We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do not know the difference between Chicken and Duck”
Review of Poppa Piccolinos

Poppa Piccolinos
Ranked #11 of 78 Restaurants in Holmfirth
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Do not know the difference between Chicken and Duck”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Having lived in Holmfirth my whole life I have been to piccolinos on many occasions and this year I have visited twice this year and both visits have been disappointing.
My most recent visit was last week and from start to end I found the whole experience poor.
arrived at the time we had booked a table and were waiting 20 minutes before being seated even though the restaurant wasn't very busy.
we then ordered and the starters came, I had the deep fried brie, by far the best part of my meal. it was nice however it was too big to be a starter.
Then for my main, I ordered a margarita pizza with duck strips. the waitress arrived and said 'margarita with duck' and put it in my place. me and all my friends looked and my food and the 'duck' was white and smelt exactly like chicken
They had clearly served me the wrong food as they waitress told me my order whilst serving me the wrong food. I then sent the pizza back and the waiter said 'the chef has had to go to the back to get the duck' and by the time the pizza had arrived, all my friends had finished their meal and I didn't really want to eat it after that comment anyway so I got it boxed up and we paid a left.
no discounted or anything was offered for my inconvenience. my other friends that had actually ordered the chicken said it was dry and smoked.
non of us were over thrilled with our meal and all have said we will not be returning.
I would defiantly recommend and it was also over priced.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TJHoltom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    270
    88
    42
    21
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Superb food & friendly efficient service”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Great family dining experience with a wide choice on the menu to suit all tastes.
Very friendly staff and the owner, Lim, couldn't do enough to make sure we had the best meal possible.
All the dishes were beautifully presented and so tasty.
We would highly recommended the warm duck salad for starters. For mains we had the fillet steak and the Spaghetti alla Limanara which were delicious. The lemon tart and sticky toffee pudding are a must for dessert!
The children loved their meals and have asked if they can go back every weekend!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Supacooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Ok - limited menu”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Not bad but you can eat better for the same or less at other nearby restaurants/gastro pubs. Been several time with kids (they do mainly pizza/Pastas) and the quality of ingredients and variety of seasonal fair is OK - But just ok. Could do better

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank PedroBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denby Dale
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“From Fine To First Class”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

We have been to Poppa Piccolinos probably 5 or 6 times in so many years and it was always fine. 2 weeks ago we visited and were extremely impressed by the excellent service and great food we received. Lim the owner is working front of house and his attention to detail across the restaurant personally and directing the staff has had huge impact. The food presentation and quality is extremely high. We went back last weekend and it was even better. This restaurant which was fine in our books has moved to outstanding for us. Lim’s personal impact across all aspects has made this a great first class experience!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“As good as ever”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

This restaurant never disappoints for the quality of food and the warm welcome.
Enjoyed a delicious meal.
Chicken Liver Parfait - wonderful

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SheffieldTikki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Poppa Piccolinos also viewed

Holmfirth, West Yorkshire
Holmfirth, West Yorkshire
 
Holmfirth, West Yorkshire
Holmfirth, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Poppa Piccolinos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing