We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas day lunch”

The Fox House Inn & Restaurant
Ranked #17 of 79 Restaurants in Holmfirth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Traditional British country pub just outside of Holmfirth serving a modern British menu from local suppliers. Carvery and bar menus served in a traditional country setting. A la'carte private dining available in the restaurant. NOTE: OPENING HOURS ARE: CLOSED MONDAY (EXCLUDING BANK HOLIDAYS) TUESDAYS TO FRIDAY 11.00AM - 2.00PM 6.00PM - 9.30PM SATURDAY 11.00AM - OPEN ALL DAY 10.00PM SUNDAY 12NOON - OPEN ALL DAY - 9.00PM
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Christmas day lunch”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Hi we had christmas day lunch at the fox house it was fantastic the food exellent staff brill and the other custemers verry friendly it was so good we booked for this christmas today

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    256
    97
    38
    25
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous Sunday carvery”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Dropped on here. Never been before but the good was beautiful.
We found a lovely spot by the fire as it was snowing outside.
Both of us was chomping at the bit for food. And we wasn't let down. The plate of food was huge. But it wasn't quantity over quality. As the food was quality homemade grub.
First time I've been out for a Sunday carvery that didn't look or taste cheap.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Danielle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penistone, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Never disappointed!”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We too visited the Fox House on 5/2/13,at lunchtime, in the snow. The car park had been cleared for customers, so no problem there. The staff (Damion and James) were chatty and helpful as ever. We enjoyed our meal in the bar area, chosen from the specials board.
Yes, you do purchase your drinks at the bar and then make your selection from the menu and place this order at the food ordering area, where it is relayed directly to the kitchen. We have never had any problems with this system, and it does leave the bar free for serving drinks to customers who aren't dining there, something rarely found in a pub these days.
There is good choice from the extensive menu and board, at value for money prices. We have always enjoyed the meals there, they are of a consistently high standard and they are always beautifully presented too. We visit regularly and find it the best place for miles around for good food in pleasant surroundings with friendly staff .

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Visited the Fox Inn because of TA ratings. However, was disappointed in the quality of the food.
Had the Haddock and chips. Huge portion, but very greasy, and delivered within 10 minutes of ordering. Obviously NOT freshly cooked.

Also found it strange - sat in the bar - but had to go to another till in another room to order the food.
2 x fish & chips - you would think the same member of staff that took us from one bar to the other would be able to remember that !!!

Won't be going back in a hurry, but won't be too critical as this was a 'lunchtime' visit in the snow. The Inn was pretty quite because of the weather - but then cooking fish & chips ain't rocket science.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and great service”
Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

Just ventured out to the Fox House in the snow and cold and felt very very welcome. Lovely roaring fire, great service and staff and the lasagne was fantastic. We can't wait to go back again!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Louise632
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fox House Inn & Restaurant also viewed

Holmfirth, West Yorkshire
Holmfirth, West Yorkshire
 
Holmfirth, West Yorkshire
Hepworth, West Yorkshire
 

Been to The Fox House Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing