We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can't beat it”
Review of The Huntsman Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Huntsman Inn
Ranked #4 of 12 Holmfirth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
South Yorkshire
2 reviews
“You can't beat it”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

We and friends have been going to the Huntsman regularly for 5 years. You cannot beat the "Booze & Snooze" deals on offer. We have stopped in every room over these years and found all to be clean & comfortable. Outstanding value & service every time. We'll be back most definately.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baznix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    104
    30
    29
    36
See reviews for
122
255
2
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Stayed here quite a few times, recently on a 'Booze and Snooze' as a Birthday treat from my husband. Room lovely and spacious, nicely decorated (rooms are being renovated in January), the room was lovely and warm and had the best 'hotel' shower I've ever come across! The staff are lovely and friendly, the food very very nice and plenty of it. Would def recommend this pub/hotel for a short break.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Eccleston, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

Great place, great food, great attention to detail, love staying here.
Reasonable price for food, bar and stay.
Pub trimmed up for xmas and looks very festive
Returning at the end of January, looking forward to it

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larbrecklady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We very recently had our wedding at The Huntsman, we originally went there to book the reception but on meeting with the staff and seeing the function room we thought we would have the whole day there and what a great decision it was too. The planning was easy and fun, the staff were amazing and so accommodating to our needs. Our day went without a single hitch, the food was so good and of such a high quality. Lots of our guest commented on The Huntsman by saying how well organised it was, how friendly and professional ALL the staff were and other opinions raving about this grand Inn. I stayed the night before and me and my wife stayed for two nights after so I feel more than qualified to review this place. Food every night was simply the best food I have eaten in a very long time, fresh, wholesome and of a very high quality, it came to the table punctually and we weren't left waiting tapping our fingers inbetween courses. I dined in the bar as well as the restaurant and there was no difference in quality of the food or the service, it was all 5 star quality. Price-wise well it's another huge 5 star, so affordable, you get a hell of a lot more than you pay for here, drinks are also priced very, very well too. If anyone was to complain about the food here then in my mind they are the kind of people who go looking for problems and if they can't find any then they make some up
I stayed in two rooms during my stay here and only moved rooms to stay in their honeymoon suite with my new wife. The rooms were fantastic, so cozy, very, very clean and gave a great feeling of security and warmth. I saw a lot of the rooms as friends and relatives were staying too and each and every one were of the same high quality, each one had some some lovely character features, no one staying here can find a thing to complain about and if they do then they wouldn't be happy staying anywhere, but you'll always get those career complainers who need to feel superior to others by lying about their experiences.
Overall I couldn't rate this place highly enough, the staff are some of the best I've come across and as someone who has stayed in far too many hotels I can't think of a better place than this, the whole package is exactly what it should be.....Perfect.
The staff made our wedding day go without a hitch, they were so friendly yet extremely professional and met all our requests throughout the weekend.
So if you're thinking of a wedding location in and Holmfirth, Manchester or from further afield then please come and have a look here, you will not be disappointed, the entire package cost us a lot less than other less professional establishments quoted us (even though those establishments market themselves as high end places) and their recommended services (DJ, decorations, photographers) are the best in the area by far, plus we were able to put up our decorations which is normally not allowed in most places.
If you're coming to stay with their excellently priced 'booze & snooze' offers then again, you can't go wrong plus the breakfast is easily the best breakfast anywhere and if you're coming up for a meal, be it in the bar or the restaurant then you too can't go wrong.

So to sum The Huntsman up the it's a 11 out of 10 establishment which will NOT disappoint.

Room Tip: All of them are perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oliver T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Stayed here after a wedding at the Huntsman the staff were very friendly and helpful, breakfast yummy, comfy relaxing room. A great time had by all and the baby even slept well! Wedding was fab too with an excellent meal yum

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liketostayawaysome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Perfect in every way! We had booked a year ago and over that time the staff were always available to discuss, down to the smallest detail, the arrangements for the day! The days running up to the "big day" were very busy but we were encouraged to use all the facilities! We did and everything ran so smoothly! The venue is perfect for a wedding and we were able to decorate the room to our taste! The food was MAGNIFICENT........... the quality and amount was truly mouthwateringly good!!!!! The accommodation was perfect and EVERY guest attending commented on the friendliness and professionalism of the staff! Full Marks!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Any room!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnMaryT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We booked a bit last minute so only got a twin room. It was excellent - the rooms were very warm and the beds comfortable. The food was excellent and the choice great. All in all -excellent - could not fault it. Can't wait to book again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holmfirth
2.2 mi away
Old Bridge Inn
Old Bridge Inn
#1 of 1 in Holmfirth
807 reviews
1.5 mi away
Durker Roods Hotel
Durker Roods Hotel
#1 of 1 in Meltham
551 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Old Golf House Hotel Huddersfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Sunnybank Boutique Guesthouse
2.0 mi away
Coddy's Farm
Coddy's Farm
#1 of 12 in Holmfirth
206 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Rooms at the Nook
The Rooms at the Nook
#5 of 12 in Holmfirth
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Huntsman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Huntsman Inn

Property: The Huntsman Inn
Address: Greenfield Road, Holmfirth HD9 3XF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Holmfirth
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Holmfirth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Huntsman Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your The Huntsman Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Huntsman Hotel Holmfirth
The Huntsman Inn Holmfirth, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing