We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A perfect place to spend a relaxing few days”

Review of Manor Farm Cottage

Beautiful 17th Century, grade II listed cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Beautiful 17th Century, grade II listed cottage
Spacious and airy family bedroom Sunny and private patio area, great for alfreseco dining
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
62 reviews
Beautiful 17th Century, grade II listed cottage
Spacious and airy family bedroom
Sunny and private patio area, great for alfreseco dining
welcoming kitchen/diner with original features
Cosy and inviting lounge with beautiful antique furniture
Large private garden, great for children to play in
Panoramic view of the surrounding area
The bustling french market in Holmfirth
Compo's Cafe in Holmfirth used in 'The Last Of The Summer Wine'
The quaint cobbled back lanes of Holmfirth
Bright and airy landing
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Holmfirth, West Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 62 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Charles T
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A perfect place to spend a relaxing few days”
Reviewed July 26, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

This was our first family holiday since the arrival of our granddaughter earlier this year and we simply couldn't have chosen a more perfect place to spend a week all together.

Manor Farm Cottage is, and all its guests are, lovingly cared for by Catherine and Charles who have catered for absolutely every need. The so called 'welcome pack' is rather almost a week's shopping! We were amazed at its generosity and, no sooner had we arrived than Catherine presented us with newly laid eggs and freshly picked strawberries too!

We'd intended to do and see lots of different things during our stay but the cottage, its garden and the animals in the adjoining field were all so inviting that we spent most of our time happily sitting on the patio when it was sunny or chatting around the dining table when the weather wasn't so kind.

We can't sing its praises highly enough and have every intention of returning to the cottage to experience some of the many attractions in the beautiful countryside around (though we rather think we might just chill out at Manor Farm Cottage again).

Thank you for a lovely few days Catherine and Charles, you are the perfect host and hostess.

Date of stay: July 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greece
Reviewed May 31, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Date of stay: May 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
grace079
scotland
2 reviews
“Beautiful cottage in gorgeous country village”
Reviewed May 31, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We stayed at Manor Farm Cottage over the May bank holiday w/e but 3 nights wasn't long enough! I do not normally go for old cottages, I like my clean and modern, however I was gobsmacked at how much I loved Manor Farm! The cottage was absolutely immaculate, every room was spotless and beautifully decorated, loved the farmhouse kitchen! There is nothing I can say about the welcome pack that hasn't been said before-unbelievable! The alpaca's were a source of entertainment for our kids! The George pub is a two minute walk away where we ate on the first night and can highly recommend if you are looking for a quick dinner of pie, peas and gravy, even the kids loved their pies! A short 20ish minute walk away is Yummy Yorkshire where we ate breakfast, brilliant! We will definitely be returning if Catherine will have us, the boys made rather a lot of noise playing with the cricket set in the garden!

Date of stay: May 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 1, 2017
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay in the cottage. It would be a pleasure to meet you all again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbytrip...
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very comfortable cottage - in a peaceful friendly area”
Reviewed May 30, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

The cottage is along a small track from a quiet road and attached to the owners farm, but is completely private with car parking for three cars. We were in Yorkshire for a walking weekend and we were provided with a very comprehensive welcome pack tailored appropriately for our group - the best welcome pack we have ever had including fresh eggs from the owners farm.

There were great views from the cottage across open fields and a nearby cricket ground and a relaxing garden to sit in.

The cottage is great value with very spacious with comfy beds, a large country kitchen and a high quality bathroom/shower and a good central heating system throughout that warms up quickly. It really is a home from home and has literally everything you could possibly need whilst away including a massive selection of books to read.

Upper Denby where the cottage is located is a small village with one local pub - the George Inn - with a selection of real ale. The pub is renowned for its home made pies - with around 10 different pies on the menu. Pies come with gravy, peas or gravy and peas if you want to push the boat out (but no chips or pudding!) - however the pies are sufficiently filling and very nice!

The village is well located for nearby Holmfirth 7 miles away which provides a gateway to the rolling hills of Yorkshire with plenty of walking options. It is easy to get to from the M1.

I would strongly recommend if you are looking for a peaceful comfortable time away.

Date of stay: May 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D
1 review
“Beautiful Cottage in Idyllic Location”
Reviewed April 23, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Just want to say we stopped for 2 nights and wished it was a lot longer. The cottage inside was stunning and outside was just as nice. Chicken, sheep and alpacas to wake up to. Not too far away from Holmfirth centre. (10 mins drive) and Huddersfield (around 30 mins drive).

Date of stay: April 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 24, 2017
Thank you for your review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Manor Farm Cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patti3
oswestry
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Absolutely Amazing !!”
Reviewed November 23, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Our second visit to this beautiful, homely cottage. The lovely Catherine met us as we arrived and invited us to her home for a cuppa tea and chat and, of course, to see the gorgeous Grayson the bunny!! The welcome pack was, again, amazing! Have never had anything like it before and we love self catering. Beautiful cottage and garden with sheep, goose, chickens and 3 alpacas to talk to every morning. Don't know what to add that hasn't already been said. Just amazing and we will be back next year!!! Pat and Martyn. xx

Date of stay: November 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Weather
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jkillick7...
Crawley, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful Manor Farm”
Reviewed October 10, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We were given a very warm and friendly welcome on our arrival at Manor Farm Cottage and made immediately to feel at home. What a find in South Yorkshire, it's so good we have already booked 2 further holidays at the cottage.

Date of stay: October 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and views along with the friendliness of both the owners and locals
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing