We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special find”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Holmfirth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Old Stoney Bank Guest House
Ranked #9 of 12 Holmfirth B&B and Inns
Alnwick
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Special find”
Reviewed June 15, 2012

We spent Saturday 9th June at The Old Stoneybank Guest House on our way to a wedding. What a wonderful find. We shall certainly visit again and found Anne and Ian attentive and welcoming hosts. The room was spotlessly clean and elegantly furnished and the breakfast was excellent with plenty of fresh fruit. Their hard work in the garden makes a wonderful setting in a historic area and would be a good base from which to explore.Anne had suggested the Hepworth as a place to eat and we had an excellent meal there.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    7
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
41
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rishworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

What more can we add, everything has already been said. If we could have rated it 10 out of 5 we would. We will definatly book again next time we visit Holmfirth if only for the breakfast which was the best we had and all the different preserves were home made by Anne. We ate in the conservatory with a view to die for. The house is amazing, spotless and lovingly furnished, the gardens are fantasic, Anne and Ian are lovely, friendly and very very welcoming. Not sure if they ever have time to sit down though. A well deserved excellent rating!
Fab, Fab, Fab!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Niecey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 28, 2012

We stayed at the Old Stoney B&b on Friday 28th and enjoyed a very warm welcome by Anne, who then invited our Welsh Terrier Joey to stay as well!
It was a spotlessly clean bedroom with en suite facilities. The ambience of the house coupled with Ann & Ian's welcoming personalities was a super experience. Our breakfast was served in a garden conservatory over looking their wonderful forest ! John could quite happily have stayed there all day eating toast and more of the fab plum jam.

We aslo enjoyed a lovely meal in the Butchers Arms at Hepworth.
Thank you both so much, it is great to experience such a wonderful place in Yorkshire.

We wish you continued success in your business and shall highly recommend you to our family and friends.

John, Martina & Joey

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room if you need it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martina s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiswick London
Level Contributor
119 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2012

Just spent 9 nights at "Old Stoney Bank Guest House" working with 4 colleagues in the area. We were accommodated in the house and the attached cottage, which we used as a communal area for eating and socialising. It was really comfortable and well equipped and our hosts were very helpful and accommodating. it is very nice when working away to some home comforts... thank you Anne..

Room Tip: they're all good rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Found this place by chance .. And what a find it was ! Anne (owner) was a amazing host the location was lovely and quiet , but within a mile or so of holmfirth all in all perfect !!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debsandclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darlington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2011

Fantastic setting , warm hosts, great breakfast..highly recommended. look forward to returning!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shaneyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2011

Great location when staying in this part of the world, very clean and well presented, friendly owner, great breakfast, well appointed rooms, highly recommended.

Many thanks Chris, Anne Lee and Jayne

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank evinacourt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holmfirth
1.2 mi away
Old Bridge Inn
Old Bridge Inn
#1 of 1 in Holmfirth
773 reviews
3.4 mi away
Durker Roods Hotel
Durker Roods Hotel
#1 of 1 in Meltham
539 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sunnybank Boutique Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Huntsman Inn
The Huntsman Inn
#4 of 12 in Holmfirth
517 reviews
1.3 mi away
Elephant & Castle
Elephant & Castle
#8 of 12 in Holmfirth
86 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#10 of 12 in Holmfirth
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Stoney Bank Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Stoney Bank Guest House

Property: Old Stoney Bank Guest House
Address: Old Stoney Bank Stoney Bank Lane | New Mill, Holmfirth HD9 7LZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Holmfirth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Holmfirth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old Stoney Bank Guest House offers you a very warm and friendly welcome and luxury accommodation, all within easy reach of Holmfirth, Huddersfield and other Pennine towns and villages in West Yorkshire. Luxury Bed and Breakfast accommodation is available in beautiful twin or double bedrooms which can also be booked on a single occupancy basis. Bedrooms have either en-suite shower room or have sole use of a large private bathroom. All rooms have access to multi-channel TV, tea and coffee making facilities and hairdryer. Two of the bedrooms are also available as a suite suitable for a family or two couples. The suite has a large lounge area with great views over the fishing lake and gardens. The elegant guest lounge provides comfort and entertainment with Sky TV, DVDs and for the proficient there is a piano for those who enjoy making their own entertainment. There is also a selection of games including chess and other board games. Breakfast is served in the conservatory when the weather is warmer or in the dining hall at other times. Built on a slope and set in over eight acres of garden and woodland, this luxury Guest House commands prime views over the fishing lake, formerly a mill pond, that forms one of the many features of the extensive grounds near the picturesque town of Holmfirth. The landscaped terraced gardens, that were created in the 19th century, are currently being renovated but even now provide a tranquil and inspiring setting. Old Stoney Bank Guest House is within a mile of Holmfirth in the beautiful Holme Valley in West Yorkshire, about 15 minutes drive from Huddersfield and just north of the Peak District. Many people stay with us when visiting the Holmfirth Picturedrome which is fast becoming a favourite music venue in the north of England. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Old Stoney Bank Guest House Holmfirth, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing