly, high chairs available. Really enjoyed, will visit again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AKS_08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fox House Inn & Restaurant also viewed

Holmfirth, West Yorkshire
Holmfirth, West Yorkshire
 
Holmfirth, West Yorkshire
Hepworth, West Yorkshire
 

Been to The Fox House Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing