We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Superb accommodation in a lovely location!”

Review of Manor Farm Cottage

Beautiful 17th Century, grade II listed cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Beautiful 17th Century, grade II listed cottage
Spacious and airy family bedroom Sunny and private patio area, great for alfreseco dining
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
60 reviews
Beautiful 17th Century, grade II listed cottage
Spacious and airy family bedroom
Sunny and private patio area, great for alfreseco dining
welcoming kitchen/diner with original features
Cosy and inviting lounge with beautiful antique furniture
Large private garden, great for children to play in
Panoramic view of the surrounding area
The bustling french market in Holmfirth
Compo's Cafe in Holmfirth used in 'The Last Of The Summer Wine'
The quaint cobbled back lanes of Holmfirth
Bright and airy landing
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Holmfirth, West Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 60 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Hazel M
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“Superb accommodation in a lovely location!”
Reviewed July 8, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

I found this little gem of a cottage whilst searching for a weekend base for myself and 4 geocacher friends.
The photos and reviews looked good and that obviously helped sway the decision to make a booking and am I glad we did!
We arrived to the most generous welcome pack I have ever encountered and we immediately felt right at home in this beautiful cottage.
We all enjoyed meeting the animals in the field next to the cottage.....all they need now is a donkey or two to complete the menagerie (;-)).
An added bonus was a great pub within walking distance serving delicious pie and peas!
We will definitely be booking again in the future!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The homely feel of the property.
Liked least: The fact that our trip was over all too soon.
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John W
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Manor Farm Cottage, Huddersfield/ Holmfirth's Finest”
Reviewed April 18, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We have stayed at this lovely retreat a number of times now and it's pleasure never falters.
The owners (Catherine and Charles) who live just behind the cottage are lovely and most welcoming.
Catherine, always provides a wonderful welcome pack with both first day essentials and week long treats. she also changes a few bits of décor and moves things about so every time you go there is something different.

Beautiful period cottage, charming hosts, warm welcome loads to do and see, no wonder we keep coming back.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ruthie243
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely cottage, brilliant value for money - a real treat!”
Reviewed April 9, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

This is a fabulous cottage with everything you could ask for. Catherine's welcome pack was very generous and very welcome after our long drive from Scotland. The cottage was spotless. The front picture of it doesn't really do it justice as it was very picturesque and secluded. My children loved the alpacas. In fact, we had such a great time, we stayed an extra day. We holidayed here over New Year and we all agreed it was one of our best wee holidays away. The local pub did lovely pies and peas and sang old Yorkshire carols. We went to Nora Batty's steps at Holmfirth and it was a nice wee village. All in all, it was a brilliant place to visit. the only downside of the cottage, is that it doesn't have an additional toilet. Brilliant value for money, you would be hard pressed to find something as nice, clean and quaint for this price. Thank you Catherine.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClareG66
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing Cottage!”
Reviewed January 4, 2016 for a stay in November 2015

This cottage was a little piece of paradise. We rented it for a weekend at the end of November and even though it was late and dark when we arrived Catherine was waiting for us to show us around her beautiful cottage. It was warm, welcoming and so well equipped. We were amazed by the breakfast package that was waiting for us and enjoyed some lovely relaxing breakfasts. Our 2 nights were not enough for us to enjoy this lovely cottage and so we will definitely book again, hopefully for longer. Do book this cottage it is well worth it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Welcome package and kitchen
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn M
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Tranquil home from home”
Reviewed December 28, 2015 for a stay in December 2015

We stayed at Manor Farm Cottage for a few days at Christmas 2015. It was a real joy. The cottage itself is gorgeous and very roomy. Every little detail has been thought about. The owners have gone to a lot of trouble to make sure you want for nothing. They went over and above in the welcome pack they provided including lovely little treats. We kept discovering new beautiful little trinkets in how the cottage is decorated. The animals in the field in front of the cottage were an added treat......sheep, alpacas, hens, who were as curious about us as we were about them. The owners live next door but once they show you around on arrival they leave you to your privacy completely. We were very comfortable and had an amazing Christmas there. We definitely want to stay again soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The tranquility and cosyness.
Liked least: Wifi was a little bit flaky.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SurreyBun...
Surrey
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect holiday accommodation”
Reviewed November 23, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Stayed here for a weekend in late November. Extremely spacious, very well equipped and cosy cottage. It had snowed during the night, so on the Saturday morning we looked out onto a beautiful snowy landscape from the bedroom window! Magical!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Size of the kitchen, the location.
Liked least: no dislikes
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLawley87
Andover, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic Cottage ”
Reviewed October 31, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We stayed here for October half term, it was fantastic. It was in a great location and the cottage was equipped with everything you would ever need! Our 4 year old son loved the selection of toys. We'll definitely visit again :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing