We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fairly average pub food”
Review of The Huntsman Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Huntsman Inn
Ranked #4 of 12 Holmfirth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Visited the Huntsman after a long walk in the Holme Valley and expected more based on the many reviews we have read.
We did only try the pub area and the food was tasty but pretty basic pub food.
Will try the restaurant next time.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank normski999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy S, Manager at The Huntsman Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Firstly, thank you for taking the time to write a great positive review. Your feedback is greatly appreciated. We look forward to seeing you again in our Stables restaurant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (563)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

386 - 392 of 564 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2013

We had our wedding reception at The Huntsman Inn on the 27th April 2013 and it was amazing. The setting of this beautiful building is perfect, with the rolling hills and farmland being the perfect backdrop for pictures, and little tiny lambs running around the fields for everyone to see. The staff are all so friendly and helpful, especially Graham who is lovely and helped to make sure everything went perfectly.

The food was wonderful; we chose golden vegetable soup for starters, roast beef for mains and cheesecake for dessert, and everything was delicious - especially the Yorkshire puddings which were the size of your face!!!

All of our guests praised everything about The Huntsman Inn, and those who stayed overnight all loved the beautifully decorated bedrooms and the breakfast the following morning. The Honeymoon suite was stunning, with beautiful views over the fields towards Holmfirth, we did not want to leave in the morning!

We cannot fault a single thing, The Huntsman Inn was the perfect choice for our wedding reception and we highly recommend it to all future Bride and Grooms-to-be!!! Thank you to everyone from The Huntsman Inn for making our wedding day the most perfect day imaginable!!

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely but the Honeymoon suite (called Hart Holes) was really beautiful. There are als...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy S, Manager at The Huntsman Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Firstly, thank you for taking the time to write a great positive review. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and so pleased you all enjoyed your Wedding day at The Huntsman Inn. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

My boyfriend and I love staying here. The Booze and Snooze package is fantastic value with an overnight stay, 3 course meal and full english breakfast included in the morning. We've done it 4 times now. The rooms have been newly renovated in February so are very high quality.

The food in both the restaurant and pub is very nice and the quality of the local produce used is great. We come here a lot with family.

We stayed in February, and were upgraded to the Honeymoon Suite and felt very special. It's nice to know the staff recognise regular visitors and will reward them.

My boyfriend treated me to a two night stay in the Honeymoon Suite for 2 nights on the 2nd of May for my 23rd birthday and loved every minute. We will definitely be staying again.

With it being in the country it's easier to get to if you can drive. It's hard to get to and from otherwise. But this shouldn't put you off.

The staff are lovely and very helpful.

One of our favourite places to stay!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy S, Manager at The Huntsman Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Firstly, thank you for taking the time to write a great positive review. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and so pleased you all enjoyed your stay with us, and lovely to hear you enjoyed the Honeymoon Suite. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Stayed at the Huntsman Inn for one night following a Meningitis charity ball,Excellent hotel, first class staff, very friendly, could not do enough to make your stay a memorable experience from arrival to departure.Rooms were spotless and very comfortable, would recommend this Hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bryan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy S, Manager at The Huntsman Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Firstly, thank you for taking the time to write a great positive review. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and so pleased you all enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Sadly only stayed for 1 night , it is a very nice hotel & we can find no faults at all. Our whole stay was great , all the staff we met were professional & friendly from the minute we arrived and nothing was too much trouble.Rooms are georgeous & spotlessly clean. It is in a lovely rural spot on the edge of the moors with a nice sunny garden if you are lucky enough to see the sun! We ate in the bar & the meals were excellent & the drinks were good as well , nice wine & real ale.Breakfast was very good , buffet selection of cereals , fruit & yoghurts then a good choice of cooked food to follow. The Huntsman Inn is definitely on our list to return & hopefully for longer then 1 night & very soon !

Room Tip: Perhaps ask for a room at the back & maybe one with an opening window
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank buddywirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy S, Manager at The Huntsman Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Firstly, thank you for taking the time to write a great positive review. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and so pleased you all enjoyed your stay & dining experience with us. Thank you for the lovely comments about the refurbished rooms. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We recently spent a 3 night mid week break at the Huntsman.
The staff could not have been more helpful including advice about where to go and what to do during the day.
The breakfast was superb and the evening menu in the bar made it difficult to choose. We had two excellent meals there. One word of advice would be to pre-book your meal if arriving on a Sunday as they are very busy.
We had a ground floor room next to the night entrance (you get a fob to open it for late returns). This meant we were free to come and go with the dogs as we pleased without disturbing anyone.
Overall the value was excellent and the refurbished accommodation was tasteful and very comfortable. i would recommend this inn to anyone wanting friendly service and good standards.

Room Tip: Talk to reception when booking and they will advise you about the best room to meet your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy S, Manager at The Huntsman Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Firstly, thank you for taking the time to write a great positive review. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and so pleased you all enjoyed your stay & dining experience with us. We look forward to seeing you and your dog again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

22 of us attended The Huntsman Inn on 19th April 2013 to celebrate my daughters 21st birthday. We had 8 rooms for the night and all had meals on the booze and snooze deal. From arrival to departure all I can say is superb. The rooms have all recently been upgraded and they are really nicely decorated and comfortable, the evening meal was excellent with no complaints from 22 people!!! All the staff were excellent, friendly, courteous and all had smiles on their faces, which is nice to see. Not sure of their names but the young man who looked after our table and the night porter deserve special mention. We had a marvellous evening and the breakfast was very welcome after a heavy night. We will be back!

Room Tip: Honeymoon suite very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NickWoodward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy S, Manager at The Huntsman Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Firstly, thank you for taking the time to write a great positive review. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and so pleased you all enjoyed your overnight stay & dining experience with us. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holmfirth
2.2 mi away
Old Bridge Inn
Old Bridge Inn
#1 of 1 in Holmfirth
871 reviews
5.9 mi away
Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel
6.1 mi away
Cambridge Hotel
Cambridge Hotel
#3 of 14 in Huddersfield
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Sunnybank Boutique Guesthouse
2.0 mi away
Coddy's Farm
Coddy's Farm
#1 of 12 in Holmfirth
236 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Rooms at the Nook
The Rooms at the Nook
#5 of 12 in Holmfirth
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Huntsman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Huntsman Inn

Address: Greenfield Road, Holmfirth HD9 3XF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Holmfirth
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Holmfirth
Price Range: $86 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Huntsman Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your The Huntsman Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Huntsman Hotel Holmfirth
The Huntsman Inn Holmfirth, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing