We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Takeaway...”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Fleece

The Fleece
Ranked #9 of 78 Restaurants in Holmfirth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Romantic, Families with children, Bar scene, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Takeaway...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

We tried The Fleece's takeaway service last Friday evening and ordered meals for our party of eleven. The quality of food was excellent and it was served piping hot in takeaway containers.

Very impressed!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank On_a_BMW_bike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    60
    22
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A lovely traditional pub.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

We just popped in for a post-walk drink, mid-afternoon on a Saturday, and the place was full with a real mix of ages and quite a few family groups.
The decor is lovely, really cosy and warm and clean.
My son was the only one who was hungry and he ordered a baguette which was large and really tasty. The food we could see going to other tables looked really good and we would have loved to have had the time to come back.
My only small gripe was that the welcome wasn't that warm - it's not that they were rude, just not that friendly.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank innertiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very pleasant Sunday meal!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

Called in Sunday lunch time and was given a table . The staff were friendly and organised. Ordered lamb tagine and it was lovely, good portion size and arrived hot and thoroughly enjoyed it!
Good decor and clean and comfortable pub. Would definately go again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SHEILAEILEEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exceptional service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

Our visit was on a rainy Tuesday for lunch - lovely cosy pub. The staff greeted us at once and were attentive despite our indecision - where to sit, what was on the specials board, what were we going to drink.
We decided that two of us would share a fish finger sandwich/chips, and when this was served it came divided between two plates - how thoughtful, it was also very tasty! Dad had a lamb and mint pie which was delicious.
An excellent lunch - thank you

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Teresa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

Signed on to write my review and really sad to see the previous reviewer was so disappointed. I hope it was a misunderstanding and that the refusal to seat him elsewhere was because the tables were reserved. The Fleece is deservedly popular and when we arrived today (a party of 8 for a birthday meal (ages 1 year to 61)) we were warmly welcomed. I arrived before the doors had opened and the staff couldn't have been more charming as they let me in. Smiles all round and a little gentle leg-pulling about my desperation to dine. Our table had been reserved as had most of the others in the bar and I sat comfortably with a coffee and a complimentary newspaper. The staff were just super. Little things - they overheard someone say happy birthday and balloons appeared on the table and birthday wishes too. We were a very indecisive crowd but the goodhumour displayed as minds were changed was a credit to the patience of the staff. The food - gorgeous - we had Sunday roasts, risottos, fish and children's meals, all beautifully cooked and presented without any lengthy waits. Worthy of particular note is the children's food which was smaller versions of the adult menu and all homecooked. Other options also offered and Hazel was spoken to in person not via an adult. Great selection of dishes, a really, really lovely day out and The Fleece was the highlight. Not the first time I've visited and certainly not the last. I do hope the previous reviewer will give them a second chance.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank a d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fleece also viewed

Holmfirth, West Yorkshire
Holmfirth, West Yorkshire
 
Holmfirth, West Yorkshire
Holmfirth, West Yorkshire
 

Been to The Fleece? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing